JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Some hand holding required: OARUSB04G

View previous topic :: View next topic  
wcortesi

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 11:42 pm    Post subject: OARUSB04G: I want to love it, but.... Reply with quote

I'm a newbie here, but I've lurked around here since I bought a Cinema 7 probably 10 years ago. I loved it, but never felt the need to go with the JP1 since i could used advanced codes to get it to do most everything i wanted. Since then I've tried a few other OTA remotes and had a Harmony for a bit, but just didn't see the appeal other than the online setup.
Recently I was reading about the OARUSB04G, and since it came with a USB port and was programmable with the simpleset interface, it sounded great. Plus, it looks simple enough and has back-lighting. I might be able to see it, which is the problem I have with my current Sony remote.
I ordered one from Amazon and did a bunch of reading here. I'm not slow, but I've been a little confused I must admit. I downloaded the RM/RMIR v.2.03 here, got the remote and immediately went to the simpleset web page. What a disappointment! It is simple, but there is little chance of any customization there. I played with the remote and it seems to do the basic things just fine, so I followed the directions for using the RMIR software and tried that.
It said there was an error in downloading from my remote and that I should post my raw data here, blah, blah... The problem is that my battery door is defective, so I'm returning it for a new one. Therefore I don't see the sense in posting that info yet.