JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Need discrete on/off power codes for Cyberhome CH-300 DVD
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
digitize



Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:46 am    Post subject: Need discrete on/off power codes for Cyberhome CH-300 DVD Reply with quote

Has anyone figured out what the discrete power codes are for the Cyberhome Ch-300 DVD?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you already have 22 posts, one cannot consider you a novice to this forum, so it's not unreasonable to expect you to comply with the protocol (in the diplomatic sense, not in the remote-programming sense) of this forum.

PLEASE read the Number 1 Code Search FAQ (and its answer) sticky post at the top of this section of the forum and comply.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
digitize



Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoops! Some how I missed the FAQ section. I did do numerous seaches and came up empty handed and thus my post.

Here is the information requested,

1. Device: Cyberhome CH-300
2. Type of device: DVD player
3. Year: 2005
4. JP1 Remote model: 8810w
5. JP1 user? Yes
6. Still have original remote? Yes
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? Yes
10. Learning remote question? No
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3011
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

digitize wrote:
9. Partially working setup code? Yes
What is the setup code that works? Have you checked the Advanced Code listings to see if there's any info there?
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

digitize wrote:
4. JP1 Remote model: 8810w
5. JP1 user? Yes
6. Still have original remote? Yes

10. Learning remote question? No

ERROR! ERROR! ERROR! Very Happy
THIS DOES NOT COMPUTE!

The 8810w IS most definitely a learning remote. Why are you unable to simply learn and decode the fundtions you need?

Is there another complicating factor preventing you from doing this??

In the time it takes to go back and forth three or four posts in this forum, you could easily have learned the functions and built an upgrade. Wink
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
digitize



Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could not find the code so I learned all the functions/buttons and did a KM customized code and placed it into IR and finally into the 8810. The remote did not have the discrete on/off keys so I could not learn them.

I would like to build a macro but without the discrete power codes it will be ineffective.

I know that sometimes the discrete codes for power on/off my not be on the remote but they exist and I was wondering if anyone knew the discrete codes. For example the ReplayTV remote does not have the discrete power codes but the codes do exist and work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whompus



Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 540

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I remember right I think its based on the 0698 code. You may need to use toad to act as the functions you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
underquark
Expert


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 869
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
The 8810w IS most definitely a learning remote. Why are you unable to simply learn and decode the fundtions you need?

Looking for discrete power codes, here, and they aren't often on the original remotes. I agree, however, that it would help if we knew the partially-working setup code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3011
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

digitize wrote:
I could not find the code so I learned all the functions/buttons and did a KM customized code and placed it into IR and finally into the 8810.
What are the protocol details (protocol name, device number(s), sub-device number(s))?
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
whompus



Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 540

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow.. We all hit this thread at about same time it seems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3011
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whompus wrote:
its based on the 0698 code
That appears to be correct based on the upgrades available in the file section. There are no known discrete power commands for 0698 that I'm aware of. Use of ToadTog or perhaps some advanced macros might be the only option.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears your only option is to conduct a manual code search. Look at your KM/RM file and see what OBCs are used. Test the unused ones. Normally you'd start with obvious "gaps" in OBC utilization, but anything not used from 000 to 255 is fair game.

DISCLAIMER: Some equipments, notably several brands of TVs, and some Pioneer LD players have demonstrated the ability to become completely disabled by the activation of an undesired "reset" code of one sort or another, so the chances you take are ... uhhh... YOURS to take.

Personally, I think the chances of stumbling upon such a code would be minimal in this case, but I make no guarantees. I have searched through unused OBCs on most of my equipment, including TVs and DVD players, with no ill effects.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
digitize



Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all your responses. Here is some additional information:
Protocol Name: NEC1
Main Device: 114
Sub Device: 205

I looked over the 0698 code to see if it matches the keys that I learned and it did not.

I know for certain DVD players monkeying around doing a manual code search could damage or change the configuration permanently so would prefer not to go down that path.

The ToadTog approach might be the way to go....I have never tried this before so it would be a learning experience for me Razz .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zaphod7501



Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 528
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the machine and did not find any discrete on/off codes with my searches. (there are several upgrades in the file section for the Ch-300D, no need to learn, unless I'm missing something).

I use "play" as a discrete "on" function in my macros.

"Stop" would work eventually as an "off" function since the machine goes into screensaver then powers itself off after a period of time if it is not actively playing a disk.
_________________
Just call me Zaphod (or Steve) --- I never should have started using numbers in a screen name but I just can't stop now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
underquark
Expert


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 869
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the 0698 was a guess. Dev 114, Sub 205 exists in the following (and probably other) codes:
0698, 0714, 0816, 1019, 1023, 1117


The OBCs are likely to be all over the place with no discernable pattern to them.


TOADTog would work but bear in mind that the remote will only know what commands have been sent and what state the device ought to be in and not whther it has actually been put into a particular state nor whether any other macros etc. have been run that change it.


If it were me, I'd weigh up carefully how important it is to have discrete codes. I'd then consider using pseudo-discrete codes i.e. macros that send, for instance, PLAY-STOP (for a discrete on) or STOP-PLAY-STOP-POWER (for a discrete off).


If I really, really needed those discrete codes then I'd manually try every code bearing in mind that any "dangerous" ones are usually pretty high up numerically, that DVD players aren't as bad as audio or TV equipment for being screwed by a single code and that warranties are there for a reason (if the manufacturers don't want you to use a universal remote they should say so or tell you which codes to avoid).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central