JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Apple TV

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
benjamintm



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:23 am    Post subject: Apple TV Reply with quote

Hi all,
I'm a bit stuck. I'm able to learn the codes from my Apple TV and use them with my spare 2116, but when I try to create a device with the learned codes, I can't seem to get it to work. I've made the IR learned codes file available at:
http://www.samuraipanda.com/appletv.ir

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uwereinert
Advanced Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 153
Location: Chemnitz

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure, but if you disable DecodeIR, IR.exe shows the learned codes as NEC1, device 238, subdevice 135. Try this.

Uwe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benjamintm



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yea, I was able to get that information as well, but when I put it into RemoteMaster and then import the device to my remote, it doesn't work.

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18871
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm moving this to protocol decodes because, even though the signals are obviously very similar to NEC, the fact that they do not decode as such means there's a difference in there somewhere. Hopefully I'll have a spare minute tomorrow to decode them and see what the difference is.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
decode them and see what the difference is.


If you adjust column widths in IR.exe's display of the decodes so you can see the contents of "Misc" you'll see the difference.

In NEC protocols the fourth byte is 0xFF minus the third byte.

In these signal the fourth byte is always 0x64.

Otherwise, the timing and structure looks like NEC1.

That change is a bit more than I can slap together quickly with PB. I expect Rob can come up with a custom executor for this much sooner that I'll be able to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18871
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's an upgrade that you can try in your 15-2116...

Upgrade Code 0 = 0F D0 (TV/2000) Apple TV (KM v9.07)
FF 00 04 7B 88 1E D9 3F AF CF 6F 9F 5F
End

Upgrade protocol 0 = 01 FF (S3C8+) Apple TV (PB v4.00)
43 8D 31 8B 12 C7 4D 08 08 01 21 01 06 01 21 03
31 D4 FD 11 A7 08 B7 08 05 E4 06 05 09 06 8D 01
46
End
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benjamintm



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That did it. Thanks for the help.

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18871
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are there really just 6 buttons on the Apple remote?

Just in case you need it, here's the KM file...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=4481
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Evan_s



Joined: 24 Mar 2007
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Are there really just 6 buttons on the Apple remote?

Just in case you need it, here's the KM file...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=4481


Yeah that is all it has. Very simple remote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Evan_s wrote:
The Robman wrote:
Are there really just 6 buttons on the Apple remote?

Just in case you need it, here's the KM file...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=4481


Yeah that is all it has. Very simple remote.

The AppleTV remote appears to be the same as the Apple Universal remote that is used with the iPod dock. I wonder if the iPod upgrade will work on the AppleTV?

The OBC's are the same and the iPod upgrade includes special commands for Power Off, Fast Forward, and Rewind implemented through the custom protocol Mike England wrote.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
benjamintm



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, there are only 6 buttons. This may work on a computer, but as a consumer device integrated into a home theater setup it's a bit unusable. Buttons are overloaded, so when it's remapped to my 2116 it doesn't match any other consumer device with a menu system. If I'm going to keep the AppleTV, I'm going to have to map the buttons to more logical settings such as copying select to play and pause; left and right to fast-foward and reverse (respectively).

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18871
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should download the upgrade file that I created and add comments to each function describing what they really do, then on the Buttons sheet, re-arrange the buttons so they more acurately reflect the functions purpose. Then, load the final result to the file section.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central