JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

URC8780 Dead
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
pro_tron

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 7:33 pm    Post subject: URC8780 Dead Reply with quote

Hey I am a newbie to this forum. I just found out about JP1 and am looking forward to getting into it. I have three OFA remotes Cinema 7 URC9800 and URC8780. The 8780 is not working at this time. When I put batteries in it the LED blinks twice then all is dead no lcd or anything. I got this remote from someone who never used it. They put batteries in it then did not like it, or could not figure it out. Anyway by the time they gave it to me the batteries had leaked. I cleaned it up real good and all looks normal except for a little corrosion on the + contact. I have connected it to a 6VDC power supply directly to the board and it does the same thing, LED blinks then nothing. I have an IR repeater system in my home that blinks when it picks up ANY IR, I tried some of the buttons on that so I know it is not putting anything out. Can this remote be saved or should it be replaced.
jamesgammel
Exile Island Resident

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried a 981 type reset on it?

Jim
pro_tron

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To perform this reset do you just hold the setup key and enter 981. When I hold the setup key the led does not blink but I did try to enter 981 with no results.
jamesgammel
Exile Island Resident

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote