JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Recommend me a low-cost, compatible HDMI switch on Amazon

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CapnTater



Joined: 28 Oct 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 7:54 am    Post subject: Recommend me a low-cost, compatible HDMI switch on Amazon Reply with quote

Hey gang, first post, long time JP1 user and JP1 forum lurker here.

I have a fairly sophisticated home theater setup based on the URC 9910. I need to add a low cost 3-port HDMI switcher to support some recent additions. I didn't seem to find good options in the file download area. I'm looking for something on Amazon like the J-Tech Digital JTD4KSP0301. If there is an equivalent that can be integrated with the JP1 tools easier, I'd like to know about it. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18402
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you're looking for a remote controlled switch, right?

How about this for $7.66
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B46XUQU/
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CapnTater



Joined: 28 Oct 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah that would work as well. Do you know if there is a RM file for it? Or is it "learnable" by the URC 9910?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18402
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lol, I had never heard of it before finding it on amazon for you. It comes with a remote, so yeah, it should be learnable and then you can make an RM file for it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CapnTater



Joined: 28 Oct 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, thanks for the reply. I've encountered a few oddball devices that couldn't be learned by the 9910 so I thought I'd try to tease this out out ahead of time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pH7_jp1



Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 457
Location: Sterling Heights, MI

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008D6YZXG/ is slightly more, but supports 5 HDMI inputs. I have used it and have posted an RM file for it.

Fosmon HD1832 Intelligent 5x1 5-Port HDMI Switch
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=12438
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CapnTater



Joined: 28 Oct 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pH7_jp1 wrote:
This one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008D6YZXG/ is slightly more, but supports 5 HDMI inputs. I have used it and have posted an RM file for it.


Interesting, thanks. It looks like Fosmon has a three port version which would probably be compatible with that RM file.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004YDTIP2/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3750

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a nice one since it does auto switching. That way you rarely, if ever, need to send any commands to it at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18402
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The PORTTA PET0301S and Fosmon HD1830 appear to be re-branded versions of the same device.

My guess is that all three will respond to the same IR signals.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 686

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's thread from RC:

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/oem/thread.cgi?keywords=79
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central