JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Yamaha RX-V479BL

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
airauto



Joined: 16 Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Location: Longboat Key, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:20 pm    Post subject: Yamaha RX-V479BL Reply with quote

Subject: Yamaha RX-V479BL

1. Device: Yamaha RX-V479BL
2. Type of device: AV Receiver
3. Year: Recient Purchase
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: URC-6131 B00
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? Yes
6. Still have original remote? Yes
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? No
10. Learning remote question? Yes URC-8910B02
11. Have you tried the JP1 Lookup Tool? Yes, didn't find anything
12. If you have a Nevo (or similar) remote, have you tried ez-rc.com? n/a

I've been able to get the NEC1 signals to work, but I'm not sure what to do with the NEC1-y1 protocol.

Learned signals file: http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14375
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18382
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a common signal structure for Yamaha receivers and there are many files in the file section that would work for you. I have randomly picked one and checked to see if all of the learns that you posted are included, and they all were except for your DISPLAY button (this file used a different OBC), so I added your DISPLAY button as Display-96.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9183
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
airauto



Joined: 16 Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Location: Longboat Key, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, that's what I need. I tried a few files that were close to what I needed, but they didn't work. I can't believe you picked this one randomly and it worked. Thanks I can modify this one for my purposes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18382
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it wasn't completely random. We are quite familiar with the signals used by Yamaha here and so I happen to know that you need to use the "NEC 4DEV Yamaha Combo" executor in order to generate the Y1 and Y2 signals. We also have a very cool spreadsheet called jp1-master-1.14 in the file section which lists every single upgrade that we have, along with details like which executor it uses and which device code(s), so I filtered it on all the devices that use that executor, then I linked to them to see which ones included most of the functions that you listed, and I chose the one that had the most included.

Truth is that any one of those upgrades would have worked, and you could have added any missing functions, but seeing as how this is one of the more complicated executors to set up, I thought it best to pick one where you didn't have to add too many new functions.

If you had randomly picked an upgrade that used the regular NEC1 executor, or a combo executor that doesn't support the Y1/Y2 variants, it would have worked for some functions, but you wouldn't have been able to add the functions that use the Y1/Y2 signals.

Btw, can you confirm that only the new DISPLAY-96 function performs the display function for you? Try the other DISPLAY and INFO functions to see if they do anything, like maybe they're duplicates or maybe they do a slightly different display.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
airauto



Joined: 16 Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Location: Longboat Key, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The display key cycles through: DSP Program, Audio Decoder and Input.

The display key on the original remote (RAV 533) does not do anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18382
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just so we're all on the same page as to what each button does, let's refer to them using the OBC codes.
  1. The DSP function should be OBC 89.
  2. The function labeled Display is OBC 21.
  3. The new Display button that I added for you is OBC 96.
  4. The Info button is OBC 39.
Can you confirm what each of the above do (if anything).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
airauto



Joined: 16 Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Location: Longboat Key, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These are my results for the OBC buttons:
The DSP function should be OBC 89. DSP Program then Input then Audio Decoder
The function labeled Display is OBC 21. Nothing
The new Display button that I added for you is OBC 96. Nothing
The Info button is OBC 39. Nothing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6953
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

airauto wrote:

The display key on the original remote (RAV 533) does not do anything.

The display key on the original remote is part of a set of keys designated for for External device operation keys.
Control playback of the iPod, USB storage device or PCs/NAS.
Also control playback or operate menus of the playback
devices connected to the unit with an HDMI cable.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central