JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Panasonic VCR

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cpurick



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 7:15 pm    Post subject: Panasonic VCR Reply with quote

I have a Panasonic VCR. It uses setup codes 0162 and 1162. It seems to me that these were different protocols, but it's been about two years since I looked at them in IR (on a 1994).

Right now I have an upgrade device that has nearly all the buttons, but I'm still burning a few bytes to move the additional codes. Do I need to use two device codes for this VCR? Is there any way to combine these into a single upgrade?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sfhub



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK 0162 and 1162 are essentially the same protocol, just 1162 is a
two-byte version of the protocol where you can specify the sub-device
as byte2 under "Functions" in KM, where 0162 is a one-byte version and
the sub-device is fixed.

I'm guessing you can create a one device/protocol upgrade using
"Panasonic Combo2" in KM specifying the EFCs and byte2 for the
subdevice.

Alternately you could use the generic Device Combiner in KM to
do the same thing.

If you just have one or two keys you need from the other device,
from a memory perspective, it would be better to use the builtin
0162 and 1162 and use keymoves. If you have a lot of keys to
move, you might as well combine them into one upgrade using
one of the combiners.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpurick



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Obviously, if I can get it all into one upgrade code, then it wouldn't use any keymove memory. Even if the upgrade itself is large, that would be better than using the precious key memory.

Note that my mute is on my TV while my volume is on my stereo. This means I've had to map mutes even though I use VPT. Also, you have to use map space to address the smart keys, because they can't be configured in the upgrade. For these reasons I've used nearly all my memory, even though most of my codes are efficient upgrades. I'm just trying to free up some more.

Ideally, I'd like a TV device where the channel keys all control the satellite. I get all locals from sat, and have no actual use for the TV's channels. I use the numbers to control the sat exclusively, unless I'm listening to CDs.

That's what I aim to do if I can free up sufficient space. That would take a lot of mapping, but I'm thinking of trying an extender. Unfortunately, nobody has answered my questions about extenders.

I'm also curious about what remotes Rob might have available with 8K installed and JP1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sfhub



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using extender2 for 15-2117 and I find I'm running out of
device/protocol memory much faster than keymove/macro memory,
so my experiences are slightly different than yours.

From your description it seems like you want to control a few different
devices with different protocols (TV, Stereo, SAT). The generic Device
Combiner is probably a better fit for your needs.

You can use KM to generate a single Device and Protocol upgrade which
will handle your needs. You need to "Device Combiner" in KM and get the
Fixed data for each of the Protocols from Devices4.xls.

I'm not familiar with the 15-1994 particulars but I've found many times
with my 15-2117 I can save keymove memory by defining a CBL device
rather than TV, since a cable device supports many more keys without
resorting to keymoves.

If you need help with a Device Combiner, post more details and I'm sure
somewhere here can help.

I'm under the impression the 15-1994 has 2k of memory. Between
extenders, combiners, and defining different button layouts there are
various ways to conserve or increase keymove memory, so there's
a good chance you can get what you want done with what you have.

The extenders for my 15-2117 reorganize the memory so I actually
have significantly more keymove memory after installing the extender
than before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18513
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Panasonic VCRs use a mixture of codes with the following device codes:

144.0 (which is VCR/0162)
144.1 (which is VCR/0454) and
128.0 (which is TV/0250)

(Note: only some models have 128.0 buttons)

There are 3 combo codes installed in most remotes which combine all of the above:

VCR/1062
VCR/1162 and
VCR/1262

VCR/1162 is the one that works best for me, the only button that I had to add was TAPE SPEED, so I used a key move for that.

To re-create the VCR/1162 code in KM, you would select the "Panasonic VCR Combo" protocol. Then in the byte2 column, you would enter a 0, 1 or 2 to select the right device codes, as follows:

0 = 144.0
1 = 128.0
2 = 144.1

Here is a KM file that should get you started...
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/jp1/files/3.%20Device%20Codes/VCR/Panasonic%20PV-9451.txt
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Panasonic VCRs use a mixture of codes with the following device codes:

144.0 (which is VCR/0162)
144.1 (which is VCR/0454) and
128.0 (which is TV/0250)

(Note: only some models have 128.0 buttons)


(Assuming a VCR that mainly combines 144.0 and 144.1)
Most models have a single command in 144.5.
Most models do not have any commands in 128.0.
For those reasons, you may be better off using the other Panasonic combo protocol (not the one in the file Rob mentioned).

There are unusually many plausible ways to assemble support for this particular device.
If you're not using an extender, you probably want the 144.5 signal (if you have it at all) to be a learned signal.
If you are using an extender, you probably have plenty of KeyMove memory and may want to pick the closest built in setup code and patch the rest with KeyMoves (doing 144.5 as an buttonless upgrade used for one KeyMove).
You might want an upgrade based on one of the Panasonic combo protocols, or you might find the device combiner works better than a Panasonic combo upgrade (usually because it lets you mix in MUTE etc. from non Panasonic devices).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18513
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which function uses 144.5? My Panasonic only uses 144.0 and 144.1 commands, but I know that MIke Riley has a Panasonic (or it might have been a Quasar) that used a couple of functions from 128.0 so he found that VCR/1262 was a better fit, where you'll notice that LAST, MENU and PROGRAM all use 128.0

As the "Panasonic VCR Combo" protocol is built into every remote that I know of, if there's just one button that uses the 144.5 device code, I'd suggest using a key move or learning to fill in this blank.

Btw, I split the 8k memory posts off to a seperate thread:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=322
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

144.5:43 is the "tape position" command in some VCRs, including mine and this one
pedro-cardenas_pro.zip

(Note that CCF also has several 128.0 commands and doesn't list any corresponding device, so the model number and whether it's a VCR or a TV/VCR combo is unclear).

This Panasonic VCR NV-FJ600
david-williams_ccf.zip

has a different single 144.5 command. 144.5:41 "PICT MODE", which didn't do anything visible on my VCR.

This Panasonic VCR NV-FJ630
mark-kumke_ccf.zip

has yet another (144.5:63)

and this Panasonic VCR NV-HD685
matthew-taylor_ccf.zip

has yet another (144.5:87)

Maybe one of those VCRs that has just one 144.5 command supports other 144.5 commands, but I've never seen a CCF with more than one and all my sources other than CCF's (including several other people in the JP1 forum) match just the "tape position" command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
aberguerand
Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Lausanne, VD, Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My NVFJ622F remote has 3 non 0 or 1 subdevice codes (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/jp1/files/4.%20RM%20Upgrade%20Files/VCR/PanaVCR1666.rmdu) :

    Format : subdevice 4, OBC 222
    TV/Text : subdevice 5, OBC 87
    Mode Photo : subdevice 5, OBC 35

According to the documentation, the first two are only active when the remote is in TV mode (it is a dual VCR/TV remote). While the third is only active for "other models".
Funnily enough, on the remote itself, below the buttons, in small sprint is written "Certaines touches de cette tÚlÚcommande ne sont pas actives" (Some buttons of that remote are not active).

Alain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central