JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

URC 8810 and 7801 common problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BigFred



Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 2:12 pm    Post subject: URC 8810 and 7801 common problem Reply with quote

Never realized what a fan base there was for these remotes but some great info on these pages. Have a 7801 that is about 3 years old and a brand new 8810. Both work fine for the most part put I've run into the same problem with both of them. For the 8810, when programming the Maacro key, I push "set", the led light blinks twice, I enter "995" and I get a solid light for about 2-3 seconds. Retrying I sometimes get the double blink, but then when I press the empty "Macro" key, I get nothing. I have already successfully programmed the first two macro keys with small routines (turn on all my home theater stuff-TV, DSS, DVD, RCVR). I have probably ten-15 "learned" functions in it. On my 7801, I get the same result trying to program my "L" keys...solid red led after entering "995". I have tried new batteries on each with no solution. Any idea what the issue is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could it be your memory is full? Learned keys eat it up pretty quickly.

As this is the JP1 forum, the presumption is you have, or intend to get, a JP1 cable. If you do so, using the software tools available herein, you can download the contents of your remote's EEPROM and determine whether that memory is full or not, and better still, you can program it without the wasteful use of learning, customizing it far more effectively and efficiently than by simply mashing buttons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gjarboni
Expert


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Columbia, MD

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Learned memory is stored in a different eeprom region, so it won't interfere with macros. There are three memory regions in learning remotes:

Keymove/Macro Area
Upgrade Area
Learning Area

The boundaries are fixed and can't be changed (except by an extender). I just doublechecked on my 7801 and you can program a macro on the L keys from the remote.

The long blink usually means that the remote can't communicate with the eeprom or that the eeprom's contents have become corrupted. A JP1 cable will help you out a lot because if the eeprom is still working, it will allow you to back up your configuration. But if you are willing to redo the programming you have already done to the remote, than you should try a factory reset. The simple instructions are to hold down setup, wait for the two blinks, than enter 981. This will completely wipe out everything in the remote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
BigFred



Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the factory reset tip. I was just about to embark on a websearch for that info. I assume that "981" is the reset code for my 8810, also?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the described symptoms, it's hard to distinguish among the possibilities:

1) Operator error in using the 995 command
2) The memory region for KeyMoves and Macros is full
3) The eeprom contents are corrupted
4) Hardware problem.

4 is least likely and 3 quite unlikely as well.

A 981 reset (described above) is the only non-JP1 fix for 3. It would fix 2 as well, but it's a rather drastic fix for 2.

Getting a JP1 cable and using the IR.EXE program instead of the remote's horid UI, is the best solution for 1 or 3, and can do quite a lot for 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BigFred



Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I successfully did the "981" reset of my 7801, and I have it reprogrammed and working fine. However, I have not been able to do a reset of my 8810 with the "981" entry. Is there another number for this one? The directions don't mention resetting, and I haven'e fouind anything else on the web. Thanks for any tips.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3011
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 8810 uses the same 981 reset as all the other non-LCD JP1 remotes. Press and hold the SET button until the LED blinks twice, then enter 9-8-1. If that doesn't work, try removing the batteries, press the power button for a second or 2, and reinstall the batteries. Then try the 981 command again.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central