JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Okay, dumb question about universal remotes...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bizwiz41

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:02 am    Post subject: Okay, dumb question about universal remotes... Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm a newbie, but learning! But I have a general "dumb" question about universal remotes (in general) that has me curious.

Why is it that almost all universal remotes have all the keys to operate a DVD or VCR, yet do not have an "eject" button? This seems like such an obvious key to have on a universal remote.

I know the new Sony models have added one, but it seems like it would make life so much easier to have a readily identified button on the remote.

Just wondering why the manufacturers did this...
johnsfine
Site Admin

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most of the devices have an eject button on the device itself and most people use the eject feature when they are physically at the device (often without the remote) to be able to physically take the ejected media.

Especially on a VCR, where the remote couldn't undo an accidental press of eject, it may be harmful to have an eject button on the remote. In most cases, if not harmful it is at least redundant.

That said, I personally prefer having an eject function on the remote (though I also prefer having it always be shift stop rather than having its own button). Of course I don't think I am anywhere near the center of the customer group for which the manufacturers try to design the remotes.
vickyg2003
Site Admin

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote