JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

15-2138 JP1 Questions (Searched. No luck.)

View previous topic :: View next topic  
celox

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 8:13 pm    Post subject: 15-2138 JP1 Questions (Searched. No luck.) Reply with quote

I assume that this product is very new and that is why I can't find this information readily listed.

I searched all over hifi-remotes.com and remotecentral.com and google.com with no luck. Here are the questions:

I want to get involved with the JP1 programming because I recently purchased the 15-2138 from radio shack. I like it so far. This is my first investment in a URC so I have no prior experience to compare it to.

The problem I am having is replicating the functions of my Silver Hauppauge remote (There is a file already made for the JP1 upload) with the limited memory (16-25 learnable commands) the 15-2138 has.

The solution I have chosen is JP1.

I am completely new to this so I need to know what to buy to get this project going. I am fine with the parallel versions, USB is too expensive just for being USB and providing no additional functionality.

What components do I need to connect the JP1 to the 15-2138 remote (RS 8-in-1).

The connection for JP1 is not pins, or holes, they are solid contact points.

I saw from links referenced in Rob's website on JP1 that Hovis Direct has a Kameleon package. Is this what I need? The website is rather unprofessional but Rob seems to know what he's doing so I will go out on a limb. The website did not say whether or not the package is specifically compatible with the 15-2138. I can't assume it is or isn't because this product practically does not exist on the google search engine.

Any info you can provide, or suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!