JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

does an extender exist for URC-6800?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
usblipitor



Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Location: Greenbelt, MD

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 8:29 am    Post subject: does an extender exist for URC-6800? Reply with quote

Forgive this stupid question.

In the RemoteChart.xls, it says Yes/Yes in the protocol/extender column for the URC-6800 remote.

I was over at remote central and was going to suggest to a fellow over there that he could use an extender to use memory more efficiently by creating device upgrades as he ran out of learning memory.

I looked in the jp1-yahoo-extenders folder. Which extender would be the right one to recommend? None seem to say URC6800. Sad (or possibly I am just going blind.)

edit: rephrased memory sentence so it actually makes sense. thanks goes to Jim.


Last edited by usblipitor on Sat Jan 03, 2004 10:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A URC6800 is a URC7800 with one physical button missing. All the JP1 features of the 7800, including the extender, work fine on a 6800. You can even include a "press" of the missing button in a macro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jamesgammel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Gillette, Wyoming

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey steve, how does an extender give a remote MORE learning memory? If I remember, there is a C-7 extender which doesn't sacrifice memory, but it doesn't give any more learning memory. Most extenders are at the sacrifice of learning memory totally (Temporarily while the extender is installed). Was that a typo? Did you really mean keymove/macro memory?

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
usblipitor



Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Location: Greenbelt, MD

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John,
Thank you. It makes sense.. 6800, 7800.. similar numbers, similar remotes.. We should add "6800" to the folder name, or say something like "URC7800 family" on the folder, for future generations of ignorant people like me! Smile

Jim,
I am pretty sure I told my fingers to type one thing, but they evidently typed something completely different. I fixed the sentence using an edit. My bad. Embarassed Thanks.
_________________
-Steve
Beginner's Guide
CodeSearchFAQ
JP1Files
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19518
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are two URC-6800 remotes out there, one is the 6 device version of the URC-7800 called the "Cinema 6" and the other is a "VCRPRO" remote.

The Cinema 6 can use the Cinema 7's extender, the VRPRO can't.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central