JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Please help. Dreambox keyboard
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Keyboards
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
_Morph_



Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Location: Norway - The land of the VIKING

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 2:42 pm    Post subject: Please help. Dreambox keyboard Reply with quote

Thanks for a great forum. I am totaly new to jp1, and I got my cable to work with ir. Laughing

I get this message when I connect my Dreambox keyboard: No defenition file could be found for your remote (ESPBESP2) ++

What I want to do is program my Dreambox Keyboard to handle the xbox remote. Can this be done?

I must say I dont understand much of this, but hopefully I will learn.. Very Happy

Can anyone please help a newbe?


I only get this out of the dreambox keyboard (have no idea what it is Sad ):

Dreambox.keyboard.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18101
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In order to create upgrades for this puppy, we would need alot more info about it, which can only really be obtained if an expert were to be able to run some tests on the keyboard itself. Just from the IR dump you posted, I have created a very basic starter RDF for it, which will at least let you look at the data using IR:

ESPBESP2 (Dreambox Keyboard).rdf

I will see if I can get a keyboard from UEI, but if I can't, could I borrow yours to create the full RDF?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
_Morph_



Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Location: Norway - The land of the VIKING

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Thank U!! Very Happy

It would be so cool to get this to work. Take a look at this:

http://www.xboxmediaplayer.de/cgi-bin/forums/ikonboard.pl?s=c8e87e916aa935a6dfe14e7a7b4bb146;act=ST;f=10;t=6030

Is there any way to test if the Dreambox keyboard can handle the same protocol as the xbox remote?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18101
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never heard of the keyboard before this post, so I have no idea what it's capable of doing. My UEI contact hasn't heard of it either, so I would need to borrow yours in order to figure the rest out. For starters, I don't know if the regular keyboard buttons (ie, the letters, etc) can be programmed via an upgrade, typically they can't.

Can this keyboard be purchased seperately? If so, I might just get one for myself.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
_Morph_



Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Location: Norway - The land of the VIKING

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Yes, this keyboard could be purchased seperately.

Some info:
http://www.dream-multimedia-tv.de/Bereiche/Produkte/dreamBox_keyboard.php

Can be purchased here (can be purchased many places):
http://www.pulsat.com/satellite/site/details.php?product_id=339

U could borrow mine but i live in Norway
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
damir



Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 100
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dreambox keyboard is selling separately, in SAT shops like http://www.hm-sat.de/ ...
Price is 79 EUR - expensive like all other UEI European remotes.

Regular keyboard buttons can be programmed via an upgrade.
Device upgrade present in eeprom KEYBOARD 1338/1368 (setup code offset is 30)
has 104 buttons defined. Also keyboard keymap supports at least 108 buttons.

Is KEYBOARD allowed device type in rdf???
RemoteMaster is not happy with this device type, then how to call it?

Later, after work I will post all what I find out about keyboard so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18101
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ouch, that's $108 is US funds!
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
damir



Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 100
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aren't we lucky with UEI remotes in Europe? :(

This is what I found after playing with keyboard/remote for few days.

Processor is new S3C8 (ram at FF00).

Keymoves are new style.
Keymove TV/VOL+ = TV/0208, EFC 245 is in eeprom represented as
99 24 10 D0 00 F5
In all JP1 remotes button code for VOL+ is $04, here it is $99.
Obviously shifted buttons (with setup) are not supported here.

Macro support is like in dreambox remote - with built in "pause protocol".
Macros are played at same speed at which they are recorded - remote remembers
time between key strokes.

Building RDF will take a lot more time then I expected...
I will upload it to RDF folder when/if I finish it.

Few pictures of the keyboard:





Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_Morph_



Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Location: Norway - The land of the VIKING

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm. Can you please explain to a newbe? Embarassed

Does this mean that the keyboard cant be programed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18101
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you can program this keyboard using JP1, but our tools don't support it yet. However, we are working on it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
_Morph_



Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Location: Norway - The land of the VIKING

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Happy Thanks. Is there any way to get a pm/mail when its supported? Is there an easy way to search for supported remotes. (Exept browsing the yahoo?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Space Teddy



Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys,
I'm also very interested to program this nice remote control I have the same idea to use it to control the xbox but also in other cases this would be a nice tool for other devices. Please post here if you found a solution to program this remote control, or if I can do something please replay
thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcpat



Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

damir wrote:
Building RDF will take a lot more time then I expected...
I will upload it to RDF folder when/if I finish it.


Is there anywhere the final version?!

thx, patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
damir



Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 100
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've uploaded pretty complete version here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=1459
But the RDF won't help you much unless you know how to manually do the
device upgrades.
Dreambox keyboard is pretty much different from the rest of JP1
remotes. It has a large number of keys and one huge keymap. That seems
to interfere with Remote Master.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcpat



Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

damir wrote:
I've uploaded pretty complete version here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=1459
But the RDF won't help you much unless you know how to manually do the
device upgrades.
Dreambox keyboard is pretty much different from the rest of JP1
remotes. It has a large number of keys and one huge keymap. That seems
to interfere with Remote Master.

thank you very much for the file. Now I am trying out to add manually the device upgrades.

cheers
patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Keyboards All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central