JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

RMIR - do uploads fail when protocol isn't in protocols.ini
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2303

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 10:15 pm    Post subject: RMIR - do uploads fail when protocol isn't in protocols.ini Reply with quote

Probably an idiot question: I was trying to upload a .rmir file with a protocol not yet known to RMIR. RMIR closes on immediate, monumental, failure of javaw. Java issues a log file hs_err_pidXXXX.log, where XXXX is PID of javaw.exe as seen in Process explorer.

Just asking. I don't need it working at the moment (it works through IR), so I'm not posting any logs. And I confirmed that my other uploads work just fine. So java isn't broken here.
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18930
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if that's the reason that I am having the same problem. For me, I can use RMIR and I can save files, but if I try to load into the remote, it just closes, so I've been using IR.exe as it still works and I haven't gotten around to trying to dig into the problem.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been having upload problems as well. Mine has to do with communication issues. Only one upload per boot. Then "no remotes found". I guess I'll have to do some more testing so I can give Graham some error reports.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2303

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vicky, Rob - I only have a problem of java killing RMIR with one file (Lego). Normal uploads work. Is this also what you talk about?
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3213
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Liz, I won't be able to look into this till next week, as I am going away for New Year in about an hour's time. But I'm not sure I understand the question, as I find it difficult to see how you have created a .rmir file with "a protocol not in protocols.ini". Every protocol in a .rmir file should be either (a) built in to the remote, or (b) a protocol whose code for the processor of the remote is in protocols.ini, or (c) a manual protocol. None of these should cause a problem. So it seems that somehow you have created a file with a protocol that is none of these. All I can think of is that you have taken a device upgrade produced on a remote for which the protocol is built-in and have loaded it into a setup for a different remote where it is not built in and neither is it in protocols.ini. RMIR should not allow that to happen. So please say how the file has been created, and post it (and any device upgrade used to create it) for me to look at when I return.

As for IR.exe handling it OK, IR.exe does not check the consistency of the setup. It allows you to upload anything, regardless of whether it is valid. RMIR analyses the setup, even if you don't change anything. In the event of problems, however, it should give error messages rather than collapsing drastically.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3213
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Liz, do you still have this problem? If so and you want me to look into it, can you please provide the info I asked for in the post above.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2303

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used RMIR 2.03 build 12 when it happened. Then I reverted to alpha 28. Same thing. The files are from alpha 28 on my last attempt. Sorry I forgot to upload.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13828
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3213
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Liz, can you upload any other setups into the remote? There appears to be nothing wrong with the .rmir file, so my suspicion at the moment is that all uploads will fail.

I see that this is a JP1 remote using the JP1USB interface. I think this means you are still using a JP1 cable with the Delcom driver. The rmaster.err file shows that RMIR can read the signature. The next step is the writeRemote instruction, which is a call to native (non-java) code in jp1usb.dll that in turn calls the Delcom driver. The failure must be here, as if the writeRemote returned then there would be either a success or a failure message in rmaster.err.

I don't see how I can take this any further. I have no means of testing the JP1USB interface as my machine is 64-bit Windows 8.1. I still have one JP1 remote but would read/write it with a modern cable that uses jp12serial.dll rather than jp1usb.dll. So I'm afraid that unless you invest in a new cable, or a JP1-to-JP1.x adapter, you may have to stay with IR.exe for that remote.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18930
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the same problem Graham, do you need me to do any tests?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3213
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob, I don't think your problem is related to Liz's. Does it happen with all remotes or only some? With all setups for the remotes it affects, or only some? Can you post the .rmir file of a setup that you can't upload, and the rmaster.err file after a failed upload attempt? If you get a failure with an RCRP05B, a setup for that would be particularly helpful as I have one of those.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18930
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will have to do some experiments to answer those questions. IIRC, it works with the Nevo but all my other remotes are JP1 remotes using an old Tommy Tyler USB cable (I don't recall what chip it uses).

Basically, if I try to upload into the remote using RMIR the program just shuts down and doesn't save anything, so if I'm starting in RMIR, I have to save the file as an .ir file and then load it using IR.exe
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3213
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
IIRC, it works with the Nevo but all my other remotes are JP1 remotes using an old Tommy Tyler USB cable (I don't recall what chip it uses).

What versions of Windows and Java are you using? If you have 64-bit Java and are using an old cable with a Delcom chip then this combination is not supported by RMIR as there is no 64-bit version of jp1usb.dll. I don't know about 64-bit Windows with 32-bit Java and the Delcom chip. I think it should work but have no way of testing it. Perhaps Vicky knows, as she has a lot of old remotes. My suspicion now is that, despite what I said before, what you are seeing is a different manifestation of issues arising from the old Delcom chip and its driver with new Windows versions. If you provide me with an rmaster.err file I might be able to delve deeper into it. Don't you have any JP1.3 remotes? If you do, it would be helpful to know if you can upload to those.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a USB cable. I'm running 32 bit Java I'm running 2.03 Alpha 28.

Windows 7 Pro 64bit OS
Code:

RemoteMaster v2.03 Alpha 28
System Properties:
   java.version = 1.8.0_66
   java.vendor = Oracle Corporation
   os.name = Windows 7
   os.arch = x86
   java.home = C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_66
   java.class.path = RemoteMaster.jar

....

Generating deviceImporter for protocol null
libraryFolder=C:\remotejp\rmir\Windows-x86
LibraryLoader: Java version '1.8.0_66' from 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_66' running on 'Windows 7' (x86)
LibraryLoader: Attempting to load 'jp12serial' from 'C:\remotejp\rmir\Windows-x86\jp12serial.dll'...
LibraryLoader: Loaded 'jp12serial' successfully from 'C:\remotejp\rmir\Windows-x86\jp12serial.dll'
    JP12Serial version 0.20
    CommHID version 0.4
LibraryLoader: Java version '1.8.0_66' from 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_66' running on 'Windows 7' (x86)
LibraryLoader: Attempting to load 'jp1usb' from 'C:\remotejp\rmir\Windows-x86\jp1usb.dll'...
LibraryLoader: Loaded 'jp1usb' successfully from 'C:\remotejp\rmir\Windows-x86\jp1usb.dll'
    JP1USB version 0.031
    EEPROM size returns -1
    EEPROM address returns 0
    JPS version 0.1
LibraryLoader: Java version '1.8.0_66' from 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_66' running on 'Windows 7' (x86)
LibraryLoader: Attempting to load 'jp1parallel' from 'C:\remotejp\rmir\Windows-x86\jp1parallel.dll'...
LibraryLoader: Loaded 'jp1parallel' successfully from 'C:\remotejp\rmir\Windows-x86\jp1parallel.dll'
    JP1Parallel version 0.02
    EEPROM size returns -1
    EEPROM address returns 0
DecodeIR: Looking in 'C:\remotejp\rmir'.
LibraryLoader: Java version '1.8.0_66' from 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_66' running on 'Windows 7' (x86)
LibraryLoader: Attempting to load 'DecodeIR' from 'C:\remotejp\rmir\Windows-x86\DecodeIR.dll'...
LibraryLoader: Loaded 'DecodeIR' successfully from 'C:\remotejp\rmir\Windows-x86\DecodeIR.dll'
Starting normal download
Interface Name = NULL
Port Name = NULL
Testing interface: JP1.X Serial
Port Name = NULL
Testing interface: CommHID
Port Name = NULL
Testing interface: JP1 USB
Port Name = \\?\usb#vid_0fc5&pid_1222#5&114629c4&0&2#{cafa8e93-7c32-4c27-b088-d8c36aaf4ebf}
Opened on Port \\?\usb#vid_0fc5&pid_1222#5&114629c4&0&2#{cafa8e93-7c32-4c27-b088-d8c36aaf4ebf}
Interface opened successfully
Base address = $0
Read first 10 bytes: 4A B5 43 37 4C 30 58 37 4C 35
Searching for RDF

....

Testing interface: JP1 USB
Port Name = \\?\usb#vid_0fc5&pid_1222#5&114629c4&0&2#{cafa8e93-7c32-4c27-b088-d8c36aaf4ebf}
Opened on Port \\?\usb#vid_0fc5&pid_1222#5&114629c4&0&2#{cafa8e93-7c32-4c27-b088-d8c36aaf4ebf}
Interface opened successfully
Base address = $0
Read first 10 bytes: 4A B5 43 37 4C 30 58 37 4C 35
Data writing phase succeeded, bytes written = 2048.
Upload verification phase starting.
Upload verification succeeded.
Ending upload
DeviceUpgradePanel.createRowObject()
Translator.in() index=0 missing parameter value
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
Checking TV/1106 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
Checking TV/1106 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
Checking TV/1106 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
Checking TV/1106 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
Checking TV/1106 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
It's a match!
in getDeviceUpgrade
Checking TV/1800 (null)
Checking DVD/1800 (null)
Checking TV/1101 (null)
Checking TV/1103 (null)
Checking TV/1104 (null)
Checking TV/1106 (null)
It's a match!
RemoteMaster.windowClosing() entered



I can download and upload from an extended cinema 7 without generating an error.

Any more questions that I can answer now that I've scavaned up 4 AAA batteries?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2303

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathdon wrote:
Liz, can you upload any other setups into the remote? There appears to be nothing wrong with the .rmir file, so my suspicion at the moment is that all uploads will fail.

I see that this is a JP1 remote using the JP1USB interface. I think this means you are still using a JP1 cable with the Delcom driver...
I decided to do some figuring out what might be going on. I converted some of the stuff you saw (Lego) to run on extended 6131 and tested few combinations, dug through old files since I wanted to test IR and RMIR on unextended files, but it turns out I have none Sad only to recall that I used 6131 extender from day1.

Few details: I'm on XP-pro-SP3-32bit. I tried things on two 6131s using RMIR alpha 28 and Delcom cable (Delcom Proxy USB device, driver issued by hifi-remote.com 1/11/2010, version 1.0.1.1, not digitally signed, but not blocked by any system-watcher)

(1) Uploads to 6131 (my #2 remote) fail on the Lego file you saw, as well as on a unextended base image provided by RMIR when I select PVR0PVR0 2k remote and attempt to upload that empty file.
Uploads of extended upgrades also fail. Even when I downloaded a current, different configuration of course, and tried to upload it back. Immediate defeat of RMIR.

(2) Uploads to 6131 (my #3 remote) of the Lego file work fine, no java interference. And work fine for extended upgrades, both an existing real configuration, as well as a converted Lego job to run on extended 6131 (Widget/IRscope data matches what we expect).

(3) Downloaded current state of extended 8910. Uploaded back. No issues. Uploaded different configuration. No issues.

Uploading Atlas via JP1.2/3 cable is OK here.

Blame Delcom? I don't think so.
Fault 6131 #2 ? maybe, but IR has no issues.
There maybe something funky delicate inside that remote #2 since it was just unarchived from a box.
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3213
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Liz, if I understand you correctly then you have two identical remotes, one of which accepts all uploads from RMIR without any problem and the other on which all uploads fail. Both accept uploads from IR.exe.

This surely means that there must be some difference between the two remotes that affects RMIR but not IR.exe. All I can think of is some timing issue, with IR.exe accepting a greater tolerance than RMIR. It doesn't look like being with the Delcom driver as that is common to RMIR and IR.exe, so I think it has to be in jp1usb.dll. I don't know if we have anyone still active who is capable of investigating the code of this dll. I am not in a position to do so. It seems clear now that your problem doesn't result from any bug in RMIR itself, so I don't think I can take this any further.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central