JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

OFA Cinema 7 dead-- can you reset?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
starmanj



Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll give that a try. My multimeter is acting up on me, so I got inconsistent voltages across Pin 5. It looks like Pin 5 is getting 5 volts now.

I did a continuity check across keypads, and it appears none are shorted. I'll do a download and watch the LED this time.
Starmanj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
starmanj



Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Johnsfine,
The LED doesn't flash at the beginning of, end of, nor at JP1 connect/disconnect. It looks like RESET is not the problem-- but boy the IR.exe program works flawlessly! I can see all my learned codes etc. just fine, as a test I erased and re-programmed the EEPROM and all that is just fine.

I double-checked keypad and there are no jumps or shorts. Diodes look okay, they are 1.5v one way and .75v the other. IR Emitters, tested as diodes, are 1.5v one way and 1v the other, so they appear good.

Schematic confirms the JP1 pins go directly to the eeprom. It looks like my cinema 7's CPU died a sudden, mysterious death coincident with my JP1 pin soldering.

I am truly bummed out.

starmanj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
usblipitor



Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Location: Greenbelt, MD

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 6:24 pm    Post subject: can cpus be replaced Reply with quote

can the cpu be replaced? (with patience and a desoldiering tool?) I looked at ebay and half.com and noone is selling cinema 7's (or 15-1994's either)

As a last resort, the OFA 8810w is still selling for less than $20 at wal-mart Smile
_________________
-Steve
Beginner's Guide
CodeSearchFAQ
JP1Files
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamesgammel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Gillette, Wyoming

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

uhhhhhh, the cpu is buried in an epoxy blob. If you look at the pix recently posted of the 8810W concerning the 3.1 extender problem you'll see what it looks like, and that this would be a monumental task. The eeprom is just an 8-legged chip that's soldered surface mount, so it's not near as daunting. I'm afraid replacing the cpu would involve a LOT more than just patience and a de-soldering tool.

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
starmanj



Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agreed. I thought the CPU was nearly indestructible though. Can't imagine how I fried it.

Question: Can you see the IR emitters with the lights out and active?

Starmanj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really doubt that you damaged the CPU, but I don't know what you could test to find out what you did damage.

The IR emitters' output is very visible through the electronic viewfinder of a camcorder or similar device. There are other ways to see if that's working, but that way is the easiest for most of us.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

starmanj wrote:
The LED doesn't flash at the beginning of, end of, nor at JP1 connect/disconnect.

If you remove the batteries, press the Power button for a couple of seconds, and then re-install the batteries, does the LED blink? Under normal conditions, you should see 2 blinks, a short pause, and then 2 blinks (the first set indicates MPU reset, the second indicates a valid EEPROM found and initialized).
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
starmanj



Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark,
LED won't come on for any reason.

Hey, you guys gave me a neat idea to determine if IRs were working. I use my cellphone camera! I always have it, so no need to find camcorder. I used another remote and bang! I see the IRs bright as a flashlight.

Unfortunately it confirms no joy from my cinema 7 IR emitters. No LED, no IR-- no matter what I push. EEPROM is good, getting up/downloads from JP1 pins. Gotta be CPU, or maybe a capacitor is shot.
Starmanj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central