JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

USING JP1.X INTERFACES WITH JP1.3 REMOTES

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tommy Tyler
Expert


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 408
Location: Denver mountains

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:42 pm    Post subject: USING JP1.X INTERFACES WITH JP1.3 REMOTES Reply with quote

It turns out there's a slight difference in configuration of the 6-pin interface connector of JP1.3 remotes compared to JP1.2 remotes. Without going into boring technical details, the JP1.2 insists that you leave pin 5 normally high, but the JP1.3 insists that you leave it low. Full-blown JP1.x interfaces (i.e., those that work with JP1.1 remotes as well as JP1.2 remotes) have pin 5 normally pulled high. If you plug one of those into a JP1.3 remote the processor is immediately switched into a "tool" mode and will not communicate serially. Those members who have been uploading, downloading, and dumping JP1.3 remotes all this time were only able to do so because of a stroke of luck --- their interfaces did not have the JP1.1 components installed.

It's easy to deal with this problem:

If you are not using a JP1.3 remote you need read no further.

If you are NOT using a JP1.1 remote, but want your interface to work with both JP1.2 and JP1.3 remotes, just make sure the circuit to pin 5 of your interface is disabled, either by omission of the three JP1.1 components, or simply by clipping wire 5 where it is connected to the edge of the interface board. (Use fingernail clippers if necessary.)

If you are using a JP1.1 remote, the circuit to pin 5 is necessary, but it won't interfere with also using the interface with JP1.2 remotes.

The combination that has a conflict is if you want to use your interface with both JP1.1 and JP1.3 remotes. If you are one of the extremely rare individuals with this need, just cut off pin 5 of the 6-pin header inside the JP1.3 remote (NOT the JP1.1 remote). Don't worry. You will NEVER have any use for that pin. In fact, if it weren't for the damned JP1.1 we would never have designed any interfaces that used pin 5.

Tommy


Last edited by Tommy Tyler on Wed Dec 12, 2007 9:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3955

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Surprised HOLY MOLEY! Surprised

Tommy,

Your genius never fails to amaze!

I guess I'm lucky that I have (1) no JP 1.1 remotes; and (2) a "JP1.2-only" cable (although that is now an increasingly-incorrect nomenclature, since it works on JP1.3, as well)
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)


Last edited by Capn Trips on Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:50 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Tommy for your hard work on this issue.

I think we need to make a change in this sticky, http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=8084, that reflects this new information. I just added there, a link back to this thread.

Best and thanks again,
jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dilligaf



Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 79
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Couldn't you just put a switch in the circuit to pin 5 and open it for jp1.3 remotes and close it for jp1.1 remotes? My circuit board is mounted in a project box so it would be nothing to mount a switch on the box.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IBNobody



Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dilligaf wrote:
Couldn't you just put a switch in the circuit to pin 5 and open it for jp1.3 remotes and close it for jp1.1 remotes? My circuit board is mounted in a project box so it would be nothing to mount a switch on the box.

Mike


You could, but it's easier just to clip the pin on JP1.3 remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3955

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would a chart like this be useful? It can be linked in the first post on cable selection in the Hardware section.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I vote yes.

one small typo in cell B16, should be S3C80, but I might be wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

greenough1 wrote:
one small typo in cell B16, should be S3C80, but I might be wrong.
JP1.3 remotes use the newer S3F80 processor.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3955

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I'm pretty confident with the JP1.3 processor, but what is the JP1.1 processor?
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tommy Tyler
Expert


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 408
Location: Denver mountains

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should "If you absolutely MUST use your JP1.2 interface . . ."
be "If you absolutely MUST use your JP1.3 interface . . ." ?

Do you guys realize we'll implode when UEI brings out a JP1.4?

Tommy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3955

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tommy Tyler wrote:
Should "If you absolutely MUST use your JP1.2 interface . . ."
be "If you absolutely MUST use your JP1.3 interface . . ." ?
Actually, I'm thinking that I MEANT to write:

"If you absolutely MUST use your JP1.X cable with your JP1.3 remote..."

One could argue that current cable nomenclature ("cableclature"?) may in retrospect, not be quite as precise in its description as to what it actually supports as one would hope.

The "JP1.X" cable supports the JP1.1 and JP1.2 remotes (plus JP1.3 with a workaround), whilst
the "JP1.2" cable supports the JP1.2 and JP1.3 remotes, right?

Maybe we ought to rename them (and start over when JP1.4 comes out!)
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3955

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XLS file updated to include correction noted above and links to the various interface designs, as well.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
...but what is the JP1.1 processor?
It's an SST processor. It is a flash-based device equivalent to the 68HC05RC16 processor.
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central