JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Newbie and 8080 vs extender
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sikk



Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 16

                    
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jason,

Sorry for the huge gap in time before I got back to you on this. I finally put some time aside to focus on this.

This is what I have done so far.

1. Loaded up the URC8080-B01 RDF that came in the 1.22 RDF distribution.

2. Loaded my device upgrades and protocol ugrades.

3. Tested the remote. Worked great.

4. Added the extender protocol you posted in this thread.

5. Added the 2001 device upgrade and appropriate keymap to load it.

6. I tested that the extender appeared to be loaded (AM/PM lit). This worked. One thing I did notice was that sometimes the AM/PM LCD did not update until I pressed another key after the keymove to activate the extender.

7. I then tested that the remote still did what I expected and pretty much it did. Except that it seemed to send all the normal commands for devices TWICE. Macros it only seems to perform once. To explain, if I am using my TiVo, when I press the "up" button in a menu, the slection moves up two places. It also seems to send an IR code once a minute. It seems to be "play". I noticed this because my TiVo pops up a particular screen if play is pushed while watching a show. This screen popped up approximately once every minute.

8. I then uploaded a macro associated wih a device key. It does work but not in quite the way I expected.
This is the macro I used:
CBL=Pushdev,Virtual_AMP,INPUT1,popdev
The macro seems to work, but the LCD state does not update until another key is pressed. To explain further, if I have the remote in SAT mode, then push the CBL macro, the macro switches to AMP/TUNER and sends the correct code. The macro then tries to switch back to SAT, but leaves the LCD showing AMP/TUNER. If you then press another key (like 0 for example) the LCD display updates with the correct mode.

9. I then added the following macro to a key I could not ordinarily add a macro to as follows:
{light}=Virtual_AMP,INPUT1,Virtual_SAT
This macro worked too! The LCD screen also behaved the same way as with the earlier macro.

10. I couldn't try LightOn/LightOff as I couldn't find them in the macro command list. Maybe the RDF needs updating?

11. I haven't tried a keymove yet.

I'll check back regularly to see if you reply Smile Given the gap, I wouldn't blame you if you didn't.


Thanks again for all your effort.
_________________
Sikk a.k.a. Ray.
URC-8080B01 (Extended@11/07/2005)
Sydney, Australia
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gjarboni
Expert


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Columbia, MD

                    
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sikk wrote:
Jason,

Sorry for the huge gap in time before I got back to you on this. I finally put some time aside to focus on this.

Not a problem. I have a new version for you to try.

sikk wrote:

7. I then tested that the remote still did what I expected and pretty much it did. Except that it seemed to send all the normal commands for devices TWICE. Macros it only seems to perform once. [...]
It also seems to send an IR code once a minute.

8. I then uploaded a macro associated wih a device key. It does work but not in quite the way I expected.
This is the macro I used:
CBL=Pushdev,Virtual_AMP,INPUT1,popdev

The macro seems to work, but the LCD state does not update until another key is pressed. To explain further, if I have the remote in SAT mode, then push the CBL macro, the macro switches to AMP/TUNER and sends the correct code. The macro then tries to switch back to SAT, but leaves the LCD showing AMP/TUNER. If you then press another key (like 0 for example) the LCD display updates with the correct mode.


So it seems like there are three bugs:

a) The remote still sends every button
b) The remote still sends a signal every minute or so
c) The LCD doesn't update

Could you try with the new version and see if the bugs are still there?

sikk wrote:

10. I couldn't try LightOn/LightOff as I couldn't find them in the macro command list. Maybe the RDF needs updating?

I haven't had a chance to look at the RDF. If you can figure out how to add buttons to it, LightOn will be $40, LightOff will be $41, and LightToggle will be $42.

Here's a corrected version of the extender code. Try it and let me know how it goes.

Jason M.

00 00 01 CF 4F 68 68 38 A6 F6 A5 F5 E9 92 B0 01
CA 3C 65 F7 3C 02 F8 85 60 86 61 3C FF F4 20 6C
85 3C 64 F7 3C 03 F8 A5 60 A6 61 1A E8 3C FF F4
20 6C 85 4C 65 02
20 EB 87 67 39 03 20 92 9B 6F 39 20 A9 82 A5 CE
85 D0 20 B0 86 20 B0 86 20 F1 02 A2 1F 9A 12 D8
2F 0C 20 71 83 3C 00 D2 20 A6 87 20 2D 8A 20 B0
86 64 B5 D0 0C 47 B3 09 37 B0 03 20 9E 9E 20 D7
8A EF 3E 3C 20 3F 64 C7 F0 02 CF 3E 3C 00 19 A9
0F 25 B3 85 B3 EF 3B AF 3B 58 C2 BF 3B FF 3B BF
3F BF 3D DF 3E 5F 3E F7 C8 0D FF C8 A5 C8 C9 1E
90 CF 20 DE 9B 80 C7 97 B3 03 4C 65 02 77 39 C1
20 4A 8A 64 C7 D0 BA 20 A3 8A 80 B2 3C 80 25 A2
1E 86 C7 CF 3E A5 D0 D0 01 60 6F 52 6F 53 A5 D0
C9 80 B0 3B C9 42 D0 07 3C 31 D0 20 65 92 60 C9
41 D0 03 7F 08 60 C9 40 D0 03 6F 08 60 C9 47 90
0E 38 E9 40 A2 00 E9 07 F0 03 E8 80 F9 86 B7 C9
45 90 0C D0 05 A5 B7 85 CF 60 A5 CF 85 B7 60 07
B2 03 20 76 92 47 B3 3E D7 5A 04 DF 5A EF D0 20
32 96 90 35 20 B8 97 90 33 A5 D0 C9 0F F0 31 C9
1F F0 2D A5 D0 C9 35 D0 05 8F 5A 4C 7E 9E 20 03
8D 20 03 85 B0 03 4C 6A 9C A6 B7 86 D5 E7 AD 03
4C 1F 8C 4C 28 8C 4C 4A 99 4C 72 8C 4C 9A 03 60
CF 5A 4C 10 9E 6F 39 20 E8 94 29 0F 85 F4 8D 2E
02 A5 F5 48 A5 F6 48 A9 02 37 B2 01 3A 20 D0 94
20 DE 97 68 85 F6 68 85 F5 37 B2 0B AD 2F 02 E3
06 3C 04 DC 20 A6 93 3C 00 B1 3C 00 B5 3C 00 B5
AD 2E 02 F0 18 0F B2 CE 2E 02 A6 B1 E6 B1 BD 30
02 85 D0 F0 EB 3C 01 D2 20 F1 02 80 E3 1F B2 3F
B2 60 EA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
sikk



Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 16

                    
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jason,

Thanks for the code update, I really appreciate the efforts you have made around this old piece of gear.

Here is what I have done since your last post.

1. Edited the URC8080-B01 RDF that came in the 1.22 RDF distribution, and (successfully it seems) added all the "extender" functions,(Virtualbuttons, Pushdev, Popdev and the light functions). The complete RDF file I used is below;
http://www.whiteman.id.au/jp1/extender.rdf
Could you look at the RDF and give it a sanity check.

2. Loaded my device upgrades and protocol ugrades using the modified RDF.

3. Tested the remote.

4. Added the extender protocol you posted in this thread on 10th July.

5. Added the 2001 device upgrade and appropriate keymap to load it.

6. I tested that the extender appeared to be loaded (AM/PM lit). This did not work as I expected. The "PM" segement of the LCD only updates upon a keypress. Isn't this meant to be permanently lit? It doesn't really impact me anyway.

7. I then tested that the remote still did what I expected and it did.

8. I then uploaded a macro associated wih a device key. This is the macro I used:
CBL=LightON;Virtual_AMP,INPUT1,Virtual_CBL;LightOff
The macro worked fine. The light worked as expected too.

9. I then added the following macro:
{light}=LightToggle
This macro worked too!

10. I didn't have time to try adding a keymove to a key that I normally could not assign one to. You suggested ESC, I only had a quick look, but as far as I can see the RDF doesn't have an ESC, can you suggest another button that will conclusivley prove that this part of the extender works? Maybe {light}?

11. I haven't had time to try Pushdev and Popdev yet, but I am confident that since it worked before it will still work. I will test it though maybe tonight.

12. It seems that the RDF I put together doesn't match the extender remote buttons exactly, as mentioned there is no ESC button. Can I just yank these values from the RDF for the B02 Extender? What other buttons should I look to include?

13.The base B01 RDF includes an AUX1 device key, but I could not find a Vrtual_AUX1 "button" in the B02 Extender to provide this function. If you can provide the correct button value(s) I can try to add this to the RDF as well.

Basically, everything looks good! Like I said, there are some teething problems, but nothing wrong with the extender code as such that I can determine.

Thank you again for all your work! It is very much appreciated.
_________________
Sikk a.k.a. Ray.
URC-8080B01 (Extended@11/07/2005)
Sydney, Australia
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sputnik23



Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 1

                    
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hate to yank an old thread out into the open, but I was wondering if anyone had an extender for the 8080B00 squirreled away somewhere?

(long time lurker first-time poster (quack-quack))

Thanks,
Darren
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control