JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Panasonic VCR codes are "off"

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zapdog



Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:40 pm    Post subject: Panasonic VCR codes are "off" Reply with quote

When I try and set up for my Panasonic PV7664 VCR, the codes I'm using appear to be be "off" in function. For example when I press "3" button, the number "5" is selected. When I press "8" I get a power toggle.

I've used both KM and RM to generate the files, to the same effect. I have got numerous other devices working without problems. For this VCR I got the codes form Devices4.xls for VCR-1162. That code mostly works correctly when I use that instead of a custom upgrade on the remote. One wrinkle - The Devices4.xls gives hex codes. I converted these to EFCs using various other CCF files etc as a guideline. Sometimes the least sig nibble of the LSB is different between the origianl hex and the EFC translated hex.

Am I missing somehing obvious here?

Thanks,
gny

Particulars:
Remote: URC-9660
Protocol: Panasonic VCR Combo
Device: 144
Subdevice: 0

Some example codes (from RM):
Func EFC Dev SubDev OBC Hex
Num 5 116 144 0 20 d7 00
Num 6 120 144 0 21 57 00
Num 7 118 144 0 22 97 00
Num 8 122 144 0 23 17 00
Num 9 245 144 0 24 e7 00
Ch up 148 144 0 52 d3 00
Ch dwn 152 144 0 53 53 00
Pwr Tog 024 144 0 61 43 00
_________________
________
ZapDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Panasonic VCR codes are "off" Reply with quote

zapdog wrote:
When I try and set up for my Panasonic PV7664 VCR, the codes I'm using appear to be be "off" in function. For example when I press "3" button, the number "5" is selected. When I press "8" I get a power toggle.


This indicates that our software thinks the protocol uses 2 byte hex commands, while the remote thinks the protocol uses 1 byte hex commands. Of course you are talking about a combo protocol which DOES use 2 byte hex commands.

Check to find out exactly what protocol upgrades you have in your eeprom image. Maybe you have a bad copy of one in there.

Post a copy of the device upgrade and protocol upgrade you're using that gives this odd behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
zapdog



Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was originally going to attach the files to the post, but I don't see any obvious way to do this.

BTW: Would you prefer KM ot RM files?

Thanks
zapdog
_________________
________
ZapDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zapdog



Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 7:31 pm    Post subject: KM file used for the upgrade Reply with quote

Name:,Panasonic VCR on Kameleon,,,,v8.06,,,,,,,CURRENT DATA
Devices:,Panasonic VCR Combo,144,0,,,,,,,,,
Manual:,,0 = 1-byte,LSB-COMP,88,NO,,,,,,,
Setup:,2023,99 = URC-9960 (OFA Kameleon),03 - VCR,EFC,USE,,,,,,,
URC-9960 (OFA Kameleon) Device Upgrade Code:,,,,,,,,,,,,
Upgrade Code 0 = 27 E7 (VCR/2023),,,,,,,,,,,,
1F 00 BE FE FE E1 BF FB F6 FF 67 00 F7 00 77 00 B7 00 37 00 D7 00 57 00 97 00 17 00 E7 00 D3 00 53 00 43 00 AF 00 FF 00 BF 00 3F 00 9F 00 EF 00 95 00 AF 00 FF 00 BF 00 3F 00 58 00 95 00 73 00 7F 00 58 00 46 00 FC 00 D5 00 50 00,,,,,,,,,,,,
End,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
Protocol Code:,,,,,,,,,,,,
Upgrade Protocol 0 = 00 1F (S3C8+),,,,,,,,,,,,
45 91 42 8B 12 8F 45 08 08 00 DA 00 C6 00 DA 02 7B 90 C9 06 D0 03 54 08 08 37 0E 06 18 05 77 17 19 05 37 0C 06 18 06 77 1E 19 06 08 05 54 06 C0 60 C0 B4 07 C0 09 08 8D 01 46,,,,,,,,,,,,
End,,,,,,,,,,,,
Key Move Code:,,,214,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
fFunctions,fEFC,fByte2,bButtons,bFunctions,fNotes,Device Combiner,,kFunctions,kBoundDev,kBoundKey,kShift,b$Functions
Num 0,249,,0,00 - num 0,,Protocol ID,Fixed Data,,,,,
Num 1,117,,1,01 - num 1,,,,,,,,
Num 2,121,,2,02 - num 2,,,,,,,,
Num 3,119,,3,03 - num 3,,,,,,,,
Num 4,123,,4,04 - num 4,,,,,,,,
Num 5,116,,5,05 - num 5,,,,,,,,
Num 6,120,,6,06 - num 6,,,,,,,,
Num 7,118,,7,07 - num 7,,,,,,,,
Num 8,122,,8,08 - num 8,,,,,,,,
Num 9,245,,9,09 - num 9,,,,,,,,
Vol up,,,vol up,,,,,,,,,
Vol down,,,vol down,,,,,,,,,
Channel up,148,,mute,,,,,,,,,
Channel down,152,,channel up,10 - channel up,,,,,,,,
Power Toggle,024,,channel down,11 - channel down,,,,,,,,
TV / VCR,150,,power,12 - Power Toggle,,,,,,,,
Last (prev ch),000,,enter,21 - Display / Enter,,,,,,,,
Menu,102,,input,28 - Input,,,,,,,,
Program,185,,last,14 - last (prev ch),,,,,,,,
Arrow - up,055,,menu,15 - menu,,,,,,,,
Arrow - down,181,,guide,16 - Program,,,,,,,,
Arrow - left,183,,up arrow,17 - Arrow - up,,,,,,,,
Arrow - right,187,,down arrow,18 - Arrow - down,,,,,,,,
Display / Enter,208,,left arrow,19 - Arrow - left,,,,,,,,
Transport - Play,055,,right arrow,20 - Arrow - right,,,,,,,,
Transport - Pause,182,,ok,40 - Exit - Learned,,,,,,,,
Transport - Rewind / Search,183,,sleep,,,,,,,,,
Transport - Fast fwd / Search,187,,pip on/off,,,,,,,,,
Transport - stop,181,,info,21 - Display / Enter,,,,,,,,
Transport - record,053,,pip swap,,,,,,,,,
Input,173,,pip move,,,,,,,,,
+100,208,,play,22 - Transport - Play,,,,,,,,
Slow,058,,pause,23 - Transport - Pause,,,,,,,,
Transport - eject,,,rewind,24 - Transport - Rewind / Search,,,,,,,,
Slow+,,,fast fwd,25 - Transport - Fast fwd / Search,,,,,,,,
Slow-,,,stop,26 - Transport - stop,,,,,,,,
Commercial Adv / Zero Search,,,record,27 - Transport - record,,,,,,,,
SAP / Hifi,206,,exit,35 - Add / Delete,,,,,,,,
Speed,055,,surround,,,,,,,,,
Counter Reset,100,,input.,,,,,Add / Delete,,,,
Index,165,,+100,,,,,,,,,
Add / Delete,153,,fav/scan,,,,,,,,,
Shuttle - Slow Fwd,,,device button,,,,,,,,,
Shuttle - Fast,,,skip fwd,38 - 60 Second Skip,,,,,,,,
Tracking+,148,,skip back,33 - Counter Reset,,,,,,,,
Tracking-,152,,live TV,,,,,,,,,
60 Second Skip,144,,replay,,,,,Add / Delete,,,,
Add / Delete,153,,pip freeze,,,,,,,,,
Exit - Learned,102,,slow,,,,,,,,,
,,,eject,,,,,,,,,
,,,slow+,,,,,,,,,
,,,slow-,,,,,,,,,
,,,x2,,,,,,,,,
,,,center,,,,,,,,,
,,,rear,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom1,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom2,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom3,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom4,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom5,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom6,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom7,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom8,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom9,,,,,,,,,
,,,phantom10,,,,,,,,,
,,,setup,,,,,,,,,
,,,light,,,,,,,,,
,,,Home Theater,,,,,,,,,
,,,Macro 1,,,,,,,,,
,,,Macro 2,,,,,,,,,
,,,Macro 3,,,,,,,,,
,,,Macro 4,,,,,,,,,
,,,learn1,,,,,,,,,
,,,learn2,,,,,,,,,
,,,learn3,,,,,,,,,
,,,learn4,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Line Notes:,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,EOF Marker - DO NOT DELETE,
_________________
________
ZapDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zapdog wrote:
I was originally going to attach the files to the post, but I don't see any obvious way to do this.

There isn't a way to attach files in the forum. Normally, we like to have the files uploaded to the Diagnosis Area. However, using KM's Import feature, I can load the file from your post above. Wink

I copied and pasted it into IR and everything appears to line up correctly on the Devices tab (i.e. the hex codes on KM's Functions sheet match the corresponding entries on the buttons in IR's Devices tab Key Map window.

Can you confirm that the same is true on your end?
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess I asked unclearly, but I was looking for just the small chunks of text that you copy from KM (or RM) to IR. Those are of course included in that full KM file above. At first glance they look right to me and I assume Mark checked a little more than first glance.

What about the contents on the protocols tab in IR? Did you remember to copy the above protocol upgrade from KM to IR? What other protocol upgrades were already there? Maybe it's best to post a saved file from IR to the diagnosis folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnsfine wrote:
At first glance they look right to me and I assume Mark checked a little more than first glance.

I might have given it 2 glances! Wink Actually, I just did the copy & paste into IR and checked that the codes were assigned to the correct buttons.

Quote:
Did you remember to copy the above protocol upgrade from KM to IR?

A protocol upgrade isn't required with this device upgrade.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
zapdog



Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 8:30 am    Post subject: File posted to Yahoo JP1 diagnosis area Reply with quote

I posted the file named: urc9962_2003-12-30_a.txt.

This contains 4 device upgrades, one of which required a protocol to be added (I think the "AUDIO" off hand).

I looked a the Devices tab of IR, and the EFCs for the VCR all list "* (use hex)" after the EFC code. The EFC codes themselves appear correct, as does the hex code.

I'll mention this again - the hex codes don't match the ones in Devices4.xls exactly. For example Menu = 95 40 there, but in the IR program and the KM it is "95 00". This is true for about 10 or so keys.

Thanks for your efforts on this!
_________________
________
ZapDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paste this protocol code into IR's Protocols tab and see if the VCR upgrade works correctly.

Upgrade Protocol 0 = 00 1F (S3C8+)
45 91 42 8B 12 8F 45 08 08 00 DA 00 C6 00 DA 02
7B 90 C9 06 D0 03 54 08 08 37 0E 06 18 05 77 17
19 05 37 0C 06 18 06 77 1E 19 06 08 05 54 06 C0
60 C0 B4 07 C0 09 08 8D 01 46
End
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 8:44 am    Post subject: Re: File posted to Yahoo JP1 diagnosis area Reply with quote

zapdog wrote:
I'll mention this again - the hex codes don't match the ones in Devices4.xls exactly. For example Menu = 95 40 there, but in the IR program and the KM it is "95 00". This is true for about 10 or so keys.

In addition to the protocol code above, on those functions that devices4 shows as "xx 40", set the byte2 in KM to "2", and then recopy the upgrade code to IR.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
zapdog



Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 10:51 am    Post subject: No time today Reply with quote

Party here - I will try your stuff tonight or tomorrow. Thanks!!!!

Q: If the hex nibble is 4, why enter 2?
_________________
________
ZapDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 12:14 pm    Post subject: Re: No time today Reply with quote

zapdog wrote:
If the hex nibble is 4, why enter 2?

Those signals are actually using Device/Sub-Device 144.1, while the others use 144.0. The byte2 rules for Panasonic VCR Combo in KM are "Set 'byte2' = '0' for 144.0, '1' for 128.0, '2' for 144.1, '3' for 128.1", which is why you need to use "2".

In RM, you actually specify the Device and Sub-Device on the Functions tab, in which case you enter "144" as the Device, and "0" or "1" as appropriate for the Sub-Device.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central