JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

8820 extender and MultiPlexDevice not working
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Carl



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Quebec city, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:13 am    Post subject: 8820 extender and MultiPlexDevice not working Reply with quote

I am using the extender for my URC8820B00 remote and I cannot get the MultiPlexDevice to work properly.

This is the extender I use:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=8918

I have tried both irtool and remote master and even though the data is uploaded to the remote, it will not work.

As you can see below Shift+1 (1126) and Shift+2 (1124) are my keys to select different setup codes.:





Am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 207
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try shift shift 1 or shift shift 2. Some remotes require this for shifted
numbers. Alternately use non numeric buttons such as shift channel+ and
shift channel-.

I don't understand why both setup codes are the same.
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is really hard to tell what is going on by looking at a picture. If you had loaded the file to the diagnosis area, with a link, instead of posting a picture we might have a better idea.

There is definitely something wrong here. The Multiplex should not be showing up as a keymove. It should be showing up as a special protocol.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Carl



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Quebec city, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have also tried the special protocol before posting and it was not working either.

Here it is:



Here is my remote master file that I am using.
I have also tried other key and still nothing...


http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13310
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3572

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As jeajea said, did you press shift twice to run it?

First example definitely won't work. Second one looks correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carl



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Quebec city, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did press the shift key twice and still not working. I did a test with the move and the swap key and the led was not even blinking...

I also own an atlas 1053 with an extender and device multiplex is working fine, but I am just starting with the 8820 extender, so I could be missing something.

I even tried with another 8820 and still no go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you start from a download? Or did you start this file from a file->new?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Carl



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Quebec city, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have started from an existing file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 207
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure the remote is a 8820 and not a 8820N?
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carl



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Quebec city, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

URC-8820B00 is written on the back of the battery cover
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have an 8820, but I will next week. Hopefully then I can get to the bottom of this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Carl



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Quebec city, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, my RMIR file is uploaded. Let me know if you need anything else from me. I also tried starting from scratch and cannot get it to work.
I'm starting to wonder if the extender is well activated once the upload to the remote is complete.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3572

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It won't activate by itself. You have to follow the activation procedure after loading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carl



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Quebec city, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read the read me file and there is nothing about activation procedure except that you have to use exinstall:

Quote:
INSTALLATION AND ACTIVATION

You can use the base IR file. . Open the included IR file < URC 6820/8820/10820Extender.ir> and simply commence adding your device upgrades and building your Keymoves, Macros and Special Protocol Functions. If you have an existing UNextended setup, then YOU may want to use Extinstall.exe to convert your existing IR file to an Extended one.


The newest ExtInstall is adapted to handle JP1.2 format, The above RDF as well as some "URC 6820/8820/10820" RDF files are required in the directory where you run the ExtInstall program.




From IR Select Merge Using ExtInstall from the File Menu and IR locate the URC-8820Ext7A.Hex and follow the screen prompts

Or if you prefer you can run ExtInstall from the command prompt:
Extinstall-2 URC-8820Ext7A.HEX input.ir output.ir –signature=$EC00
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3572

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vicky, do you have to do anything on the remote to activate/de-activate your extender?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central