JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

New Sony Blu-ray BDP-S470

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
krazykeith



Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:11 pm    Post subject: New Sony Blu-ray BDP-S470 Reply with quote

1. Device: Sony BDP-S470
2. Type of device: Blu-Ray player
3. Year: 2010
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: RCU810
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? Yes
6. Still have original remote? Yes
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? 1226
10. Learning remote question? yes

I'm using a device upgrade that I downloaded from this site, and all the regular buttons work, but included discrete on and off don't. I really only need discrete off, since just about any button will turn it on. Anyone have any ideas? Did Sony just decide to remove discrete functionality from these new models?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6948
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think its just as likely that there is some user error going on. If you upload your IR file in the diagnosis area, and post a link to that file here, and also post a link to the BluRay upgrade that you used, it would be a lot easier to help you.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
krazykeith



Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is that a shot at my technical ability?

Just kidding-- thanks for the reply. I have been using JP1 utilities for several years, but I do admit that it's pretty complicated and easy to make mistakes, and that's why I'm asking for help!

Here's the upgrade I used:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=5662

In my IR file, I've got the discrete on bound to shift+channel up, and discrete off bound to shift+channel down for testing.

Heres the link to my ir file:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=8117

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Device TYPE in your keymoves is incorrect. Your Blu-Ray upgrade is DVD/1226, but your keymoves call on CBL/1226. I would imageine that none of those keymoves (#6 and 12-18) work correctly. Nor can I figure out what Keymoves 3, 4 and 5 are for, but that's beside the point of this discussion.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
krazykeith



Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips, you are right, on both counts.

Keymoves 3,4, and 5 are from my old DVD player. They aren't used anymore, I just didn't clean that up.

And, of course, it had to be a stupid mistake on my part. I didn't try any of those other moved keys since I've yet to have anything use those color buttons. It's working perfectly now! Thank you very much!

Also, many thanks to vickyg2003 for coaching me on the right way to ask this question. (and pointing out that it was likely user error, which it was)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6948
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I didn't get back to you, As soon as I opened the IR, I saw the problem, and then couldn't get pack on to the forum. Frustrating!

I didn't mean to be insulting, I just know first hand that procedural errors are so easy to make. I've done it a million times myself.

Its usually something really simple as it was in this case.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
krazykeith



Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, it looks like the site was having DB issues this weekend.

No worries, I wasn't insulted.

I don't know exactly what I did to make that mistake, but I was using Remotemaster to move the buttons around. My remote didn't have buttons that those had been assigned to on the original uploader's remote and that's how they showed up when I pasted them into IR after my modifications. My guess is that I inadvertently changed the code in Remotemaster or something. It's strange though, since I had to do almost the exact same steps for my projector remote and my HD-DVD remote and I don't remember having any problems with those.

Oh well, I guess I learned a little in the process.

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central