JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Simulate a long key press in a macro?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PhileFriendly



Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:29 am    Post subject: Simulate a long key press in a macro? Reply with quote

I am trying to build a macro to turn on all of my devices at once, but unfortunately my receiver (Philips FR975) requires a long key press to power it on. Is there any way to do that in a macro?

On a related topic, if I can somehow map a short key press of a button to the long press behavior, that would also work (since I could then include that short key in the macro).

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 207
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What remote are you using? Does it has an extender available? For most extenders the last button in the macro will be sent for as long as you hold the button that invokes macro. In your case you make receiver ON the last button.
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6948
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends on the remote and the protocol executor being used in the upgrade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PhileFriendly



Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies. The remote I have is OARUSB04G, and I haven't put an extender on it; all I've done is loaded a couple device codes that I've gotten from the forum. Incidentally, I did try just holding down on the macro key, but that didn't work (I was hoping what jeajea suggested maybe would be working out of the box).

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranx



Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 664
Location: Hants, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The extender is a bit like central heating or windup car windows, indispensable once you have got the hang of it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2871
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PhileFriendly wrote:
Incidentally, I did try just holding down on the macro key, but that didn't work (I was hoping what jeajea suggested maybe would be working out of the box).

On the OARUSB04G you need the extender for this to work. Also, depending on how long a keypress you need, the extender allows you to change the hold time of any key in a macro from the default of 250ms (the hold time in the unextended remote). The available range is 0-450ms in increments of 50ms. So you can almost double the hold time of the unextended remote, but to go beyond 450ms you need to make it the last key of the sequence and hold the physical button for as long as you need.

A note to old-timers puzzled by the above: macros in older UEI unextended remotes usually sent each signal 3 times, but UEI has changed this for the OARUSB04G and equivalents to a hold time of 250ms rather than a set number of repeats of the signal.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6948
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathdon wrote:

A note to old-timers puzzled by the above: macros in older UEI unextended remotes usually sent each signal 3 times, but UEI has changed this for the OARUSB04G and equivalents to a hold time of 250ms rather than a set number of repeats of the signal.


Thanks for that. It helps with the steep learning curve of moving on to the newer remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3605

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW, Xsight/Nevo macro steps have a programmable hold duration, which I think acts like a long key press. I've only used it with volume commands, and they work as if they are held for the duration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central