JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Discrete codes for NEC LCD TV/Monitor?????
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fleetz



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:53 am    Post subject: Discrete codes for NEC LCD TV/Monitor????? Reply with quote

Do you have the following discrete codes for NEC LCD TV????? I have tried the 8 discrete NEC code on the Remote Central site however these do not work

On
Off
Component 1 input
Component 2 input
Video 1 input
Video 2 input
PC Analog input
PC Digital input

The NEC model is NLT-23Q http://nec.com.au/lcdtv/23inchlcdtvelevision.htm

Regards,

Fleetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please use the mandatory template from the first sticky post in this forum. It saves having to ask lots of questions when trying to help you.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fleetz



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about that

1. Device: NEC LCD TV/MON
2. Type of device: NEC model is NLT-23Q http://nec.com.au/lcdtv/23inchlcdtvelevision.htm
3. Year: 2005
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: N/A
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? N/A
6. Still have original remote? Yes
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? No only the original remote codes
10. Learning remote question? N/A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even if we find these codes, how will you use them if you do not have a UEIC-manufactured JP1 remote? These are, after all, the JP1 fora.

There are no NEC LCD TV upgrades in our file section, but there are a number NEC Plasma TV upgrades. Perhaps they will work for you.

All signals the NEC1 protocol with main device number 24:

Function/OBC/sub-dev/5-digit EFC/3-digit EFC/Hex/Notes
Power Off (Discrete)/192/24/11577/173/E7 FC/
Power On/008/blank/02602/053/18 EF/
Video 1 (BNC)/085/blank/02704/104/18 55/
Video 2 (RCA)/086/blank/02640/102/18 95/
Video 3 (SVID)/087/blank/02768/106/18 15/
RGB/PC 1 (BNC)/193/24/11705/177/E7 7C/N/A if BNC = HD
RGB/PC 2 (HD15)/194/24/11641/175/E7 BC
RGB/PC 3 (DVI)/195/24/11769/179/E7 3C
DVD 1 (RCA)/235/24/11757/083/E7 28
DVD 2 (BNC)/220/24/11521/236/E7 C4/ N/A if BNC = RGB/PC

I don't know what you can do with these data, but there they are.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fleetz



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
Even if we find these codes, how will you use them if you do not have a UEIC-manufactured JP1 remote? These are, after all, the JP1 fora.

There are no NEC LCD TV upgrades in our file section, but there are a number NEC Plasma TV upgrades. Perhaps they will work for you.

All signals the NEC1 protocol with main device number 24:

Function/OBC/sub-dev/5-digit EFC/3-digit EFC/Hex/Notes
Power Off (Discrete)/192/24/11577/173/E7 FC/
Power On/008/blank/02602/053/18 EF/
Video 1 (BNC)/085/blank/02704/104/18 55/
Video 2 (RCA)/086/blank/02640/102/18 95/
Video 3 (SVID)/087/blank/02768/106/18 15/
RGB/PC 1 (BNC)/193/24/11705/177/E7 7C/N/A if BNC = HD
RGB/PC 2 (HD15)/194/24/11641/175/E7 BC
RGB/PC 3 (DVI)/195/24/11769/179/E7 3C
DVD 1 (RCA)/235/24/11757/083/E7 28
DVD 2 (BNC)/220/24/11521/236/E7 C4/ N/A if BNC = RGB/PC

I don't know what you can do with these data, but there they are.


Hi and thanks Capn Trips,

I was thinking that the best way would be purchase a UEIC-manufactured JP1 remote control and interface cable and load up what you have suggested. If they work then learn them into the Pronto using the programmed UEIC remote.

Could you recommend a cost effective UEIC-manufactured JP1 remote?? Obviuosly all I am looking for is to get the discrete codes into my Pronto so it is not likely to be used after it works one way or the other, so cheap and cheerful is the order of the day.

Is there a couple of good sources where I can buy the remote and interface online as I live in Australia and it would make sense to get the both from the same location to minimise shipping costs.

Appreciate your input.

Regards,

Fleetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First - this is the first time you have mentioned a Pronto. That would have been useful info up front. Particularly since I know nothing about Prontos.

Second - You are really in the wrong forum for Pronto support. Having said that, some of the experts here are indeed equally fluent in Pronto stuff, so one of them is likely to stumble upon this thread and should be able to convert the data I provided into Pronto hex, obviating the need for a JP1 remote and cable. Unfortunately, I am not one of them.

Third - check out the marketplace section. Robman always has some JP1 remotes available and cables. You will not find a cable at any "proper" vendor, they were designed by users of this forum and are not mass-market produced items, only available with one of the few folks who advertise here in the marketplace section - or you can build your own (check the hardware forum sticky posts). It might not be cheap to ship to Australia, but you might find out (as very many here have) that your JP1 remote is not only cheaper than your Pronto, but more customisable and more useful.

Good luck.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fleetz



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
First - this is the first time you have mentioned a Pronto. That would have been useful info up front. Particularly since I know nothing about Prontos.

Sorry didn't think it was too relavent

Second - You are really in the wrong forum for Pronto support. Having said that, some of the experts here are indeed equally fluent in Pronto stuff, so one of them is likely to stumble upon this thread and should be able to convert the data I provided into Pronto hex, obviating the need for a JP1 remote and cable. Unfortunately, I am not one of them.

Not sure that the Pronto is all that important. If the UEIC can spit out the NEC discretes then then Pronto will learn it. The Proto might reformat the incoming learned code into a Pronto format but I am not to concerned if it does. It would be a result.

Third - check out the marketplace section. Robman always has some JP1 remotes available and cables. You will not find a cable at any "proper" vendor, they were designed by users of this forum and are not mass-market produced items, only available with one of the few folks who advertise here in the marketplace section - or you can build your own (check the hardware forum sticky posts). It might not be cheap to ship to Australia, but you might find out (as very many here have) that your JP1 remote is not only cheaper than your Pronto, but more customisable and more useful.

Thanks I will track Robman down.

Regards,

Fleetz

Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18312
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While I'd be happy to sell you a remote (once I'm back up and running again) it's really not needed. You can generate Pronto based on the cases that the Capn posted using a program called MakeHex.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fleetz wrote:
I was thinking that the best way would be purchase a UEIC-manufactured JP1 remote control and interface cable and load up what you have suggested. If they work then learn them into the Pronto using the programmed UEIC remote.


I assume your Pronto has a cable to connect to a PC, so you can upload and download and edit with ProntoEdit.

So using a JP1 remote to program your Pronto would cost more money and effort than programming the Pronto directly.

As already mentioned here, you can use the MakeHex program to translate signals from the form we discuss here into Pronto Hex.

But I'm not convinced the signals listed in this thread are for your model TV. The best first step to answering that is for you to post the Pronto Hex for an ordinary signal learned from the TV's original remote into your Pronto. I can use IrTool and DecodeIr to decode that and see which code set it might be part of.

JP1 code search is the wrong forum for this discussion.
http://remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-discrete/list.cgi
is the right place. But I'm OK with continuing here as long as Rob didn't object.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fleetz



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Johnsfine and Robman,

Thanks for your patiance and advice.

I don't want to bog you guys down not my intention. I appreciate your willigness to throw me a rope!

Here is the learnt code from the NEC remote captured on my Pronto 7000
it is of the ON/OFF command

0000 006C 0000 000C 0020 0020 0020 0020 0041 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0041 0020 0020 0041 0020 0020 0CCD

Appreciate your spin on it.

Regards,

Fleetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're sure that's from an NEC TV!?

That is RC5 protocol, device 0, function 12. Lots of brands of TV have that as their power toggle signal, but I didn't expect NEC to be one of those brands.

If that signal really is from your TV, then any discrete codes for NEC TV's you find posted here or at RC will be worthless to you. But maybe discrete codes you find for Philips TVs will work.

I did a quick extract from half of one of my IR libraries for specific brand/models that use that power toggle. The list is below. I didn't check whether any of those have discrete codes posted anywhere. Note that for Hitachi, LG, and Barco other IR protocols are much more common (so a different model of those brands probably won't be this code set). For other brands below, this is their typical code set.

Loewe Television Xelos 5261ZW
Loewe Television Xelos 5270
Amstrad Television WSTV7128N
Hitachi C28WF540N
Philips Television 32PW6322
Magnavox Television TP-2526
Loewe Television Aconda
Loewe Television Arcadia 84
Philips 28PW9763
Philips 37PF9965
Loewe Television Xelos
Goodmans Television 1425RS
Philips 32PW6834/05
Philips 29PW9413/05
Philips Television TS2774/C101
Loewe Television Arcadia 84
Loewe Television Caldia 55
LG Television RI-32CZ10RX
Barco Projector Ciné 8
Philips Television 32PW9675
Goodmans Television 3375
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed the Loewe discrete codes posted here:
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/files/rcfiles.cgi?area=pronto&db=discrete&br=loewe&dv=television
do not match the Philips discrete codes posted in many places, even though the basic code set of those Loewe TV's does match the basic code set of the Philips TV's.

An unexpected brand using that basic code set is more likely to match Loewe than Philips, but as long as you're testing discrete codes, you ought to test both.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fleetz



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WOW thanks for your efforts!

Unfortunately the Loewe L2650 code didn't work.

The code I posted definitely came from the NEC LCD remote learnt into the Pronto I then cut and pasted the code in to the post. I suspect that the Pronto reformats the code though can't be totally sure on that.

I have a USB-UIRT IR RX TX and using a IR utility USB-UIRT Learn Helper Utility I recaptured the ON/OFF code from the NEC LCD remote. It captures in Pronto Format and here it is

0000 006D 0000 000C 0020 0021 0040 0021 0020 0021 0020 0021 0020 0021 0020 0021 0020 0021 0020 0021 0020 0041 0020 0021 0040 0021 0020 0CAB

I am not sure what this is but the utility reports "Recieved UIR Event Code" 17000AD00CA

Not sure if this make anything clearer.

Regards,

Fleetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fleetz



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just captured the ON/OFF code this time I using the Pronto 7000 connect via the USB cable. The first capture I gave you was done on the Pronto using the the learn button command

Here is the direct capture

0000 006C 0000 000C 0020 0020 0020 0020 0041 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0020 0041 0020 0020 0041 0020 0020 0CCD

looks the same as the learn button capture. Just thought it might assist.

Regards,

Fleetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18312
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Fleetz,
Do you have a CCF file that contains the complete codeset for your TV? If not, could you create one? We have tools to decode CCF files (DecodeCCF) so we could use that to get the complete list of button codes that your TV uses. This would give John a better idea if your set is more like a Loewes or a Philips or some other brand.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central