JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Weird 7800 extender latchup

View previous topic :: View next topic  
johnbrit2007

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 7:54 am    Post subject: Weird 7800 extender latchup Reply with quote

I have been using 7800 Extender (RDF C7L0X7L0) for several years. It's just started latching up occasionally when a device key is pressed (there are macros on all the device keys). When it latches up, the red LED stays on. Sometimes you can get out by hitting other non-device keys but often I have to take a battery out. I know that it's not the remote as it is doing the same thing on two 7800's.

Has anybody ever experienced this and does anyone have a possible solution?

Also, does anyone have any 7800's for sale?

Thanks
John Williams
floyd1977

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it an intermittent problem, or does it happen every time you press a certain device key? Often, locking up with the red LED staying on is a sign that you have an infinite loop in a macro (i.e. a macro calling itself). I think this problem can also happen if you attempt to use a device code that is not stored in the remote. From your description, it sounds like you may have been using the same remote setup for quite a while now, so my advice probably isn't too helpful, but these are the only two possible causes I can think of.
vickyg2003
Site Admin

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I first started using extenders on my old 7800's, I had this kind of problem. It turns out the batteries were loose. A small piece of foam placed under the battery cover, solved my problems. Loose batteries can really cause problems with extenders.