JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Upgrade wanted: Yamaha RX-V473 Receiver-Amplifier

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
digital_silence



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:59 am    Post subject: Upgrade wanted: Yamaha RX-V473 Receiver-Amplifier Reply with quote

1. Device: Yamaha RX-V473
2. Type of device: Receiver-Amplifier
3. Year: 2011 (?)
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: URC-8910
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? Yes
6. Still have original remote? No
7. Checked the file section? Yes (read below)
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? YES (see notes below)
10. Learning remote question? Maybe
11. Have you tried the JP1 Lookup Tool? No

Hi all,

Normally, for these amps Yamaha uses standard NEC1/122 setup.

However, this one seems to be different. Although many buttons indeed use the above protocol, there's still a lot of functions that use different ones.
I have configured my Harmony 200 from their database and learned some buttons.
The dumps of the results of two learning sessions are HERE and HERE

There seems to be four different protocols used in that remote.

Cam someone please have a look at those dumps and help me with building the proper upgrade, thanks. I can figure out the OBCs, but I have no knowledge as to how to put different protocols in the same device upgrade...

Thank you,
:-DS

PS If that helps, the RX-V573 is exactly the same model as my 473, except it is 7.1 sound, as opposed to 5.1 in my 473.

Your help is much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi DS,
RM offers the Nec Yamaha 4 device combo to handle just this type of signal.

There is a column in the function sheet that lets you specify Ystyle, Nec, Y1, Y2, Y3 for the various decodes you are coming up with.

Here is an example file that might be a good start for you.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=download&file_id=12095


Let us know if you are still having trouble. Better to teach a man to fish . . .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
digital_silence



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Vicky, this is a pretty good start indeed. All seems clear.
I'll try to experiment with the setup you suggested.

So, if the protocol is decoded just as NEC1, I should select NEC in Ystyle column, right?
And if the protocol is decoded as NEC1-y1, I select Y1 in there?

Also, there is one code (for "Select" button) that says **Multiple** in the decoded protocol column. What do we do with this one?

Thanks a lot for your quick and efficient help (V-trademark :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

digital_silence wrote:


So, if the protocol is decoded just as NEC1, I should select NEC in Ystyle column, right?
And if the protocol is decoded as NEC1-y1, I select Y1 in there?


Yep, that is my understanding

Quote:

Also, there is one code (for "Select" button) that says **Multiple** in the decoded protocol column. What do we do with this one?


That one is unusual as it sends out 2 different OBCs.
Nec1 122 OBC 222
Nec1 122 OBC 158


I think you try one and see if it does the job, otherwise try the other.
Worst case it will take two buttons
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
digital_silence



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Final (?) update.

I have done some experimenting with Vicky's template, and worked out all button protocols/codes either by trial-n-fail or by using learns from Harmony. It all now works so boringly well that there's nothing more really to report or ask about.

I have uploaded the final upgrade to HERE. Admins, please check it and if OK, move to the "Upgrades" section, please.

Just one comment maybe... My upgrade also contains some extra functions that do not appear in the original remote but are supported by the receiver. For example, DSP PROGRAM (+)/(-) functions cycle through the whole set of DSP presets in all categories (MUSIC, MOVIE, SUR.DEC), whereas with the original remote, you can only cycle within one category using three separate buttons, one for each category (MUSIC, MOVIE, SUR.DEC)

Once again, thanks to this forum and to Vicky personally for quick and efficient help.

Best,
:-DS

PS. Vicky, Nec1 122 OBC 222 was the ENTER code.
Nec1 122 OBC 158 doesn't seem to do anything to the receiver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18454
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need our approval, if your upgrade works, move it to the right section. Good work.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
digital_silence



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done. Except, I used underscores in file name rather than spaces (old DOS habit), and it is now not quite in alphabetical order with the other YAMAHA upgrades there. Rob/Vicky, if you think it matters, could you please edit it, thanks. The file is HERE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18454
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

digital_silence wrote:
Done. Except, I used underscores in file name rather than spaces (old DOS habit), and it is now not quite in alphabetical order with the other YAMAHA upgrades there. Rob/Vicky, if you think it matters, could you please edit it, thanks. The file is HERE.

Ok, yeah, the underscores would be a problem, so I fixed them. They would not only cause sorting problems, but sometimes we download all the file names to build a cross-reference file and they mess that process up too.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central