JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

VUR8 USED $8.99 shipped (Vizio)
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Market Place
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nejpski



Joined: 15 Jan 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:18 pm    Post subject: VUR8 USED $8.99 shipped (Vizio) Reply with quote

Not sure if this is legal (and I am not the seller), but fleabay search for VUR8 has USED models for $8.99 shipped.

I purchased one, happy with the purchase. [Certainly worth the $200 DISCOUNT I got on the open box (was missing base too, but I wall mount).]

Not sure how it rates for other JP1ers and I have not gone that far yet. I purchased an Open Box 42 Vizio from Wally World which was missing the remote. Didnt realize this one had a JP1 header until opening it to put in batteries.

Supplies on FLEABAY Watch list note over 45 available.

Cheers and belated Happy New Year to all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18099
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:30 pm    Post subject: Re: VUR8 USED $8.99 shipped (Vizio) Reply with quote

nejpski wrote:
Not sure if this is legal (and I am not the seller), but fleabay search for VUR8 has USED models for $8.99 shipped.

I purchased one, happy with the purchase. [Certainly worth the $200 DISCOUNT I got on the open box (was missing base too, but I wall mount).]

Not sure how it rates for other JP1ers and I have not gone that far yet. I purchased an Open Box 42 Vizio from Wally World which was missing the remote. Didnt realize this one had a JP1 header until opening it to put in batteries.

Supplies on FLEABAY Watch list note over 45 available.

Of course it's legal, here's a link to the auction listing itself...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/271047735869
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
timewalker



Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone point me to a thread that extolls the virtues of this remote? I have been out of the loop for a while, but am looking for replacements for my 8811 and 8910 remotes soon, so.... what's so great about this remote?
Thanks,
Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3573

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Virtues: only $9, nice layout, good looks, 4 real + 4 phantom devices, learning, decent amount of memory.

But unlike 8910, has no LCD, no modem and is JP1.3, not JP1. Of course you won't find any new JP1 remotes these days. They haven't been made for years. This means you'll need a new cable.

EDIT: Correction. Does have backlight after all per post below.


Last edited by mdavej on Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nejpski



Joined: 15 Jan 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:23 pm    Post subject: One month later.... Reply with quote

Actually the one I purchased from Fleabay is backlit....amber. One other thing I like is "the feel." IT has a rounded back and weighed (and wider) at the bottom. So it feels decent in your hand. THe natural thumb position ends up over the Channel Up/down keys and the VOlume up/down keys. [And LAST and MUTE keys.]

I will also mention, the one I purchased, the round middle disk "sticks." I pointed this out to the seller, and without question, they sent me another. Remember, this is a used remote. Still for $9 shipped, I am elated one month later. They still have some left, so I will be purchasing a couple more soon.

IT does have a VIZIO logo at the front bottom. That might not appeal to all users. But since the TV I purchased is VIZIO......works for me.

[A couple of other notes: Also rubberized feel back....and there are dedicated "Select Input" keys (4) for TV AV Component and HDMI, so that relieves me from having to cycle thru the INPUT key.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there support for the VUR8 in KM or RM?
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, RMIR uses the 30273027 RDF file and Vizio-VUR8-6100 image/map files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! It's off to eBay for me.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There may be a problem with the 30273027 RDF file. Commands assigned to the GUIDE button show up on both the GUIDE button and the INFO button.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3573

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RDF is fine, but map is not. HERE's the corrected map file.

Last edited by mdavej on Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:36 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much for your help.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3378
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I picked up a couple of these VUR8s. They maybe be used, but the ones I got look pristine.

The layout is pretty good, but I like the Insignia/Sanyo quite a bit better, much better for DVR use. It also makes a huge difference that there is an extender for the Insigna/Sanyo but not for the VUR8.

Wish I could find some cheap NS-RC02U-10A, I've had some keys go unresponsive on mine, and they're hard to get open.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)


Last edited by gfb107 on Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3573

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just updated the RDF and Map, so download again from my link above for the latest changes. Fixed Guide/Info buttons and added several phantoms (total of 14).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much for your help. I was able to make and load upgrades for most of my gear, but the upgrade for my Onkyo receiver is acting funny. The commands for VOL+, VOL-, and MUTE all work fine, but all of the other keys send out signals that IRScope recognize as Pioneer codes, rather than the 4 DEV NEC codes that should be sent. I've uploaded the files to the diagnostic area:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11756
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vol+/- and Mute are the Volume group and in your setup, VPT is set to AUDIO, and all buttons will route the volume group through the AUDIO device. Note that in your setup dev4 has setup code 1023. This is the normal Pioneer setup code. The symptoms are that the remote is using setup code 1023 when it thinks it is in Audio mode.

IMO, the problem is with the RDF file. This section
Code:
[DeviceTypes]
CBL/SAT  = 0
TV       = 1
VCR/DVD  = 2
CD       = 3
CBL/SAT  = 0
VCR/DVD  = 2,2
VCR/DVD  = 2,2
CD       = 3,3
must have the same order as this section
Code:
[DeviceButtons]
CABLE  = $00A $00B
TV     = $00C $00D
AUDIO  = $00E $00F
dev4   = $010 $011
dev5   = $012 $013
DVD    = $014 $015
dev7   = $016 $017
dev8   = $018 $019
This is strange, because seemingly the Audio button is natively assigned as a Video device type. One of these sections is wrong, and I think that it is the Device Buttons section.

Would you mind trying a modified RDF? Edit the RDF file and substitute this
Code:
[DeviceButtons]
CABLE  = $00A $00B
TV     = $00C $00D
dev4   = $00E $00F
AUDIO  = $010 $011
dev5   = $012 $013
DVD    = $014 $015
dev7   = $016 $017
dev8   = $018 $019
The words dev4 and AUDIO are interchanged compared to the current RDF.
As long as we're changing stuff, substitute this also:
Code:
[DeviceTypes]
CBL/SAT  = 0
TV       = 1
VCR/DVD  = 2
CD       = 3
CBL/SAT  = 0,0
VCR/DVD  = 2,2
VCR/DVD  = 2,2
CD       = 3,3
The change is CBL/SAT = 0,0. This will make the code selector section of RMIR work.
How did I know to make these changes? The sad fact is I don't remember, but a search on VUR8 here found this post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Market Place All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central