JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Slingbox Pro - Emerson AV switch and 3 series 1 TIVO's
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jeffjohnson14

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 10:42 am    Post subject: Slingbox Pro - Emerson AV switch and 3 series 1 TIVO's Reply with quote

Background info:
I'm a Software Engineer that works on embedded electronic scales.
I just purchased a SlingBox Pro with a SN: A207030xxxx
I have 3 series1 TIVO's running through an Emerson AV switch to my TV.
I connected the SlingBox between the AV switch and the TV.
I have configured the SlingBox to control TIVO1. Everything works for that TIVO.

After reading stuff in this forum, I came to the conclusion that I should be able to create my own profile for the SlingBox to control everything. So I purchased a Y-cable and connected a couple TIVO IR thingies (sorry for the tech terms) and have placed them in front of each TIVO and the Switch. I can still control TIVO1, so I know the IR thingies are working.

I purchased an "One for All URC 8910 Universal Remote Control", and a USB JP1 cable.
I connected the remote to my computer and made sure that IR.exe could read and write to the remote.
Everything seems good so far.

Real Question:
I would like to create 1 remote profile that includes the TIVO series 1 unit codes 1 2 and 3 and the Emerson Switch codes.
I can learn the Emerson switch codes, no problem.
But can I make a remote skin that looks like 3 TIVO remotes in one?
I really don't want to have to run the setup wizard every time I switch TIVO's.
Is my SlingBox PRO a JU or PL? it just says 2 in the configuration.

Does all this seem possible or am I just wasting my time?

Thanks for the help in advance.
The Robman
Site Owner