JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Figuring out the OFA URC7980
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jts321835



Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Remotes typically have a couple more buttons in their internal button map than are actually on the remote. These non-physical buttons we call phantoms. You can't make your own if they do not already exist in the remote. Since you assigned your macro to a real button, then it's not a phantom. The name for it is missing from the RDF.

Which physical button did you assign that macro to?


The macro is embedded into an activity there is a watch tv activity button which controls the sound bar and sat box when in that activity, however you can also embed a macro in the watch tv activity so when it is initially executed it will in turn launch the macro, in my instance switch the Tv on change input on the tv, I have the discrete code programmed to a key on the audio device as it has very few keys on the original remote, then turn the sound bar on and set its input to optical as it could be on aux or Bluetooth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@3FG,

Grasping at straws, but could the remote be adding $40 to the activity button code to point to the associated activity macro, similar to the way shift works?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jts321835



Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
@3FG,

Grasping at straws, but could the remote be adding $40 to the activity button code to point to the associated activity macro, similar to the way shift works?


Can I assist in any way with proving or disproving that chain of thought?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaworski



Joined: 22 Jun 2014
Posts: 429
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it's connected to the way activity is selected on 7980. There's only one physical Activity button which toggles between one of 5 available activities. When there's a macro associated to an activity it's executed few seconds after selecting specific activity.

Maybe the phantom button 68 (dec) is just an internal representation of the Watch TV activity.
_________________
Marcin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jts321835 wrote:
mdavej wrote:
@3FG,

Grasping at straws, but could the remote be adding $40 to the activity button code to point to the associated activity macro, similar to the way shift works?


Can I assist in any way with proving or disproving that chain of thought?
Sure

@yaworski

Could be. Would it be worthwhile for jts to add macros to every activity?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jts321835



Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting thing is the watch TV activity is called button68, the listen to music activity key is called Xshift-2 and the custom is called Xshift-ch+ according to RMIR.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So we're on the right track. Shift and Xshift typically add $40 or $80 to the original button code. $28 doesn't exist, so it showed up as button68. Key 2 is $29, so rather than button69, it shows up as Xshift-2 (or whatever the Xshift bit turns out to be).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jts321835



Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

would it help if I report back on all the activity keys?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3240

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a 7980, and I'll work on it tonight. I'm pretty sure these "buttons" name the activities.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jts321835



Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks 3FG, it's 1.20am here so off to bed, pleas let me know if there is anything I can do to assist in test & dev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3240

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a possible improvement to the RDF file: Under [Buttons], after the line
TV=$E0:groupDevice,STB,BLU,AUD,DVD,GAME,MEDIA,S.BAR,
Replace the existing WatchTV line with
Code:
WatchTV=$68:groupActivity,ListenToMusic,WatchMovie,PlayGame,Custom
For me, that provided a correct description of the macro, and allowed me to write macros which are defined on a Activity mode.

About the Pause executor, it looks like so far RMIR is not able to parse the TI2541 executors correctly, so we'll need to wait for mathdon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jts321835



Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG wrote:
Here's a possible improvement to the RDF file: Under [Buttons], after the line
TV=$E0:groupDevice,STB,BLU,AUD,DVD,GAME,MEDIA,S.BAR,
Replace the existing WatchTV line with
Code:
WatchTV=$68:groupActivity,ListenToMusic,WatchMovie,PlayGame,Custom
For me, that provided a correct description of the macro, and allowed me to write macros which are defined on a Activity mode.

About the Pause executor, it looks like so far RMIR is not able to parse the TI2541 executors correctly, so we'll need to wait for mathdon.


Thanks that works perfectly Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jts321835



Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am probably jumping the gun a bit but keen to get my setup configured perminantly, do we think this remote will ever get toad tog functionality or am I better of getting an alternative remote?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3240

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, here is a special version of 2.04 Build 6 which allows RMIR to recognize TI2541 executors. With this jar file, the Pause executor is enabled. Overwrite RemoteMaster.jar and Protocols.ini with the ones in this zip file. Also included is an updated RDF file that has the correct executor variants listed. I tested that the Pause function works when embedded in a macro.

Now, about Toadtogs. The traditional way to achieve this capability is through an extender. The URC7980 is a new remote and it is the first to use the TI CC2541 processor, so we are some ways away from an extender, assuming that the remote becomes popular enough to justify writing one.

However, do you really need Toadtogs? I assume that you're hoping to combine a component that doesn't have discrete on/off commands with others that do. These days, components which lack discrete power commands are typically PVRs. And, in most cases, the act of turning one of these off is illusory: Turning one "off" may only blank the front panel display. I didn't believe this when I first read about it, so on our cable boxes I used a AC clip-on ammeter to measure the current draw and found no measurable difference between on and off. I suppose the units need to be basically on all the time to handle recording at odd hours, and perhaps to communicate with the provider. Of course, any component which can be turned on by IR command has not actually been fully off else it wouldn't be able to respond.

So I just leave the cable boxes on, and all the rest of our gear has discrete power commands. Note that even if the unit lacks a discrete power command, it frequently is possible to simulate discrete power by e.g. issuing a Play command to turn on a DVR or Bluray, and Play-Toggle Power to turn one off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18406
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't we also have Toadtog as a stand alone special protocol? So, if someone were to try re-writing it in TI CC2541 assembler, it would in theory be possible to add it.

But I agree with Dave's general point, I only installed Toadtog relatively recently and was able to use macros to turn everything on and off just fine, it just takes some careful planning.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 6 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central