JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

converting infocus discrete hex to efc

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ezwrighter



Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 5:25 pm    Post subject: converting infocus discrete hex to efc Reply with quote

I could not find a tool or instructions on how to convert a discrete hex function to something resembling an efc that I could enter into KM.

here is the link to the discrete code:

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/files/rcfiles.cgi?area=prontong&db=discrete&br=infocus&dv=projector&fc=

Or

Here is the ON code:

0000 006d 0022 0000 0156 00ab 0016 0060 0016 0060 0016 0060 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0060 0016 0016 0016 0060 0016 0060 0016 0060 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0060 0016 0016 0016 0060 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0060 0016 0060 0016 0060 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0060 0016 0060 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0060 0016 0060 0016 0593

I would like to be able to do this myself in the future if someone could point me in the right direction.

I am hopeing this code will work for my X1 Confused

Thanks,

Eric Zimmerman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You use a program called irtool.exe together with decodeir.dll to decode signals in that form (Pronto hex).

That one is NEC protocol (not complete enough to know if it's NEC1 or NEC2) device 135, subdevice 78, command 57.

If you have a compatible setup code that's EFC 025. If you're building a new setup code in KM it's slightly less confusing to switch KM to use command numbers (OBC) rather than EFC, because most descriptions of related commands in threads at RemoteCentral use command numbers (EFC is only for UEI remotes. Command numbers are meaningful across many different universal remote systems).

The IrTool.exe at remoteCentral doesn't have current decoders. You need the one from the Yahoo JP1 group.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ezwrighter



Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok....I am still missing something.

When I use the current IR Tool v1.2 and decode the ON discrete code, it produces the following information:

-------------------------------------------------
Device: Kenwood/Yamaha 0 0016 0016
Carrier: 006d 1 0016 0060

One Time:
Device: 20103 Command: 58
Lead In: 0156 00ab Lead Out: 0016 0593
-------------------------------------------------

It seems that the commands match up for the code you provided....but how did you get the protocol and devices out of that information? I don't see anything similar in the decoded information I have here.

EDIT: This is actually the output for the discrete ON code and the hex I provided in my first post was for the off code (57).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jon_armstrong
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1238
Location: R.I.P. 3/25/2005

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like you didn't install DecodeIR.dll in the windows\system directory. But it actually decodes it correctly. 78*256+135=20103. Without the dll, the old program sees the device/sub-device combination as a 16-bit number and converts to decimal.

BTW, there are already two device upgrades for the InFocus projectors in the JP1 Yahoo group files. The Generic already had the discrete power commands and there is one for the X-1 that doesn't have them listed, so perhaps they don't work on that model. It can't hurt to try.
_________________
-Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ezwrighter



Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow...thats embarassing as all get out! I thought I had dropped that dll into the current directory with irtool. When I went back to triple check....it was not there. Embarassed

Thanks again for your guidance,

Eric Zimmerman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central