JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

working thru the MiniTutorial on a 2104

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TimH



Joined: 26 Dec 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Panama City, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 10:28 am    Post subject: working thru the MiniTutorial on a 2104 Reply with quote

So I'm working thru the MiniTutorial_1.2 on my new 2104. Towards the end the tutor makes use of the xs_DEV keys on his 8810. Can I use, for instance, the shifted phantom keys instead and expect it to work? I presume others have gotten this to work on non-8810 remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're using the 2104 extender, it doesn't support the xs_ keys, but you should be able to use shifted phantoms.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TimH



Joined: 26 Dec 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Panama City, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the order of macros and key moves significant in IR?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
usblipitor



Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Location: Greenbelt, MD

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no
_________________
-Steve
Beginner's Guide
CodeSearchFAQ
JP1Files
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, yes. Macros and Key Moves share the same memory area in the EEPROM. If you created a macro first, and then a key move, with both bound to the same button, the macro would run since the remote uses the first entry it finds.

Since IR uses 2 different tabs for these, it's sometimes hard to see the order in which they appear in the EEPROM. I'm not sure, but I think IR initially stores them in the order you create them. For example, if you create 3 key moves, then 2 macros, and then another key move, they get stored as <key_move_1>, <key_move_2>, <key_move_3>, <macro_1>, <macro_2>, <key_move_4>.

In IR, you can click & drag a given one to a position higher in the list, and it should get placed earlier in the memory space, though I'm not positive of exactly how it determines what the new sequence is.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
usblipitor



Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Location: Greenbelt, MD

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, interesting..
Mark Pierson wrote:
...If you created a macro first, and then a key move, with both bound to the same button...
But why would anyone rational do this? Shocked

HNY!
-Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamesgammel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Gillette, Wyoming

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forgetting what he'd done maybe months earlier, then not checking to see what he already created. At any rate, not likely intentional, just a little sloppy on procedure.

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie mistake, for starters. Wink

Also, remember that macros are global, while key moves aren't. A key move could override a macro in a given device mode (as long as it's located before the macro in memory).
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The relative sequence only matters if you use an extender that changes the location of the KeyMove/Macro area. Without an extender, or with an extender that doesn't have that feature, a KeyMove will override a macro regardless of which is first.

IR shows you the sequence of KeyMoves relative to each other and Macros relative to each other. It never shows you their sequence relative to each other. Under some conditions they will be in the sequence in which they were created.

IR lets you change the sequence of a KeyMove relative to other KeyMoves by dragging. When you do that, I'm pretty sure IR also invisibly changes the overall sequence so that all macros are after all KeyMoves. THAT sequence makes a KeyMove consistently override a macro regardless of which extender you are using.

So, if you have KeyMoves which are supposed to override macros and you define the KeyMove second, at least once after defining such keymoves, you should drag any KeyMove to any other position in the KeyMove list to cause that invisible change of sequence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TimH



Joined: 26 Dec 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Panama City, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay.. so back to the original issue. I load this, turn on the extender and hit the TV button. The TV, CBL, and DVD all come on as they should. I hit the LKP-Power and just the cable box turns off. The TV device key macro is the only one that appears to work in LKP or SKP mode. This is not the only issue, just indicative of what I'm sure is a larger issue.

I'd appreciate any feedback.

IR save from 15-2104 is here

Philips TV (TV/0054)
Power toggle only

SA Cable Box (CBL/0877)
Power Toggle Only

Orincon DVD/HT (DVD/0652)
KM upgrd learned from OEM remote is [url=http://groups.yahoo.com/group/jp1/files/3.%20Device%20Codes/DVD/Oritron_DAV3101_Home_Theater_System_(DVD-0652).txt] here[/url]
Power Toggle only
AV select (AV1/AV2 toggle)
Tuner select (AM/FM toggle)
AV1 input is from cable box
AV2 input is from VCR

Toshiba VCR (VCR/0045)
Power Toggle Only

TOADs
0 - TV Power
1 - CBL Power
2 - DVD Power
3 - VCR Power
4 - AV1/AV2 select (not yet implemented)
5 - AM/FM select (not yet implemented)

SHIFT-SCAN/FAV is the "ALL OFF" macro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central