JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Which remote?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ClarkJeff

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:20 pm    Post subject: Which remote? Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm new to JP1 and haven't even purchased a remote yet. I don't know which to buy, but would like to get something that is somewhat future-proof and easy for the family to use. I'm a techie, so want to be able to program it when I want/need to. I have a $15 gift card at Best Buy, but don't have a problem buying used as well. I'd like to keep it under $40. From what I've read, it looks like the OFA remotes are great. Here are my 4 devices (old) right now, but might get cable/sat (we watch more movies than TV):

1. RCA TV
2. Presidian DVD Recorder
3. Panasonic VCR
4. Fisher Amp

Thanks for any suggestions!
vickyg2003
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jeff, I looks like Bestbuy is out of the OneforAll 8820,6820 and 10820, so you'll probably be buying from Rob or Ebay.

Its really impossible to recommend a remote for someone else. These are the things that I think about when purchasing a remote:

1)Learning
2)Button Layout
3)Total Number of buttons
4)Back Lighting
5)Modem Upgradable (you can postpone buying making a cable)
6)Ovearall size (I like little remotes, but people with bigger fingers like bigger remotes for accuracy)
7)Interface (JP1 or JP1.x) Your interface is going to cost more than the remote itself, so take a good look at the remotes that are available. You'll probably want JP1's everywhere you have more than one piece of equipment, so to minimize your investment stick with one interface family.
8) JP1 Support (The availability of an extender is an important consideration)