JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Keymap-Master -- What is device code / unit code?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
sofakng

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 11:44 am    Post subject: Keymap-Master -- What is device code / unit code? Reply with quote

I'm brand new to JP1 programming but I've figured out most of keymap-master and ir.exe, but I don't understand what "Device Code" and "Unit Code" (sometimes it says "Sub Device" and "Main Device"). It's displayed directly below the "Protocol Name" on the first page of the spreadsheet.

What values am I supposed to put in here? Where do I get the values from?

Thanks for any help.
Mark Pierson
Expert

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 12:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Keymap-Master -- What is device code / unit code? Reply with quote

sofakng wrote:
I don't understand what "Device Code" and "Unit Code" (sometimes it says "Sub Device" and "Main Device").

Those items vary from one protocol to another. Typically, they're a specific piece of information, much like an "address" or "index". For example, if you have a TV and a VCR from the same manufacturer, they probably use the same protocol. To keep the TV signals from operating the VCR and vice versa, both units would have a distinct Device Code.

Quote:
What values am I supposed to put in here? Where do I get the values from?

The values most often are obtained from a decoded learned signal. Whatever values are used MUST match the equipment being controlled for the IR signals to work.
sofakng

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, I'm still a little confused on how I'm supposed to use them...