JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

sharp tv alternate input functions only give inputs 1-4

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:14 pm    Post subject: sharp tv alternate input functions only give inputs 1-4 Reply with quote

I just set up my atlas ocap remote for my new sharp aquos tv. It has 7 inputs but unfortunately the regular individual input selection functions don't work. However the alternate ("select again") functions do work but unfortunately inputs 5-7 are not included.

I'm using the Sharp Aquos LC-52D92U km file. I've checked other similar km and rm files hoping to find one with inputs 5-7 without luck.

Can anyone help? Is there any way to deduce or make educated guesses as to what codes might work? I'm really hoping to get my TV to automatically switch to the right input based on which device I select so it would be a major bummer not to get 5-7.

I don't know if this is coincidence or not but those are the 3 HDMI inputs on my tv.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My 46" Aquos has inputs 4 and 5 as the HDMI inputs. I used the/ same upgrade file as you did, and as with you, the "normal" inputs 1-4 do not work, while the "alternate" 1-4 inputs work just fine. However, the "regular" input 5 also correctly selects the HDMI2 function, so my only suggestion would be to try those "regular" inputs above 4 again.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eureka! Why didn't I think to try that??? I guess I tried the first 2 or 3 and gave up when that failed. Thanks for the tip! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aw, shoot. It appears the TV will not switch inputs for a significant amount of time after powering on, so I can't set up a macro to turn everything on AND set the input. Sad Oh well, at least I can program buttons for the 2 inputs I'm using and I can just press it as a second step.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know what you consider "significant" nor how long your macros are, but you need to build in or program some delay between powering on the TV and setting the input. In my system, my Aquos LCD TV does just fine when I build the "setup" macros with the FIRST step being powering on the TV then turning on and setting up my receiver, turning on the DVD player or Cable box, and THEN setting the TV input. Have you tried that? If that delay is still insufficient, then you can always add a pause into your macro. Just create an upgrade using the Pause protocol in KM or RM. The help files walk you through the process.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kevjs1982



Joined: 05 Apr 2008
Posts: 43
Location: East Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
I don't know what you consider "significant" nor how long your macros are, but you need to build in or program some delay between powering on the TV and setting the input. In my system, my Aquos LCD TV does just fine when I build the "setup" macros with the FIRST step being powering on the TV then turning on and setting up my receiver, turning on the DVD player or Cable box, and THEN setting the TV input. Have you tried that? If that delay is still insufficient, then you can always add a pause into your macro. Just create an upgrade using the Pause protocol in KM or RM. The help files walk you through the process.


Does HDMI never switch over automatically then? I got used to turning AV gear on (connected via SCART) and having the input sorted automatically - I find having to manually select HDMI inputs a step back into the dark ages!
_________________
URC-7780 OneForAll Digital 12 and URC-7556 OneForAll Digital 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried adding pauses of various lengths, as well as manually trying to determine how much time it would take. I gave up at around a 3 second delay because I also use the macro to switch from one source to another (when the equipment is already on), so I don't want the remote to be busy for that long before you can press more buttons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central