JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Chicony keyboard?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18512
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed the subject line of your thread to something that more accurately describes the content, so hopefully it will now attract the attention of our resident keyboard expert, Jon Armstrong.

As for the URC-6611, I've never heard of this remote, so unless that's a typo, there's no support for it at this time.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GameGod



Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 46
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, I meant the 6131. Thanks for pointing it out Rob.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GameGod



Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 46
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gfb107 wrote:
Most keyboards don't actually send a compound key. They generally send a key-down and a key-up for each key (sometimes called -make and -break).

So Alt-S is actually Alt-down;S-Down;S-up;Alt-up

I haven't kept up with the IR keyboard stuff, but that is something I picked up along the way. I don't know if there a protcol available that actually allows you create individual down and up commands so that you create Alt-S as a macro.


I figured that's how it must be. But strangely, sending Alt and then S does not work. I figured that I don't need to send the up commands since I am not doing it for the other keys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3388
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is possible that the protocol you are using in your upgrade is actually sending the down and the up as part of the same remote button press.
So when you then you are sending Alt;S the remote is actually sending Alt-down;Alt-up;S-down;S-up
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GameGod



Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 46
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The device upgrade that I am using is here. I found it among the device upgrades, but the problem is that it does not have all the keys that I need.

The comment in the upgrade says that I have to change the device id from 1 to 0 to get an "up" code, so I think its only sending the down codes at the moment.

I have everything else working just the way I want it, now to only get this last hurdle over with...

Thanks for all your help... Any other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3388
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I said, I'm not really up to speed on keyboards. One thing you might try is loading 2 upgrades. The first with the down and the second with the up. Then create a 4 step macro using the downs and ups as I suggested. IF that doesn't work, you'll have to wait for Jon to weigh in. He knows more about the IR keyboards than anyone else here.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jon_armstrong
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1238
Location: R.I.P. 3/25/2005

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

G^2,

The upgrade that you are using just has only the down (or "make") key. I think there are notes in the upgrade on how to get the up (or "break") key. IIRC, you change the device number.

You may have a situation that requires the break key to execute (but I have yet to see one), but most of the time, as Greg explained, it just needs the make keys. You can load a second device upgrade for the break keys and experiment, if that works, you will probably then need to go to device specific macros (and the extender) to get it working the way you want. But for now just try the keys manually before you tackle the extender.
_________________
-Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
GameGod



Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 46
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, that actually worked.

I added another device upgrade with the "up" keys and then used DSM's to send both the down and the up keys. This works for all the compound keys.

The only annoyance with this method is that its slightly slow for keys that are repeatedly pressed (skip back, skip fwd) so for those I remapped the keys to non compound keys.

Everything works now, thanks for all your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central