JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Emotiva UMC-1 and Comcast Remote
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19520
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You beat me to it Vicky, I came back here to load my upgrade! I found some codes here: http://emotiva.com/manuals/emo.updates/umc1_remote_codes.pdf
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well don't discard yours. The codes in this PDF are different than the ones I used. Almost all the codes I found were 32.95 with a few Nec1 device2, all the ones I checked from these codes are Nec1 Device 2.

IF yours work, then cfwells could have used a manual keymove with video 1121.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cfwells, as an experiment could you set your

AUX device to 21121 and then

Press Aux again
while pointing remote at the emotica

tap the Set key
type 0 0 1 2 0 (hold the last 0)

does that change the volume?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19520
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
Well don't discard yours. The codes in this PDF are different than the ones I used. Almost all the codes I found were 32.95 with a few Nec1 device2, all the ones I checked from these codes are Nec1 Device 2.
Mine were a mixture of the two also.

Here's mine, in case you'd like to compare:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=10075
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I said, very different. I also didn't know I was supposed to complement the device in the subdevice, so I fixed my upgrade.

Also I know how to split topics, but I don't know how to merge topics. It would seem that this thread is really a continuation of this other Comcast Emotiva conversation.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=13009

That explains how this poster got to purchasing the cable without doing any of the reading that users usually do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cfwells



Joined: 04 Nov 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You folks will have to indulge me a little here. I am a technical person but you people speak a very unfamiliar language. Other than program a few commercial learning remotes I have never dealt with remotes. Compared to a theater master mx-700 or a Pronto, JP1 is order of magnitudes more complicated and arcane. When you say set my AUX device to 21121 I dont know what you mean. Vickyg2003 I will try the experiment you requested right away if you can explain what I need to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfwells



Joined: 04 Nov 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vickyg2003 link to the remote codes is the correct link for the most current codes. BTW the umc-1 is a digital audio/visual processor that has a very large remote keypad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cfwells wrote:
You folks will have to indulge me a little here. I am a technical person but you people speak a very unfamiliar language.

Yeah, can you imagine how much worse it would be if we used a lot of abreviations!

Quote:


When you say set my AUX device to 21121 I dont know what you mean. Vickyg2003 I will try the experiment you requested right away if you can explain what I need to do.


Remember the way you setup your TV, well I want you to follow the same procedure and set your AUX device to 21121. That procedure required a long hold of the setup key. Then we are going to test the EFC with the short tap of the setup key followed by 00120.

If that works the volume, then other users could use that code manually without requiring a cable. We didn't have that information before.

But as long as you have the cable, you can use either Rob's or my setup code, and assign as many of the functions to buttons as you wish.

Vicky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19520
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
As I said, very different. I also didn't know I was supposed to complement the device in the subdevice, so I fixed my upgrade.

You don't have to complement the device code, both RM and KM will default it for you. My upgrade would have been more correct if it didn't have the complement in it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cfwells



Joined: 04 Nov 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I set the aux device to 21121 and then tapped the setup key and entered
00120 on the keypad. Nothing happened. I also tried hitting the volume key after entering 00120 and nothing happened. Earlier in a posts it appeared that both Robman and Vicky used different versions of Emotivas remote codes for the umc-1. Vicky used the latest version of the remote codes from
emotiva. So which upgrade should I use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use mine. You just showed us that the other one doesn't work with this model.
Start with a download from the comcast. Save it off, and then add my device upgrade. You might want to modify my upgrade to use more of the functions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cfwells



Joined: 04 Nov 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have already saved the comcast.ir. What is the best (easiest) program to do the upgrade. KM or RM. I tried RM but it not that easy to use. What are the map and image files it asks for? I appreciate your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19520
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post a copy of your IR file in the Diagnosis Area folder and one of us will add the upgrade for you.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like you guys have it covered, but I'd figure that to toss my hat in to the mix and created the files from you know where.

EDIT:
The Robman wrote:
Post a copy of your IR file in the Diagnosis Area folder and one of us will add the upgrade for you.

Heh. I was going to do it but it looks like from his file he wants the volume buttons to punch through. And I'm not sure if I know how to do that yet.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cfwells wrote:
I have already saved the comcast.ir. What is the best (easiest) program to do the upgrade. KM or RM. I tried RM but it not that easy to use. What are the map and image files it asks for? I appreciate your help


In this case you need RM, since both upgrades were created as .rdmu files.

The maps and images files are located in our file section
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6160
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central