JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

RS 2116: advanced codes without JP1?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
asinsh



Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 7:05 am    Post subject: RS 2116: advanced codes without JP1? Reply with quote

I've done a search but can't find this answer:

How do you do a keymove on the RS2116 using the actual EFC rather than through a copy from another key? This used to be possible with the RS 1994 so I assume it works on this one too, correct?

(I'm trying to talk a relative through adding a code long distance so that she doesn't need to mail the remote back to me to fix with my JP1.)
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think these are the correct instructions for an LCD remote:
  1. Find the 3-digit advanced code for the original function of your remote.
  2. Tap the DEVICE key. (Optional, sets the default device)
  3. HOLD DOWN the SETUP button until the screen reads 'TIMED SEQ'.
  4. TAP the DOWN ARROW button twice, the screen will read 'CONFIGURE'.
  5. TAP the SELECT button, the screen will read 'THEATR SEL'.
  6. TAP the DOWN ARROW button five times, the screen will read 'KEY MOVER'.
  7. TAP the SELECT button, the screen will read 'FROM'.
  8. TAP the DEVICE button where you wish to take the advanced code FROM. (Optional, will use the default established above if ommited)
  9. TAP the SETUP button and enter the 3-digit Advanced Code. The screen will read TO.
  10. TAP the DEVICE button where you want to use the advanced code. (Optional, will use the default established above if ommited)
  11. TAP the button you want to use the advanced code, the screen will go back to the main display.

    To put the function on a shifted key, simply press SETUP before the last step above. Then, to access the function use the SETUP button instead of the SHIFT button.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you should also mention what the screen shows during step 9. I think it is "SYNT" right after the tap of SETUP, but I'm not sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnsfine wrote:
I think you should also mention what the screen shows during step 9.

I would have except I don't know either. Confused I just copied the instructions from one of Rob's online manuals.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
asinsh



Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark Pierson wrote:
johnsfine wrote:
I think you should also mention what the screen shows during step 9.

I would have except I don't know either. Confused I just copied the instructions from one of Rob's online manuals.


Thanks a million, guys. But Mark, you mention having found this in one of Rob's online manuals...the official manual doesn't have this stuff and I couldn't find one of Rob's custom manuals for the 2116 (the custom manuals listed at http://www.hifi-remote.com/manuals/ only goup to RS 2104). Were you just using the 2104 info or is there one for the 2116 hidden somehwere else?
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asinsh



Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, I just found where I think you got that info -- from Rob's RS 1995 manual, right? But the 2116 doesn't seem to work the same way...If I hold down the setup button, I get "Code Set" in the LCD window and no matter how long I continue to hold the setup button the message remains "Code Set'. Am I doing it wrong?
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asinsh



Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

By expermientation I think maybe I've figured this out, but since I'm at work with the remote but no JP1, I can't test to see if it really worked.

Here's what I did:


1. HOLD DOWN the SETUP button until the screen reads 'CODE SET'

2. TAP the DOWN ARROW button seven times, the screen will read 'KEYMOVER'.

3. TAP the SELECT button, the screen will read 'FROM MODE'.

4. TAP the DEVICE button to tell it the mode of the advanced code you are assigning, the screen will read 'FROM KEY'

5. TAP the setup button, the screen will read 'SYNT' (whatever that means...synthetic??)

6. Enter the 3-digit Advanced Code (EFC format, I presume) and then TAP the SELECT button, the screen will read 'TO MODE'

7. TAP the DEVICE button for the mode where you want to use the advanced code, the screen will read 'TO KEY'

8. TAP the button you want to use the advanced code, the screen will read 'SUCCESS'

And that's it.
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, those match Rob's instructions at
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-one4all/thread.cgi?2448,1#3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
asinsh



Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, John (though I did beat you to it by about 5 seconds via experimentation Wink ).
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asinsh wrote:
I did beat you to it by about 5 seconds


I noticed that and had to edit my post since otherwise it made no sense appearing after your post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
asinsh



Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now my post makes no sense Wink

Any idea what the 'SYNT' that comes up in the LCD stands for?
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18515
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asinsh wrote:
5. TAP the setup button, the screen will read 'SYNT' (whatever that means...synthetic??)

UEI refers to EFCs as "synth codes" based on the fact that their protocols often have to "synthesize" the signals by generating checksums, etc.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central