JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

"One For All" mail in upgrade phone # and address
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18551
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:27 pm    Post subject: "One For All" mail in upgrade phone # and address Reply with quote

If you need to mail in a remote to OFA to have an upgrade added, you need to call first to tell them what codes you're looking for. They will then give you a tag number and tell you what address to mail the remote to. They do not charge for this service and they even pay for the return postage.

The upgrade phone numbers are: (800) 315 0990 and (330) 405 8626
(Note: they only support newer remotes now, ie, URC-8820 and newer)

Customer Support email address: OFAsupport2@UEIC.COM

The mail-in address is:

OFA Upgrade
3645 Trust Dr
Raleigh, NC
27616

Just for reference, here's the old phone and address...
Quote:
The upgrade phone number is: 800-252-6123
The upgrade phone number is: (330) 405 8616

The mail-in address is:

"One For All"
1864 Enterprise Parkway
Twinsburg, OH 44087
Attn: Upgrade Dept

You can also use this number to get modem upgrades for remotes like the URC-8910, etc. Just remember to call from a non-digital, non-cordless landline phone.

The office hours are 9:00am to 5:30pm Eastern.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!


Last edited by The Robman on Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:48 am; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 692

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UEI is running out of pre-modified remotes, if your remote doesn't have pins, like 6011, 6131 and alike, they will offer you a urc-8820 instead.
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18551
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wondered when that would happen. Do you know if they have pre-mod URC-6131n remotes available?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 692

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I don't.
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whompus



Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 540

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They must still have the 6131n.

My neighbor just called for upgrade 2 days ago and they had him send it in. He didn't get told it would come back as 8820.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrAzYodaz



Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

urm --- what should I do?

i just bought a 8910 cause i did not want to send in my 6131 and be down a few weeks

i was going to just return the 6131 to walmart and get my $10 back

the 6131 has spot for jp1 but no pins.... and i have been approved for upgrade free of cost.

how many ppl here sent in a 6131 and got a 8820 back?

hurm -- i am thinking to take a chance and send in the 6131

i just thought they would add the jp1 pins to the jp1 layout on board and then reduce memory in the remote??

what should i do??

thanks in advance
_________________
----------------------------

Arrow Before JP1, the remote controlled everything
........................ NOW JP1 GIVES YOU THE CONTROL BACK!!

---------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CrAzYodaz wrote:

i just thought they would add the jp1 pins to the jp1 layout on board and then reduce memory in the remote??


Adding JP1 parts to an existing remote is too labor intensive for a big company.

So far as we know, some number of remotes were originally manufactured with JP1 parts and kept for upgrades. When they go one in for upgrade, they discarded it (again, so far as we know) and replaced it with one that was originally built with JP1.

They must have planned on a very small fraction of total sales being sent back for upgrade, because the choice to leave out the JP1 parts from normal remotes saves only a fraction of what replacing a remote sent for upgrade costs. It couldn't make any sense if even 5% of remotes were ever sent in for upgrade.

But what did you mean by "reduce memory" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18551
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What should you do? Well, that depends on what you would like to happen.

I can guarantee you that they won't solder in the parts to the remote that you send in. When the remote that gets sent in is not upgradeable (ie, like your 6131, it's missing the parts), they trash the remote and replace it with another of "equal or greater value". When they produce remotes like the URC-6131 that are missing the upgrade parts, they also ask the factory to produce a limited number of "service remotes" that do have the necessary parts. They then use these service remotes to replace the remotes that they trash.

As the older version of the 6131 is now discontinued, they would need to replace it with a different model. I would have thought that they'd replace it with a URC-6131N service remote, but it sounds like they are using the URC-8820 instead. So, if that's what you'd like to happen, send it in and try your luck. The original remote only cost you $10, so it's not exactly a big gamble.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CrAzYodaz



Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for reply -- i will send my 6131 back in and prolly ebay the 8820 if i get it --- the 8910 is the workhorse for me and my needs.

thanks for the info

i wish i could remember the site i saw that at.... i tried researching history and google it a bit...

but from what that webpage said..... any AllForOne remote accepted back would get the mods then the 2k mem would be replaced with 1k memory.

dang i wish i remembered that site i read it from -- heck i dont even know what memory the 6131 has

prolly just a rumor...... i dont know Rolling Eyes

again...... thanks for reply..... i will call OFA now and put a RMA on my 6131 and when i get it back i will reply to this thread to let you know what i got

if I get a 6131 back --- then the conspiracy theory contues Laughing

no --- if i get 6131 back with new codes i will simply return it to walmart and get my $10 back ---- if i get a 8820 --- i will ebay it Smile

thanks again for reply

***** NO NEED to reply again on my issue of 6131n --- its in RMA -- will reply myself when i get back in mail whatever i get back to let you all know..... prolly 3-4 weeks from today Sad

*** Update 2/24/06 -- called OFA and RMA all good -- told them the 6131 would go to kids room -- i said that cause i needed modem upgrades for 8910 --- very good company -- my air conditioner even works off 8910 remote now

again will reply to post when get 6131 back in mail
_________________
----------------------------

Arrow Before JP1, the remote controlled everything
........................ NOW JP1 GIVES YOU THE CONTROL BACK!!

---------------------------


Last edited by CrAzYodaz on Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18551
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You would have read it here, most likely.

The URC-6131 doesn't have ANY memory (and memory = EEPROM chip).

The URC-6131 "service remotes" usually have a 1k memory chip installed.

The modified URC-6131 remotes that I sell have a 2k chip installed.

In the unlikely event that you do get a modified URC-6131 back, you'd be crazy to return it to Walmart and just get $10 for it. This is a very popular JP1 remote, I sell the JP1 modified version of it for $25.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
whompus



Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 540

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you say 6131 from walmart I am pretty sure you are talking about the 6131nw right? If so they are still shipping back 6131nw in there place. Or where last month. I will know in a few days if still are 6131nw.

For anyone that wants 6131 either version to be jp1 able. I would recommend talking to Robman. That way you get 2 k instead of 1 k eeprom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whompus



Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 540

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As of today they are still shipping back 6131nw models.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gregnash



Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 47
Location: Carson Ciy, NV

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone recently sent in a 6131n to have it upgraded? And if so did you get your 6131n back or an 8810 instead?
_________________
Treat everyday like a dog:
If you can't eat it or hump it...
Piss on it and walk away
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18551
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last I heard they were sending URC-6820's back instead, which is a JP1.2 remote.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gregnash



Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 47
Location: Carson Ciy, NV

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Last I heard they were sending URC-6820's back instead, which is a JP1.2 remote.


Thanks Robman. I will have to take a look at it seems there are buttons missing and these would be used to control my PVR as well. Have one 6131n for my main setup that is acting funny, like it is getting ready to die on me and I cant seem to find these remotes anywhere locally so debating on purchasing 2 through amazon or if I should find something else that is JP1.2/3 and live with those.
_________________
Treat everyday like a dog:
If you can't eat it or hump it...
Piss on it and walk away
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central