JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

9960 in the UK!!!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vanstmic



Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 4:18 am    Post subject: 9960 in the UK!!! Reply with quote

Hi all,

Well i've managed to use the inbuilt library on the 9960 to set up my VCR, TV, and DVD. I don't believe the library has the code in the memory for the Sky Digibox (Grundig). I have read that the code for this is 0847? Is this true? Also, I have not been able to find on the Yahoo files any upgrade code 0847. I have introduced myself to JP1 but i would rather use the IrtoWav if i could to save me buying a cable, does anybody have a .wav for this code? Also I have a second question, is there a limit to the number of keys you can IR learn (by putting two remotes next to each other)?

Any comments greatly appreciated[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gjarboni
Expert


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Columbia, MD

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 6:19 am    Post subject: Re: 9960 in the UK!!! Reply with quote

vanstmic wrote:
Hi all,

Well i've managed to use the inbuilt library on the 9960 to set up my VCR, TV, and DVD. I don't believe the library has the code in the memory for the Sky Digibox (Grundig). I have read that the code for this is 0847? Is this true? Also, I have not been able to find on the Yahoo files any upgrade code 0847. I have introduced myself to JP1 but i would rather use the IrtoWav if i could to save me buying a cable, does anybody have a .wav for this code?


There are several Sky Digibox upgrades here. Have you tried any of them with IrtoWav? You'll need to load them into KM (an Excel application) or RM (Java 1.4) and change the remote type to 9960. Then load IR.exe, goto File, New and choose the 9960. Click on the device tab, and paste in the device. Do the same thing for the protocol, if one is required (I'm pretty sure one is required, but I'm not positive). Save this as a text file.

You can use this file with IRtoWav. It will reset the device codes you've entered as well as any keys you've learned. There are command line switches you can use to have IRtoWav only convert part of the text file, but that's getting pretty deep. If you want to do this, select the region from $100 to $3FF.


vanstmic wrote:
Also I have a second question, is there a limit to the number of keys you can IR learn (by putting two remotes next to each other)?[/code]


Yes, but the limit depends on how "complicated" the learned signal is. Also there are three memory regions in your remote. One for keymoves & macros, one for device upgrades and protocols, and one for learned signals. Filling one region up has no effect on the others. And, without an extender you can't resize the regions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
vanstmic



Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the wav file ready, but it's 92 seconds long, I can put the 9960 into 'lisaten mode' using setup, other then 990 i think and the screen goes off, put it only stays in that state for about 30 seconds and the scrteen comes back on. Do you know if this is correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18382
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forget exactly how you control IRtoWav but you can make it create a WAV file that only loads a portion of the memory. In this case you just need the upgade section, which runs from $100 to $3FF.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think there is an inherent problem in having the wav file cover the whole eeprom image. It may be a bigger file than you'd like. It may change parts of the eeprom you don't want changed. So it might be a good idea to learn how to limit the wav file to just the upgrade.

But, the length of the wav file is NOT the cause of the problem.

If the remote stopped listening before the wav file was done something else was wrong:
* Not holding the remote near enough to the speaker for the inductive pickup to work (it is not the sound of the wav file that the remote receives. It is the magnetic field generated by the speaker as it generates the sound).
* Magnetic shielding between the speaker and the remote (Are you using a PC's internal speaker).
* Wrong signature in the txt file used to create the wav file.
* Starting the wav playing at the wrong moment relative to starting the remote listening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central