JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

IR543 broken

Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> X10 and Home Automation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Felipe

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 2:21 pm    Post subject: IR543 broken Reply with quote

I've been using X-10 for more than 5 years with almost no problem, I was using about five IR543 with all my lights and appliances, but all of the sudden one stop working for not particular reason on of the units stop working, and a few days latter another two stop working with no explanation. I try to use them with the remote control and also manually, but no response. I still have two that are working, does anybody knows what can I do or should I just buy new ones.

Thank you

Felipe
The Robman
Site Owner

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had an X10 wall switch stop working, but I've never heard of IR543 boxes breaking down. It's especially wierd that you would have 3 of them break down at approximately the same time.

When you try using the remote, does the red LED on the broken IR543s still light up? If it does, it's possible that the problem lies in your power line rather than the IR543. In this case, I would try plugging them in in different locations to see if that changes anything.

If the IR543s really are broken, I would suggest opening them up and checking for burned out components, such as leaking capacitors, etc. If you find some, try replacing them. If you can't tell what they are because they're too badly damaged, take a peek inside one of your good IR543 boxes.

If they are truely dead and beyond repair, you can get replacements from
http://www.homeautomationnet.com for just $20 each.