JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Motorola DCT6412 skip function

Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rclones

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 10:19 pm    Post subject: Motorola DCT6412 skip function Reply with quote

While I have been using JP1 for my 15-1994 and Millenium 4 remotes for some time, this is my first message posting on this forum.
I am thinking about getting a Motorola DCT6412 . I see there is are codes posted for the 6208/6412 which include a skip ahead function not provided with the remotes supplied by my cable company.

(1) Can someone who owns a DCT6412 (or 6208?) and has used the skip function tell me how the skip works (ie does it skip ahead 30 seconds a minute etc)
(2) Is the skip function that is included in the device upgrade codes in the files section the same as the advanced code " skip 173" (ie for cable 0476)

rclones
rclones

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 9:19 pm    Post subject: Motorola DCT6412 skip function Reply with quote

I have browsed some other forums and come up with answers to my own questions.
(1) The Motorola DCT6412 has a 30 sec skip built into the hardware (although some people report they have not been able to get it to work)
(2) 173 is the correct code for skip.
dmadison

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here in the Seattle area Comcast told MSFT to disable the "Skip" function. I coded the following MACRO using JP1 and put it on my 8811. It simulates a 30-Second Skip. Its not always accurate, but it gets the job done.

My 6412 is on my CBL device button and I use the extender on my 8811.

X_CBL;FWD;FWD;FWD;X_TV;XSHIFT-Phantom1;X-CBL;Play;X_CANCEL