JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

My URC-6440 extender / RMIR questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tranx



Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 662
Location: Hants, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeajea wrote:
...If the 6440 had a lot more activities that would eliminate the need for a second remote (maybe “text” followed by a single digit to select one of ten activities...
Well the 4 devices and 4 shifted devices could each serve as 'activities' by using DSMs and Keymoves assigned to the buttons of those eight individual devices.
For selection of one of those 8 'activities', with a global macro on TV device/'activity' button #0 (i.e. being available in any mode for selecting the TV 'activity'):
- the TV buttons #1-9 could carry DSMs for selecting devices/mixed devices to simulate 9 other 'activities',
(Instead of mixing two devices, two of the TV device's number button DSMs might include Multiplex for two devices not allocated to a device button).
#0 would serve to return to the TV device so it could be the 'hub' from which any device could be selected, as you suggested.
(Instead of TV buttons/shifted buttons 1 to 9, any other buttons except the device buttons could carry global macros for Device/'activity' selection).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 202
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Graham

Does a toadtog toggle write to flash memory?

Does pushing an activity button write to flash memory?

Apparently my TV doesn’t support CEC.

Using one remote with volume punch through to the AVR and a second
remote with volume punch through to the TV appears to be the best
solution at this point in time.

I have both Xsight Color remotes (ARRX15G and URC-8602). One problem
with them is they use three batteries and my battery chargers will recharge
either two or four batteries. Also currently there is no extender for either.
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2825
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeajea wrote:
Does a toadtog toggle write to flash memory?

Does pushing an activity button write to flash memory?

No to both, these states are stored in RAM. Apart from Multiplex, it is only changes to setup (either through long press of Setup or by uploading with RMIR) that write to flash memory.

I will look into the possibility of making the last key in a macro sequence persist while the macro button is held, but don't know how soon that will be. With that, then the ToadTog that I suggested earlier should achieve what you want without writing to flash.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewZ



Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm also trying to play with my 6440 with Extender and I'm a bit confused with the LKP setup.
On my old remote I had a keymove 'Shift-Stop' for Eject function.
On 6440 I want to use LKP instead, so the short click on Stop should work as before (as a regular Stop command) but the long press on Stop should send an Eject command.
Now in RMIR LKP setup I have "Short keys" and "Long keys" fields. While it's obvious what to put in Long, it's not 100% clear what should be in Short - should I leave it empty or put 'stop' there or what? For now I cannot keep regular Stop working Sad Please advise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 202
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it LKP for the 6440 works the same as the other extenders short would
be shift stop (stop2) and long would be eject.
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewZ



Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeajea wrote:
short would
be shift stop (stop2) and long would be eject.


For me this means that I will need to set the regular Stop command on Shift-Stop because I'm going to use the original Stop in LKP - correct?

Then for Eject function I will need to assign either Shifted or Fantom key and put it in 'Long keys' - am I close?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranx



Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 662
Location: Hants, UK

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

deleted

Last edited by tranx on Wed May 06, 2015 11:25 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 202
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No you assign the stop function to un-shifted stop button.
In the DVD stop LKP short you use shift stop which through shift cloaking
acts like stop.
I would assign eject to a phantom button and use it in the long side.
If you try using stop in the macro you create an infinite loop (you can hold
down the pause key to break out of the loop).

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=15831
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranx



Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 662
Location: Hants, UK

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

deleted

Last edited by tranx on Wed May 06, 2015 11:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranx



Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 662
Location: Hants, UK

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

right jeajea, thanks. I see that there may not be a separate command for 'eject' and that eject may require the Stop command to be repeating Smile

btw.
In the latest Extender I believe that the last command in a macro repeats until the operating button is released
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewZ



Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeajea wrote:
use shift stop which through shift cloaking acts like stop


Brilliant, that did the job! Thanks a lot!

Then I have only one open issue left - what will be the right way to implement the master power off on Power key long press?
Again, with the old remote I had a regular macro (on Shift-Sleep) which has a sequence of Discrete Off commands for all my devices.
Is it possible to have a system-wide macro assigned to a power button LKP?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 202
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, but you can make it work by using a power LKP for each device.
You must also uncheck power for each device in each activity
Here is my rmir file from yesterday showing how I implemented this.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13344

It only has the watchTV activity setup correctly.

I use device phantom14 for discrete on, phantom15 for discrete off and phatom13 for power toggle.

Global phantom7 is the master power off.
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewZ



Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeajea
thanks again, I've adjusted my configuration using your file as an example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewZ



Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While most of the functions are working, there is an issue with the Power button (including LKP) - it does not work after the Watch Movie macros is executed. At the same time it works if I press it (short or long) in a regular TV mode for example.
Here is my file:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13347
Only Watch Movie activity is configured.
Will appreciate all the comments and suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2825
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LKP on the Power button will not work in any Combo mode, as the Power key has special treatment in Combo modes. It sends the Power function (i.e. the base function assigned to the Power button, even if you have put a macro on that button to over-ride the base function) in turn for each device that is used in that Combo mode, unless you have specifically excluded that device from this operation. That is the purpose of the check boxes at the top of the Activity tab. Unticking a box for a device that is used in the activity will prevent its power signal being sent. However, checking a box for a device that is not used in the activity will have no effect.

This behaviour is a feature of the unextended remote, not of the extender, and cannot be changed.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central