JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Can you use an USB-UIRT?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
blue remote

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 6:23 pm    Post subject: Can you use an USB-UIRT? Reply with quote

Hello . . .

I'm just learning. I used my #9910 to learn from my GPX DVD original remote and then built a RM upgrade from the learned keys.

I have a USB-UIRT. I was wondering if i can use it to learn instead of using my remote? That would seem to be easier then learning groups of keys into my remote.

Using the IRLearn program I get a code that says it is in Proto Format.

Can I use this to build a RM upgrade or is there some better way of using the USB-UIRT to learn codes to build an upgrade?

Thanks!

rb

Thanks!
johnsfine
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Can you use an USB-UIRT? Reply with quote

blue remote wrote:
Using the IRLearn program I get a code that says it is in Proto Format.

Pronto Hex is good. I don't know any better way to use a USB UIRT for JP1 (I didn't know there was a way to get Pronto Hex).

Get The JP1 version of IrTool.exe and get DecodeIR.dll

www.remotecentral.com/.../IRTool-Mod.zip
http://john.fine.home.comcast.net/ir/Decode_IR_DLL.zip

You can paste Pronto Hex into IrTool and press Decode to get a JP1 compatible decode from DecodeIr.dll in a pop up window.
blue remote

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! That seems to be what I was looking for.

From the little bit I have tried, that should fe easier then all the learning keys in groups. Now I can just get the code and convert it as I go. I should end up with less confusion since I can do each key as I capture it.

Thanks again!

br

Thanks!
chelli1501
Exile Island Resident