JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Need help adding remaining protocols to RM

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3411
Location: Cary, NC

                    
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 1:21 pm    Post subject: Need help adding remaining protocols to RM Reply with quote

Here's the list of protocols that RM doesn't currently support:

Echostar 2200
NEC1 2DEV Combo
NECx1
NECx2
Pioneer DVD2
Pioneer MIX
Pioneer 2CMD
Pioneer 3DEV
RC-5x
RC-5/5x Combo
RCA Combo (w/Duration)
ReplayTV (Simple)
ReplayTV (Advanced)
Zenith

I'm fairly certain it is just a matter of making the proper entries in protocols.ini, there should be no need for new code in RM.

I would appreciate any help we can get to finish this up.

The protocols.ini format is documented within the file, or you can just use existing entries as a guide.

If that is too crytpic, you could just post the details needed here, such as device parameters w/ default values, how the fixed data is calculated. Also the command parameters and how the hex command is computed, then John or I could make the protocols.ini entries.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3411
Location: Cary, NC

                    
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still looking for help with this!
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

                    
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've recently been working with Mark to get these protocols added to the next version of KM:
Code:
Upgrade Protocol 0 = 00 44 (M6805-C9)
 0B 1B 01 20 0E E0 72 26 08 04 04 D2 02 39 58 0D
 C0 03 8A 3F 7D 3F 5B BE 5A A6 C0 AD 2A A6 60 AD
 26 A6 30 AD 22 A6 D0 AD 1E A6 A0 AD 1A A6 50 AD
 16 A6 E0 AD 12 A6 F0 AD 0E BE 5B 2A 02 AD 0F 58
 26 F9 3C 66 CC 01 83 58 24 10 B8 5B B7 5B B6 6F
 A0 98 B7 6F B6 6E A2 02 B7 6E 81
End
Code:
Upgrade Protocol 0 = 00 44 (M6805-RC16/18)
 0F 26 01 20 10 C5 45 08 04 02 F9 EE 00 F9 FA 61
 A8 00 41 E1 F4 4F 0F 5A 02 A8 C0 0D 5A 02 A8 60
 0B 5A 02 A8 30 09 5A 02 A8 D0 07 5A 02 A8 A0 05
 5A 02 A8 50 03 5A 02 A8 E0 01 5A 02 A8 F0 B7 5B
 3C 67 CC 01 AF
End
Code:
Upgrade Protocol 0 = 00 44 (P8/740)
 0B 19 01 80 0F E0 B2 01 26 08 04 04 D3 02 3A 61
 A8 C0 03 8A A9 00 F7 5D 02 49 C0 D7 5D 02 49 60
 B7 5D 02 49 30 97 5D 02 49 D0 77 5D 02 49 A0 57
 5D 02 49 50 37 5D 02 49 E0 17 5D 02 49 F0 85 5E
 E6 69 4C 00 FF
End
(P8/740 version courtesy of Jason, see this message)
These are new versions of the [GI 4DTV Hacked] PID=00 44 protocol (1-byte).

I'd like to also see them added to RM's protocols.ini, but since we have never resolved an IR/RM-compatible method for differentiating between the two 6805 remote types, I'm not sure how this can be done. Any ideas?
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3411
Location: Cary, NC

                    
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All we need to do is to pick names for the 2 types of processors.
I suggest we stick with "6805" for the currently supported processor (so we don't have to go back and fix all the RDFs), and then 6805-C9 or 6805-RC16/18 for the other (I can't remember which is the new one).
Then I need to update my protocols.ini parser to recognize the new processor name. Then we can add protocol code to protocols.ini.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3411
Location: Cary, NC

                    
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have to consider whether or not changing the processor name will have an impact on IR. If it makes a difference, we should maybe use a new attribute, such as

Processor.variant=

The we could have C9 and RC16/18 as values when Processor=6805.

From my point of view there is no significant difference in the effort involved with making the change.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3411
Location: Cary, NC

                    
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went back and re-read the FYI: 6805 protocols thread, and have made an executive decision.

Let's have
Processor=6805

and

ProcessorVersion={C9|RC16/18}

Now we just need to tell Nils which RDFS need which value for ProcessorVersion.

I won't release the version of RM that makes use of the ProcessorVersion until Nils has releases updated RDFs.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3411
Location: Cary, NC

                    
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll add code to make the ProcessorVersion default to the older-style, once someone reminds me which that is. This should make it easier to release, as the RDF changes and RM changes won't have to be simultaneous.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

                    
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gfb107 wrote:
Processor=6805
and
ProcessorVersion={C9|RC16/18}
This sounds OK to me. IR refuses any Processor= value other than '6805', 'S3C8' or '740'. Is there any problem with "RC16/18" having a fwdslash in protocols.ini or elsewhere? If so, you could just shorten it to "RC".
gfb107 wrote:
Now we just need to tell Nils which RDFS need which value for ProcessorVersion.
These are the C9 types:
    CA00 (Navigator URC-43000B01).rdf
    O80a (RS 15-1925_1918_1919).rdf
    O80a (URC-7070 Pro Producer 7).rdf
And these are the RC16/18 types:
    CYC0 (Navigator URC-44000B00).rdf
    CYC1 (Navigator URC-44000B02-B04).rdf
    INTU (Intuitive URC-31XXXB01).rdf
    KWRV (Kenwood R0905 INCOMPLETE).rdf
There are a few other RDFs that indicate 6805 processors, but at this point their type is unknown.
gfb107 wrote:
I'll add code to make the ProcessorVersion default to the older-style, once someone reminds me which that is. This should make it easier to release, as the RDF changes and RM changes won't have to be simultaneous.
All of the existing 6805 protocols in protocols.ini are the C9 type. I would default to the C9 type if the ProcessorVersion item is missing or invalid.
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3411
Location: Cary, NC

                    
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've finally figured out how to read the hidden/protected sheets and formulas in KM so that I can fairly easily add support for the missing protocols.

I've already done NECx1 and NECx2, but when I got to "NEC1 2DEV Combo" I discovered an oversight in the definition of the protocols.ini syntax. There are some protocols that have different fixed data for different processors. In general there is one that is different from the rest. I'm going to add the abilty to override the fixed data on a per processor basis, as follows (I'm using the values from "NEC1 2DEv Combo here ):

FixedData=FF 00 FF 00
FixedData.S3C80=FF 00 FF 00 00 00
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control