JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Command codes for device 0702?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PeterSteele



Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:21 am    Post subject: Command codes for device 0702? Reply with quote

Where can I find a complete listing of the command codes for device 0702? I have a URC 6131 and that's the device number for my Samsung TV, firmware v211. I can't find a complete list of all of the codes for this device though. For example, my normal remote has a button for changing the TV's aspect ratio. By default that code isn't bound to any of the URC 6131's keys when programmed with the 0702 device. How do I find out what code my normal remote is using so I can program it into my 6131 using the IR tool?
_________________
2 Hughes 157 hour DTiVos
Home entertainment network powered by Avcast
"I'm lovin' every minute of it!" --Cosmo Kramer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TV/0702 is NECx2 protocol device 7, subdevice 7. Most Samsung TV's use that.

I did an extract of all NECx2:7.7 signals in my library of downloaded CCF files, sorted by EFC number. I don't have a program for removing duplicates, so most of the total is duplicates. It looks like the aspect command is 022. I'll paste in the whole list below in case you want to create a whole upgrade with KM or IR and/or you are missing other functions.

IIRC, the 6131 is the model that stores KeyMoves strangely, so creating KeyMoves via IR.EXE for these EFC numbers may be trickier than normal.

022 Aspect
024 R. Surf
024 R. surf
052 7
052 7
052 7
053 4
053 4
053 4
054 9
054 9
054 9
055 6
055 6
055 6
056 8
056 8
056 8
057 5
057 5
057 5
058 Mute
058 Mute
059 -
059 -
059 Vol `Down_Arrow
069 1
070 Surround
085 P.STD
085 PMode
090 Size
091 Smode
102 Fav. CH
117 `Down_Arrow
117 `Down_Arrow
117 {Ch-}
117 {Ch-}
117 Channel `Down_Arrow
119 `Up_Arrow
119 `Up_Arrow
119 {Ch+}
119 Channel `Up_Arrow
121 0
121 0
121 0
123 Pre-CH
123 Prev Chan
151 CH +
153 Scan
155 CH -
167 S-Pic
180 1
180 1
180 1
181 MTS
181 MTS
182 3
182 3
182 3
183 `Power_Toggle Toggle
183 Power
183 Power
183 R/TV-ON
184 2
184 2
184 2
185 Input
185 Video Mode
186 +
186 +
186 Vol `Up_Arrow
187 Sleep
187 Sleep
187 Sleep
197 `Up_Arrow
197 Menu `Up_Arrow
199 `Right_Arrow
200 `Left_Arrow
201 `Down_Arrow
212 Source
213 PIP
215 Locate
216 Caption
217 Swap
219 100
219 100
235 V. chip
235 VChip
245 Erase
247 `9E
247 Menu
247 MENU `B1
249 +/-
249 Add
250 Display
250 Display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Nils_Ekberg
Expert


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 1689
Location: Near Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Device code 0060 is probably closer however, I have uploaded an upgrade to the jp1 file section (FILES/DEVICE CODES/TV) called

KMx RS2116 Samsung_3096_1060.txt - link below

that has more buttons assigned. It is for a 15-2116 but all you need to do in KM is change the remote type and reassign the buttons.

KMx Samsung 1060
_________________
Nils
Files Section
Diagnosis File Section
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PeterSteele



Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, I've tried device code 0060 as well but more buttons work on the 6131 when I use 0702. And I believe I've already tried code 022 and that didn't seem to work. I've give it a try again though in case my memory is failing...
_________________
2 Hughes 157 hour DTiVos
Home entertainment network powered by Avcast
"I'm lovin' every minute of it!" --Cosmo Kramer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nils_Ekberg
Expert


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 1689
Location: Near Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The base code 0060 may have less buttons assigned but the upgrade I uploaded has all of them.
_________________
Nils
Files Section
Diagnosis File Section
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18563
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's John's list with all the dups removed...

022 Aspect
024 R. Surf
052 7
053 4
054 9
055 6
056 8
057 5
058 Mute
059 -
069 1
070 Surround
085 PMode
090 Size
091 Smode
102 Fav. CH
117 Ch-
119 Ch+
121 0
123 Prev Chan
151 CH +
153 Scan
155 CH -
167 S-Pic
180 1
181 MTS
182 3
183 Power
184 2
185 Input
186 Vol Up
187 Sleep
197 Up_Arrow
199 Right_Arrow
200 Left_Arrow
201 Down_Arrow
212 Source
213 PIP
215 Locate
216 Caption
217 Swap
219 100
235 V Chip
245 Erase
247 Menu
249 Add / Del
250 Display
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PeterSteele



Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nils_Ekberg wrote:
...I have uploaded an upgrade to the jp1 file section (FILES/DEVICE CODES/TV)...

The link you provided for this doesn't appear to work. Can you point me to the correct page? Thanks.

The Robman wrote:
...Here's John's list with all the dups removed...

022 Aspect
...
183 Power
...

Thanks for this list. However, it doesn't seem to match my system. For example, I have a keymove in place so that the POWER button on the 6131 turns the TV off regardless of what device is currently selected. I did this key move through the 994 command of the 6131. When I download my remote with IR and look at the details of this keymove, it shows that the EFC is 026. However, the list above indicates that "power" is code 183, and if I try to use this code instead of 026 it does not work. Other keymoves I've defined also do not match the codes shown in this list, and I tried 022 again for setting the aspect ratio and this code does not work either. So, this list is definitely does not seem to match my TV when set to device 0702. ???
_________________
2 Hughes 157 hour DTiVos
Home entertainment network powered by Avcast
"I'm lovin' every minute of it!" --Cosmo Kramer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PeterSteele wrote:
The link you provided for this doesn't appear to work.

I fixed the link in Nils post above. Here it is again as well: KMx Samsung 1060
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PeterSteele wrote:
For example, I have a keymove in place so that the POWER button on the 6131 turns the TV off regardless of what device is currently selected. I did this key move through the 994 command of the 6131. When I download my remote with IR and look at the details of this keymove, it shows that the EFC is 026. However, the list above indicates that "power" is code 183, and if I try to use this code instead of 026 it does not work. Other keymoves I've defined also do not match the codes shown in this list, and I tried 022 again for setting the aspect ratio and this code does not work either. So, this list is definitely does not seem to match my TV when set to device 0702. ???

The 6131 uses a new style Key Move that is different (always 2 bytes) from other JP1 remotes. I don't think IR is currently able to correctly decipher them when they're done using the 994 command.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PeterSteele wrote:
I have a keymove in place so that the POWER button on the 6131 turns the TV off regardless of what device is currently selected. I did this key move through the 994 command of the 6131. When I download my remote with IR and look at the details of this keymove, it shows that the EFC is 026. However, the list above indicates that "power" is code 183, and if I try to use this code instead of 026 it does not work. Other keymoves I've defined also do not match the codes shown in this list, and I tried 022 again for setting the aspect ratio and this code does not work either. So, this list is definitely does not seem to match my TV when set to device 0702. ???


The 6131 stores KeyMoves in two different strange forms and IR.EXE doesn't understand either of them, so IR builds the KeyMove wrong when you use it to create a KeyMove and reports the EFC wrong when you look at a KeyMove created with 994.

The 6131 does not store upgrades strangely, so I think you can put signals from that list in an upgrade successfully.

I think advanced codes do work with the 994 command:
Long press of setup
994
Short press of setup
three digit EFC
destination key.

You should be able to program the 022 to a key that way. It's also possible to program correct KeyMoves with IR.EXE by translating to a hex form with an extra byte.

I think there's an extender which takes normal (understood by IR KeyMoves).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PeterSteele



Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnsfine wrote:
I think advanced codes do work with the 994 command:
Long press of setup
994
Short press of setup
three digit EFC
destination key.


Okay, this did appear to work, but after downloading again the advanced codes I entered do not appear to be represented anyway in IR. Is there a way to see this information? And also, if I was to upload to the remote afterwards, are the advanced codes maintained?
_________________
2 Hughes 157 hour DTiVos
Home entertainment network powered by Avcast
"I'm lovin' every minute of it!" --Cosmo Kramer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IR should see the KeyMoves created that way. I think I remember from past discussions that they will have two byte hex commands with the first equal to zero and the second equal to the direct hex value of the EFC.

I think you can decode these and create new ones just by doing hex to decimal or decimal to hex conversions (use windows calculator in view scientific mode if you can't do the conversions any easier way).

They should be preserved in the eeprom image and correct when you upload back to the remote as long as you don't change those individual KeyMoves. You can add remove and change other KeyMoves. IR knows how to maintain the integrity of the KeyMove list even for KeyMoves that it can't display correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3388
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This confusion over keymoves and IR is why I suggest the URC-6131 users use the extender for the URC-6131. Among other things, it restores the normal IR-supported keymove representation.

Here are the other things you gain (from the extenders' readme):
You can put a Macro or KeyMove on any key.
Macros can be Nested.
Macros are fast.
Very flexible device selection.
Included special protocols for:
Pause, Device Specific Macros, Device Multiplexer,
ToadTog, Long/Double Key Press
Optional second shift key.

You do, however, lose the ability to create keymoves manually, and it does not support keymoves that were created manually before the extender was manually installed.

Personally, I don't find that to be an issue, since I do all my keymoving using IR.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PeterSteele



Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll have to take a look at the extender, but I'll also have to check again if my advanced codes are being represented in some fashion in IR. It certainly did not appear to be the case though--I assigned command code 022 to the "move" key using the 994 command and I did not see this listed in IR after I downloaded. Ultimately I have pretty basic needs so I'll go with whatever is the simplest solution that works.

Thanks for all the feedback on this. It's been very helpful.
_________________
2 Hughes 157 hour DTiVos
Home entertainment network powered by Avcast
"I'm lovin' every minute of it!" --Cosmo Kramer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18563
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PeterSteele wrote:
I'll have to take a look at the extender, but I'll also have to check again if my advanced codes are being represented in some fashion in IR. It certainly did not appear to be the case though--I assigned command code 022 to the "move" key using the 994 command and I did not see this listed in IR after I downloaded. Ultimately I have pretty basic needs so I'll go with whatever is the simplest solution that works.

Thanks for all the feedback on this. It's been very helpful.


Pete,
What everyone's been trying to tell you is that the URC-6131 stores keymoves using a different format to EVERY other JP1 remote out there. IR.exe has not been modified to understand the new format so it treats the keymoves as though they were stored using the old format, therefore, even though you programmed EFC 022 to the button and it works, when you download using IR, you will NOT see EFC 022 displayed.

If you leave this keymove untouched and re-load from IR, it will remain intact and should still work.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central