JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Increase Key Duration on URC-8090 "Producer 8"

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
albtross



Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:37 am    Post subject: Increase Key Duration on URC-8090 "Producer 8" Reply with quote

I'm having trouble getting the URC-8090 to work properly with my Dish Network receiver, I have to hold down the keys for an extened period to get the receiver to recognize the key press. It appears that a combiner would be the answer to my problem, but since the 8090 uses the 740 processor I may be out of luck. Is there any way to increase the duration on a 8090?

Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nils_Ekberg
Expert


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 1689
Location: Near Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are a number of dish network upgrades in the jp1 device codes area ==>> Device upgrades that may help you. See if you have any luck with them and if not provide a little more information such as the model of the receiver and maybe some learned codes from the original remote.
_________________
Nils
Files Section
Diagnosis File Section
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
albtross



Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

It's a Dish Network 500 receiver. And I am using the device files for the 775. The functions work fine, I just have to hold down the key a little longer than I would like. From reading other post, it appeart that I need to increase the duration, but I'm not sure if this can be done with the 8090.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18309
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopefully Jason or MikeE will take a look at this, because it shouldn't be too hard to create a version of the Displayer Old protocol that has a higher number of minimum repeats.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!


Last edited by The Robman on Wed Nov 26, 2003 10:20 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gjarboni
Expert


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Columbia, MD

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Hopefully Jason of MikeE will take a look at this, because it shouldn't be too hard to create a version of the Displayer Old protocol that has a higher number of minimum repeats.


I'm assuming Rob meant "Jason or MikeE" as I'm from Maryland Smile Anyway, give this a shot:

06 0D 11 80 0E B0 72 17 08 07 03 19 04 9A 02 46
17 08 EC 44 5D 22 00 22 00 22 00 22 00 22 00 22
00 22 00 4C 00 FF

Fill in 0002 in the protocol box. This sends the signal eight times every time you press the button.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
albtross



Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, that seems to do the trick. Is there a way to tweek the number of repeats, if I start having problems.

While I have you attention. I've run into another problem, I that I thought I could solve with pauses between my commands. I'm using a Mitsubushi TV 0150. It works fine when I tune channels manually. But I've entered some commands into macros and am getting strange things. With "TV;0;1;9;Enter", the TV only receives the "1" and "9", with the Macro for "TV;0;5;4;Enter", the TV receives the "5". Could this be a duration problem as well?

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gjarboni
Expert


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Columbia, MD

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

albtross wrote:
Thanks, that seems to do the trick. Is there a way to tweek the number of repeats, if I start having problems.
Thanks again.


Take a look at the protocol code. Do you see all of the 22 00's:

06 0D 11 80 0E B0 72 17 08 07 03 19 04 9A 02 46
17 08 EC 44 5D 22 00 22 00 22 00 22 00 22 00 22
00 22 00
4C 00 FF

There are seven of them. This sends the signal seven times. The code at the end (4C 00 FF). Sends the signal and exits. If you want to add more repeats, add 22 00's before the 4C 00 FF. If you want fewer repeats, remove 22 00's.

albtross wrote:
While I have you attention. I've run into another problem, I that I thought I could solve with pauses between my commands. I'm using a Mitsubushi TV 0150. It works fine when I tune channels manually. But I've entered some commands into macros and am getting strange things. With "TV;0;1;9;Enter", the TV only receives the "1" and "9", with the Macro for "TV;0;5;4;Enter", the TV receives the "5". Could this be a duration problem as well?


All the OFA remotes I've seen add one second (approx). between signals in a Macro. It's weird that your 8090 a) doesn't do that or b) that isn't enough. But if this truly is the case, you can try the pause protocol in the yahoo groups file section (under special protocols). It allows you to create a keymove that adds a delay (the EFC of the keymove specifies the length of the delay so you can tweak it).

If delay isn't the problem, then it must have something to do with the protocol. I know next to nothing about the Mitsubishi protocol, but I'm sure if it's an issue a protocol expert could chime in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
albtross



Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again for your help.

I have tried adding delay, using the methods posted in the Yahoo groups. Assuming that I did this correctly, it did not have any affect. I believe that I need to increase the duration/repeat rate for these keys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gjarboni
Expert


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Columbia, MD

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

albtross,

Give this a try. It works the same as the dish protocol

Upgrade Protocol 0 = 00 14 (P8/740)
10 1D 11 80 0C E0 A2 01 0A 08 08 02 1F 03 B7 34
7B 3C 02 83 22 00 22 00 22 00 22 00 22 00 22 00
22 00 22 00 4C 00 FF
End

You probably don't want to hear this, but there's probably a part going bad in your remote. I'm guessing that the signals are coming out too weak or noise is getting in and that's why you need them to be sent multiple times. Probably nothing you could do anything about short of taking the remote apart and replacing components -- just keep in mind that you might have to replace it soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
albtross



Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect, works like a charm.

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central