JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Epson PowerLite Pro G6270W - new protocol
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Carl



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Quebec city, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's great, I will test it at work tomorrow. Will it be complicated to make it work for other remote with different processor as the URC8820?
I will start by testing all the functions with my atlas and report back.
It's really appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18102
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have done a commented version of the S3C8 assembler code, to assist in the effort of writing a HCS08 executor

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13948
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18102
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Carl, I have also updated the RM file that I created:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13947

I hadn't accounted for the fact that the arrow buttons have a different lead out time, and the last bit of binary is used to control that. Plus, you got the LEFT and RIGHT buttons backwards when you learned them, so that threw me for a bit too. So, bottom line, the UEI arrow buttons now match yours.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I have done a commented version of the S3C8 assembler code, to assist in the effort of writing a HCS08 executor

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13948


Thanks Rob. Your commented code will be a big help.

I had a look at this raw code last night, It seems I've forgotten a lot about both assembler languages. I'm going to work on this, but it is going to take me some time to get back up to speed. I then went looking for the HCS08 compiler and realize I don't have it on this machine. I left the disks up north so I don't have lots of examples to look at. So I think it will take me several days to get this going.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Carl



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Quebec city, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tested the last upgrade with my atlas remote and everything is working, but there is no way to turn off the projector because the discrete off function is missing. Here is the output of a learned key that work:


Code:
+2314 -600 +574 -588 +1154 -592 +574 -588 +574 -1174 +574 -588 +1154 -1176 +574 -1174 +1154 -592 +574 -588 +574 -588 +574 -588 +574 -588 +574 -588 +574 -76362


It was also on the stop button in my original file that I posted for doing the upgrades.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18102
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know how the discrete off button fell of the file, because I have the code for it, so I just re-added it.

Or, you can add it yourself, the hex is "84 D8 00"
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18102
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vicky, looking at the HCS08 code in the following file, it appears that there is a flag that you can set to tell the engine that it's a base 4 code, so that makes it sounds like creating an HCS08 executor should be fairly easy (if you know what you're doing)
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=8135
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18102
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
I had a look at this raw code last night, It seems I've forgotten a lot about both assembler languages. I'm going to work on this, but it is going to take me some time to get back up to speed. I then went looking for the HCS08 compiler and realize I don't have it on this machine. I left the disks up north so I don't have lots of examples to look at. So I think it will take me several days to get this going.

Vicky, Protocol Builder can compile and verify HCS08 code, so that should be the only tool that you need. Having read several of your old posts on the subject, it appears that HCS08 can handle quad protocols in the engine and that last PB file that I posted appears to be an example of this, so maybe it won't be that hard to convert this to HCS08. I've just never written anything in HCS08 and I don't know the specifics of the IR engine, or I'd try it myself.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob, after 300 attempts TODAY! I finally found my error in those 6 lines of code. Now that I know what I was doing wrong with my code, I need to pare down the size of my executor. When looking at your code, I see that you divided this up into
1 2 bit device
3 8 bit device
1 hard coded 2 bit pair of zero.

Quote:

00 = +572 -572
01 = +572 -1144
10 = +1144 -572
11 = +1144 -1144

Here's the binary
+2288 -572 00100001010000000000000000 +572 -78364 - discrete on
+2288 -572 00100001001101100000000000 +572 -76648 - discrete off
+2288 -572 00100001001010000000000000 +572 -77792 - Menu
+2288 -572 00100000001000000001000010 +572 -32032 - Down
+2288 -572 00100000010000000001000000 +572 -32604 - Up
+2288 -572 00100000010100000000000000 +572 -32604 - Left
+2288 -572 00100000011100001001000000 +572 -30888 - Right
+2288 -572 00100000010000010000000000 +572 -78364 - OK
+2288 -572 00100001000000100010000000 +572 -77792 - VOL+
+2288 -572 00100001011010100010000000 +572 -75504 - VOL-
+2288 -572 00100001010001010000000000 +572 -77220 - computer
+2288 -572 00100001001100011000000000 +572 -76648 - BNC
+2288 -572 00100001000011110000000000 +572 -76648 - DisplayPort
+2288 -572 00100001011000011000000000 +572 -76648 - Video
+2288 -572 00100001010010011000000000 +572 -76648 - s-video
+2288 -572 00100001011111010000000000 +572 -74932 - HDMI
+2288 -572 00100001001001011000000000 +572 -76648 - LAN
+2288 -572 00100001011101110000000000 +572 -74932 - HDBaseT
+2288 -572 00100001001001110000000000 +572 -76648 - SDI
+2288 -572 00100000010000000100000000 +572 -78364 - Exit
+2288 -572 00100001001000000010000000 +572 -77792 - CH+
+2288 -572 00100001000010000010000000 +572 -77792 - CH-
+2288 -572 00100001000000101000000000 +572 -77792 - Format
+2288 -572 00100001001111111000000000 +572 -74360 - Input


Looking at the codes you decoded, it would seem that it would that it would be more efficient to use 1 4 bit device instead of hard coding, the two bit process.

Any reason not to use a 4 bit device?


---------------------------------------------
And for those of you that think I'm an old curmudgeon, when I say that PB with IR is a lot easier than RMIR, let me point out that for every attempt you make at a protocol using RMIR, you need to change the executor's PID to something unique.... Any wonder I regularly give RMIR a nervous breakdown!?!

I know that a lot of you are engineers, and wouldn't ever have to try something 300 times to get it right, but I got into this because I wanted to have a clean coffee table, not because of my programming skills!
Quote:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18102
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
Looking at the codes you decoded, it would seem that it would that it would be more efficient to use 1 4 bit device instead of hard coding, the two bit process.

Any reason not to use a 4 bit device?

Here's how I looked at it. The minimum number of variable bytes needed is 3, so 3 times 8 gives 24, so I used 24 bits for the variable bytes and the remainder, which is 2 bits, is the fixed data. And it just so happened that this is exactly how UEI did it also. The commented executor that I posted was written by UEI, I just added the comments.

If you increase the fixed bits to 4, that would leave 22 variable bits to be divided across 3 bytes and there's no easy way to do it. It would be better to make it 5 fixed bits and 21 variable because then you can do 7 bits per byte. But regardless, I don't see how there's any benefit to doing any of that. Why were you thinking that 4 bits is better than 2?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Why were you thinking that 4 bits is better than 2?

I can't count and didn't understand one of your comments, lol.

I do have a working protocol, for this. I've checked the number 1, and 2 and I see the leadout time is changing for the

Code:

Upgrade protocol 0 = 01 73 (HCS08) Epson PowerLite Pro G6270W (PB v4.02)
 20 1F 22 48 13 8D 45 04 08 01 0D 01 35 01 0D 02
 57 02 2F 01 35 02 2F 02 57 01 0D 94 5C 04 86 01
 35 01 63 07 45 3E 5D 35 7E 11 63 45 00 80 CD FF
 65 3F 64 6E 03 65 AD 11 3C 64 05 64 F9 45 00 7C
 CD FF 65 CD FF 92 25 E3 81 BE 64 E6 60 B7 66 AD
 17 AD 15 B6 66 A4 03 AE 04 42 AB 6C 97 CD FF 65
 3C 65 05 65 EA 3F 65 81 38 66 24 02 10 66 81
End


http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13959


But, now that I have it I think I can do much better.


I am already using a bit counter, and a byte counter, and rotating the bytes into position, and then multiplying, the 2 bit value by 4, the same as you do,

Instead of rotating the bit and masking off the last 2 bits and looking up a timing pair,

Just left shift the working variable.
if the carry bit is set
Point at the 1148 time,
otherwise
set the pointer to the 568 time.
If the 0 bit in the bit counter is 0,
send IR on by pointer
otherwise
send space by pointer


I haven't coded it, but it seems like this would be smaller code, you wouldn't have to have 12 bytes of timing pairs. No masking, no multiplying by 4, and in my language the rotate is a PITA. That is what took me so much time, I thought it would just rotate around, but it didn't!
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18102
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the way you are planning to do it is how John Fine would do it, and it would use less code. And I didn't write the S3C8 executor, UEI wrote it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18102
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Carl, I have updated the original RMDU file to include Vicky's new executor for HCS08 remotes, like your URC-8820N. I also included the MaxQ executor

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13947
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I think the way you are planning to do it is how John Fine would do it, and it would use less code. And I didn't write the S3C8 executor, UEI wrote it.


You are doing John Fine a disservice there! Inspect the code for ToadTog, and you will see what I mean!!! The man is a genius at small!

When PB works with the on-off times, it does calculate slightly different Hex code for the time-off, so perhaps this isn't a precise enough way to do it, but the code decreases from 111 bytes to 96, a savings of 15 bytes. If people are using a gray-ok JP1.2 remote, that 15 bytes is significant!

I did find when doing this, that PB is buggy. At one point, it generated the wrong code for an instruction, that it would compile just fine on another place in the code. I never have seen that before! Perhaps that's part of the reason I had so much trouble with this protocol. But no that is unfair, it was my misunderstanding of the ROL instruction that was causing me most of my difficulties.

Code:

Upgrade protocol 0 = 01 73 (HCS08) Epson PowerLite Pro G6270W (PB v4.02)
 20 11 22 48 13 8D 45 04 08 02 2F 01 0D 94 5C 04
 86 01 35 01 63 07 45 3E 5D 35 70 11 63 45 00 72
 CD FF 65 3F 64 6E 06 65 AD 11 3C 64 05 64 F9 45
 00 6E CD FF 65 CD FF 92 25 E3 81 BE 64 E6 60 B7
 66 38 66 25 05 45 00 6E 20 03 45 00 6C 00 65 05
 CD FF 68 20 03 CD FF 83 3C 65 07 65 E4 3F 65 81
End

_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18102
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John is indeed the master of small code, that is what I was implying. I learned most of what I can do in S3C8 code from watching what he would do. If I get a chance, I intend to try writing a smaller version of the S3C8 code following that idea.

As I mentioned via PM, my JP1.x stuff isn't working anymore, so I can't test your execs, so does the new one work? Should I replace the old one with it?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central