JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Oppo BDP-83

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stewman



Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 11:18 pm    Post subject: Oppo BDP-83 Reply with quote

1. Device: Oppo BDP-83
2. Type of device: Blu Ray Player
3. Year: 2009
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: URC-8910
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? no
6. Still have original remote? yes
7. Checked the file section? yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? yes
9. Partially working setup code? no
10. Learning remote question? n/a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3272

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 8910 does not have built-in IR codes for Oppo, which use NEC1 IR protocol, device 73. So without a JP1 cable, there is no way to make the 8910 work.

Besides buying/making a cable, you could consider getting a more modern remote. Use the Lookup Tool (link above) and search on NEC1 protocol, dev1 = 73. Setup codes 0575/1525/2185 should provide most functions out of the box, and all of the setup codes can be customized to control the Oppo. Click at the far right to bring up a list of remotes which carry the various setup codes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3959

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, the 8910 is modem-upgradeable, so stewman could upload the upgrade via a wav file.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess it would be helpful to see wav upgradable in the lookup tool.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3272

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
I guess it would be helpful to see wav upgradable in the lookup tool.

Yes, but I could just be a little more careful!

stewman, does your remote already have an upgrade loaded? We can make a simple upgrade for the Oppo83, but it will overwrite any previously loaded upgrade. If you already have an upgrade loaded, and know the contents of that previous upgrade, we can incorporate the previous upgrade into a new one.

There is a suitable upgrade file in the BluRay section, and you can adapt this to the modem upgrade yourself. If you don't feel comfortable doing that, I'll do it, but some functions need to be assigned to a button, or left out of the upgrade. In the list below, I've not shown functions like the number keys, and play. stop, arrow keys, etc, because the assignment of those is obvious. The following list shows the non-obvious asssignments that the above file upgrade contained, followed by unassigned functions. Let us know how you would like to handle any of these functions.
Code:
Button   Function
CH+   page up
CH-   page down
Prev   return
Menu   title menu
Guide   popup menu
Exit   clear
F.Fwd   skip fwd
F.Rew   skip back
TV/Vid   home
REC   repeat
Enter   goto
Sleep   setup
PIP   pip
MOVE   angle
SWAP   zoom
L1   red
L2   green
L3   blue
L4   yellow

Unassigned Functions:
eject
equalization
pitch down
pitch up
sap
sound meter (psm)
+10
subtitle
audio
a-b replay
slow
keyboard
resolution
pal/ntsc/auto
discrete on
discrete off   
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stewman



Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick replies. I'm new to all of this, so forgive me if I don't really know what I'm doing here. I found the .rdmu file you linked me to, but I'm not sure what to do with it. I do know how to update the remote via a wave file, but I'm not sure where I can get it.

Again, sorry for the stupid questions. Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stewman



Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, I have not downloaded any upgrade files yet. As for the button functions, I'm not really all that worried about the advanced stuff - I just want mostly the basic playback controls.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CAUTION, This process will delete any previous upgrades that you've received via modem.

You need to download thise files

IR,
IRtoWav,
RDF's and Images,
the upgrade that needs to converted
- and -
RM (RemoteMaster) and its java libraries
- or -
KM (Keymaster) to be used with Microsoft's Excel


Open the upgrade in RM or KM
Change the Remote to be the URC-8910
Check out the BUTTONS tab to make sure the functions are on the keys you want them


Open IR
Set the RDF Paths
do a file->New and select the URC-8910 from the dropdown
Select the Device Tab
Select Add
Copy the device from RM or KM
Paste into IR

If there is a "Required Protocol" listed,
Select the Protocol Tab in IR
Select ADD
Copy the required protocol
From the File menu in IR do a
export to WAV
select ->UPGRADES


Put the Remote into the modem mode
Play the wav

Then assign the setup code to a device the same way you would have for a built in setup code. You'll find the device/number and type in KM or RM.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
stewman



Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot - I appreciate the detailed instructions. Now I can see how to create the wav file. I'll try it out. Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19585
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just created a WAV file for you here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=8394

The upgrade is called DVD/2000 so you will need to assign that to the DVD device button manually after you've added the upgrade.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
stewman



Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the wav, robman - works like a champ now. I was following the steps that vickyg provided and I got all the way to the point of exporting to wav from IR, but it was grayed out. Now that I think about it, I don't think I downloaded IRtoWAV and I probably needed to do that. But thanks guys for all your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19585
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, IRtoWAV is a separate program which is used by IR.exe, it's not part of IR.exe, so if you don't download it, you can't use it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central