JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

HDVR2 - Working sporadically

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tailslide



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 11:46 pm    Post subject: HDVR2 - Working sporadically Reply with quote

I have a 15-1994 and I just built the cable tonight and I seem to be able to upload and download to my remote quite nicely. I loaded the hdvr2.txt into keymap master, picked my remote and device, and pasted from the three windows on the main spreadsheet tab into IR and uploaded to my remote. All the buttons seem to work but they only work sometimes.. IE I have to hit the buttons several times to get it to register on the TIVO.

Any suggestions? I'm so close !!

Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18351
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you loaded the upgrade into KM, do you recall if the selected protocol was "Tivo" or "NEC1"?

If it was some variation of "Tivo", you should be OK, but if it was "NEC1", this could be the problem, in which case I would suggest that you change it to "Tivo Hacked" ( I think it's called) and try re-loading. (All the other data can stay the same)

Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cdhixson



Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 48
Location: Charlotte, NC USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
If it was some variation of "Tivo", you should be OK, but if it was "NEC1", this could be the problem, in which case I would suggest that you change it to "Tivo Hacked" ( I think it's called) and try re-loading.


The latest versions of KM renamed the Tivo Hacked protocol to Tivo (Advanced). I'm not sure why it was renamed, but it caused me some problems when I tried to import a KM upgrade text file into RemoteMaster. RM doesn't have an entry for the Tivo Advanced protocol in its protocols.ini file. I edited the protocol name in the KM upgrade file to read Tivo Hacked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18351
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I knew it was renamed but couldn't recall exactly what the new name was.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tailslide



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi thanks for the replies.. I tried both the Tivo (Official) and Tivo (Advanced) in KM with the same results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18351
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then I have to ask, are you using fresh batteries and are you sure the problem isn't in the Tivo itself? In other words, do you have the same issues when you use the Tivo remote.

Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tailslide



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 11:19 pm    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Yep that was it.. the batteries were low so the TIVO didn't work but everything else did. New batteries fixed everything. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18351
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now how many times is that that "new batteries" was the right answer??? Smile

Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central