JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Newbie Question

View previous topic :: View next topic  
bledsoeo

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:02 pm    Post subject: Newbie Question Reply with quote

I am just getting started on setting up a new code for a Scientific Atlanta set top box.

I know that the Slingbox already has a very complete library of codes for these, but I was looking to add a new code that lets you remotely display the diagnostic screens.

The problem is that I will need to record a remote code that:

1) holds down one key for 14 seconds and then
2) presses a second key

Before I buy the programmable remote, etc. can someone tell me if the procedures listed in the top of this forum will work for very long codes like I would like to use?
johnsfine
Site Admin

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By a "programmable remote" I think you mean a regular JP1 remote, such as the 8910.

That can be helpful in other Slingbox projects, when you don't know what signal you want to send. Then the JP1 remote is a useful tool to help you find out.

But for what you describe, a JP1 remote wouldn't help. I've never heard of a Scientific Atlanta signal that needs to be held for a long time. But I'll assume you know what you're talking about. We certainly know (in detail) what Scientific Atlanta signals look like and what they would look like if held for 14 seconds. There are no unknowns regarding the signal for which you would want another remote to investigate.

I don't know enough about Slingboxes to say how hard it would be to make one generate the signal you want. But having a JP1 remote wouldn't make it any easier.
The Robman
Site Owner

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnsfine wrote: