JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Can not make SE830 code work, can anyone help

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lightsailpro



Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 8:01 pm    Post subject: Can not make SE830 code work, can anyone help Reply with quote

Hi, I am trying to create a bin file for my FTA SE830 receiver for slingbox. I was able to control the device using Total Remote on my WM5 Pocket PC. I copied the working .ccf file to my pc and decoded using decodeCCF, then I used Remote Master to generate the bin file. I tried both JU and BL mode. But neither of them works. The following is the file converted from .ccf file. For whatever reason I can not find the NEC12 protocol, instaed I used NEC combined. Did I miss any thing? I appreciate your help.

Protocol Device SubDev OBC EFC Misc Decode UDB Function Sequence Key Panel DevName TopFreq Once Rept
NEC12 128 130 191 TR LEARNED Power On Control Sat 40.2441 0 42
NEC12 128 130 191 TR LEARNED Power Off Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 130 191 TR LEARNED Power Control Sat 40.2441 0 38
NEC12 128 132 188 TR LEARNED Guide Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 194 175 TR LEARNED Exit Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 154 255 TR LEARNED Cursor Up Control Sat 40.2441 0 36
NEC12 128 158 254 TR LEARNED Cursor Down Control Sat 40.2441 0 38
NEC12 128 156 252 TR LEARNED Cursor Left Control Sat 40.2441 0 38
NEC12 128 152 253 TR LEARNED Cursor Right Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 157 000 TR LEARNED Cursor Select Control Sat 40.2441 0 36
NEC12 128 153 001 TR LEARNED Menu Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 216 237 TR LEARNED Info Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 198 174 TR LEARNED Red Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 210 111 TR LEARNED Green Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 133 192 TR LEARNED Yellow Control Sat 40.2441 0 38
NEC12 128 202 047 TR LEARNED Blue Control Sat 40.2441 0 38
NEC12 128 154 255 TR LEARNED Channel + Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 158 254 TR LEARNED Channel - Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 129 193 TR LEARNED Dash Control Sat 40.2441 0 42
NEC12 128 157 000 TR LEARNED Enter Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 148 124 TR LEARNED 1 Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 149 128 TR LEARNED 2 Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 128 189 TR LEARNED 3 Control Sat 40.2441 0 38
NEC12 128 136 061 TR LEARNED 4 Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 137 065 TR LEARNED 5 Control Sat 40.2441 0 38
NEC12 128 138 063 TR LEARNED 6 Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 140 060 TR LEARNED 7 Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 141 064 TR LEARNED 8 Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 142 062 TR LEARNED 9 Control Sat 40.2441 0 40
NEC12 128 145 129 TR LEARNED 0 Control Sat 40.2441 0 38
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try ordinary NEC1 protocol.

NEC12 might be a varient of NEC1 that needs a special parm value (I don't recall what parm value). But in that case ordinary NEC1 may still work.

Or NEC12 might represent some error in generating the Pronto Hex for the CCF file you found. Ordinary NEC1 might be correct and the NEC12 incorrect but usable.

The device is 128 and the subdevice should be left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18471
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you post the CCF file itself, or provide a link to it if it's already on the web somewhere else, one of us can take a look at the raw hex to determine what the protocol really is.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't read carefully enough the first time, and failed to notice that the decodes indicate 40Khz, rather than the usual 38Khz.

On that issue as well, we can only guess whether the CCF was wrong, or if it was right whether the difference matters.

If 40Khz is correct and required, you can get that via JP1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
lightsailpro



Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:43 am    Post subject: ccf file for se830 Reply with quote

First, thank you all for your help!
What confuses me is the subdevice number. It's different for each command. Only NEC Combo allow me to type in subdevice number in Function tab. So I choose that one. If I choose NEC1, I do not know how to deal with those different different subdevice number. This receiver is not very popular yet, so I did not find any ccf for it on the web. Here is how I create a the ccf file: I found a generic one for sat receiver. Then I loaded it to my Pocket PC, then I relearn the buttons using my SE830 receiver, then I my pocket pc remote against SE830 receiver. After making sure all button works, I download the ccf file to my pc to decode. The ccf file has two controls (sat and sat2). I only trained the sat. So please ignore the sat2. You can get the ccf file here:
http://lightsail.bounceme.net/temp/se830.zip
[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:59 am    Post subject: Re: ccf file for se830 Reply with quote

lightsailpro wrote:
What confuses me is the subdevice number. It's different for each command.


The tab stops in DecodeCCF output confused you. It is best to read that output in a program such as Excel that (when told to import that way) strictly obeys the tabs regardless of column width.

In fact your decodes have no subdevice at all. The three numbers in a row are Device, OBC, and EFC.

lightsailpro wrote:
Then I loaded it to my Pocket PC, then I relearn the buttons using my SE830 receiver


I think the PocketPC software has an imperfect understanding of Pronto Hex. I think it has learned NEC1 signals and imperfectly represented them in the CCF file, so that DecodeIr.dll can't tell exactly which form of NEC protocol was intended.

lightsailpro wrote:
then I my pocket pc remote against SE830 receiver. After making sure all button works,


The variation between forms of NEC is pretty subtle. Usually things mostly work even if those details are wrong.

lightsailpro wrote:
The ccf file has two controls (sat and sat2). I only trained the sat. So please ignore the sat2.


SAT2 is Russound:13. A few of the Sat signals are Russound:12. I assume those should also be ignored.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18471
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I took a look at the actual signals and I'm pretty confident that they are really NEC1, so I have created the following upgrade that should work this receiver...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=3427
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I have created the following upgrade that should work this receiver...


It looks like you left "Main device" blank. I assume that was accidental and you should have 128 there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob,

Your upgrade has no device number nor subdevice number. I understand th "no subdevice" discussion, but should the device be BLANK? or should it be 128?
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18471
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Too much haste, I've just added the device code
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lightsailpro



Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 3:05 pm    Post subject: Now the slingbox can not load the ir code Reply with quote

Hi, Rob:
Thank you for your response and converted file. I imported the file to Remote Master, and generated the JU and PL version bin files, then copied to SBAV folder, but when I go to slingbox setup wizard, and type in S0830 (I changed the setup code to 0830) in alternative code box, I get the following message:
"The slingbox can not load the ir code you selected...". Do I need to reboot the slingbox? Maybe I miss something when generating the files, could anyone generate a bin file for me to test? I appreciate your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lightsailpro



Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 3:39 pm    Post subject: It works now! Reply with quote

It works now. Mistake on my side. I copied the bin file to my home computer, but trying to update the ir code using my work computer. That's why it can not find the ir code. So you can change the status for SE830 to "tested". I got great help from this forum!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18471
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear that you got it sorted out. Did I get the brand name correct (ie, Globecast) as I found that by doing a Google search.

Also, is this a satellite box or a box that pulls HD from a regular antenna?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lightsailpro



Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The brand name is correct. It is not for HDTV. It is for Free To Air program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18471
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let me ask the question another way, what do you have the box connected to? A satellite dish, an antenna or something else?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central