JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Vizio smart tv iHeart button code?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:39 pm    Post subject: Vizio smart tv iHeart button code? Reply with quote

I read in this thread (messages starting at jan 28 9:00am pst) that obc 239 should work but I'm not finding that to be the case with my e70-c3. I've tried downloading a few relatively recent vizio tv device files and didn't have much luck figuring out what it should be.

Anyone know what device code to use for the iHeart button?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6952
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe this is what you read in the other thread.
Quote:
Your upgrade protocol (in set-up tab) is Nec1 Device 4. My iHeart learned signal from my OEM Vizio remote is Nec1-f16, Device 4. The learned signal info I have is: OBC 239, Hex command CB, Misc OBC2-211.


So are you using Nec1-f16 as your protocol in your upgrade?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, if you read the series of posts that follow you see that the learned signal was bad so the protocol was wrong.

FWIW I have other app buttons working fine and they, of course, use the regular protocol for the vizio remote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18311
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would expect that 239 is the right OBC. So, are you saying that you downloaded Dave's upgrade for the Vizio XRV1TV and added iHeart with 239 in the OBC column on the Functions tab, assigned the function to a button, then loaded this into your remote, and everything worked except for the iHeart button?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already have a vizio upgrade file from my previous TV that still works fine, though I used that upgrade file to get the code for netflix, amazon, and the vizio app buttons. But now that you mention that, is it possible that 239 would work if I switched from my old vizio upgrade file to the XRV1TV one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18311
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If what I described isn't what you did, can you please state what you did to when you tried obc 239 and maybe we can spot your mistake.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like I started with your very own "Vizio Master File (NEC1 dev 4)" upgrade file years ago for my previous TV and it continued to work great for my new tv but didn't have the smart tv functions set up. So I downloaded the XRV1TV file (and another one too), opened it up, found the smart tv functions, went back to the vizio device I've been using for years and entered the smart tv codes into the device upgrade editor, and mapped them to buttons on my remote. It worked for the other 3 buttons but it doesn't work with 239 for iHeart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18311
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I'll need to see a file then, in order to spot if you did something wrong. It sounds like you did all this from within RMIR (and RM for editing the device), so please post your RMIR file and let me know which button holds the iHeart radio code.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Here it is: http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13812

The device is "TV 0178" ("My Vizio TV").
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18311
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see anything wrong with the upgrade in your file, but I did notice that your remote is a learning remote, so why not learn the button and get the code that way?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wasn't aware that it had that capability. I'll have to look into that. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked. The correct code was 238 rather than 239. Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6952
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you going to post an upgrade in the file section? If not, what is the model number on your TV?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TheShanMan



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a good idea, though I need to verify all the functions before I do that. The TV is a Vizio E70-C3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carmat06



Joined: 01 Jan 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheShanMan wrote:
That's a good idea, though I need to verify all the functions before I do that. The TV is a Vizio E70-C3.


I would be interested in that upgrade if you post it, I have a Vizio E55-C1 that I bet uses the same remote codes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central