JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

URC-8210 Locks itself

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HWTest



Joined: 14 Jun 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 8:33 am    Post subject: URC-8210 Locks itself Reply with quote

I was learning new codes via the ir learn function of my URC-8210 and it suddenly "locked" itself - the EL stays on and no reaction to any key press.
After removing the battery it "locks" again after a couple of commands - the EL stays on, no reaction to any key press, no device highlighted.
I have tried the 981 reset code but that doesn't help.
I have tried uploading and older image via the JP1.3 cable using the latest RMIR, that didn't help either.
When trying to read the remote after the 981 reset, it's looking OK.
When trying to read the remote after a "lockup" I get an error and I can only download as raw.
My theory is, there is some part of memory corrupt, which isn't fixed by the reset.
I hope I can make the URC-8210 working normally again by resetting/cleaning the corrupt part but I don't know what and how.
Here is the raw download from the remote after a 981 reset: http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13987

Any ideas how to solve this problems?

Thank you.

Edit: Here is a raw after corruption for comparison: http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13988
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HWTest



Joined: 14 Jun 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:12 am    Post subject: Re: URC-8210 Locks itself Reply with quote

Some more files for comparison: http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13989

There are two pairs of files
ir - download with ir
raw - raw download with rmir

I uploaded an older working image to the URC-8210, then immediately downloaded it. Then tried to use the RC, it locked up. Then I downloaded the files with index 2.
I hope someone more knowledgeable can figure out what is wrong comparing these file sets ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3605

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's what it does when the batteries are low. Put in new ones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HWTest



Joined: 14 Jun 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your suggestion.

I've tried 5 different pairs of batteries, sadly it didn't help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3605

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like it's time for a new remote. If you can get it going, the $16 Nevo C2 would be a nice upgrade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HWTest



Joined: 14 Jun 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So is it broken beyond repair ... ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6948
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you say trying to use it again, was that using to capture or using to send IR signals?
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HWTest



Joined: 14 Jun 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was trying different things, learning ir signals too.
When learning ir codes, it locked during learning the first or second signal.
But I was also trying to use it normally - sending commands.
It mostly locked when selecting device or sending the fist command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6948
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I looked at your E2 area, and it looks like the a low battery situation to me too. Examine your battery connections. If there are signs of corrosion clean them. Then take a small flat blade screw driver and insert it between each coil of the spring and give it a quarter turn to make sure the spring isn't overly compressed. Then put your batteries in the remote. If the batteries can be shaken out of alignment then the batteries are too loose.

Also make sure you are using alkaline batteries, not rechargables.

These remotes hate to encounter low power situations. The symptom of low batteries is a corrupt e2 area.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HWTest



Joined: 14 Jun 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the late reply, I was away.

I'll test your suggestions tomorrow and report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HWTest



Joined: 14 Jun 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have examined the battery connections - they are clean and shiny, no signs of dirt or corrosion.
The springs are strong, holding the batteries firmly.
I bought brand new alkaline cells, each measured 1.55V.
Sadly the problem is still there.
My last idea is that maybe there is a loose connection between the battery contacts and the PCB, but I have no idea how to disassembly the RC to check it.
There are no visible screws.

Just some notes
- this RC was sold with Duracell NiMH rechargeables and a charging cradle, so I think it should work with rechargeables (and it was working with them for years)
- this RC indicates a low battery condition by blinking the signal transmit indicators
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central